Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Subscribe to GoPro
Tourist

Custom tags (for footage and HiLights)

[ New ]

I'm new to the GoPro system so I might be missing something here. I tried finding out but there seems to be no tutorial on how to organize your footage (yet)...

There seems to be no decent way to review and sort your footage except for adding rather anonymous 'HiLights'. For a paid cloud service where lots of files are stored, that seems to me as a really essential feature. I have my GoPro for a week now, trying out different video projects, starting a vlog, etc... My kids are also using the GoPro, of course. So now I have about 100 files generated in a couple of days, on various subjects and from various users, and no way to sort them efficiently. Except maybe downloading them to a different location and sorting them there, or organizing the filenames into a huge excel sheet.

I was expecting a system like 'HiLights' to be more flexible, meaning that you can not only add some type of HiLight (the normal, or the slo-mo type) but also attach a custom tag to it. Also, the HiLight as I see it now doesn't support a footage range, which you don't expect as usually, footage that you want to highlight actually has a start, an end, and subsequently a length/range. It would be useful if HiLights implemented these features so that you can use the filter/sort functions on the cloud storage to find highlights assigned to a custom tag. The added value to the GoPro Plus and app/web interfaces would be amazing! (e.g. not just creating an edit based on 1 file, but using a custom tag to find all highlighted footage on a single topic..)