Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Mounts + Accessories
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-49610%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHero5%20Smart%20Remote%20range%20problems%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-49610%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EMy%20smart%20remote%20loses%20connectivity%20with%20my%20Hero%20Black%205%20at%20about%2060'%20with%20a%20direct%20line-of-sight.%20The%20wifi%20indicator%20on%20the%20remote%20indicates%20a%20full%20wifi%20signal%20but%20suddenly%20the%20remote%20will%20start%20flashing%20the%20wifi%20icon%20as%20it%20searches%20for%20signal.%20I%20will%20usually%20have%20to%20get%20back%20within%2025'%20of%20the%20unit%20for%20it%20to%20reconnect.%20Do%20I%20have%20a%20bad%20remote%2C%20camera%2C%20or%20is%20this%20just%20the%20range%20of%20this%20thing%3F%20Basically%20what%20do%20I%20need%20to%20return%20to%20the%20store%20and%20should%20I%20bother%20exchanging%20or%20just%20getting%20my%20money%20back%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-49693%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero5%20Smart%20Remote%20range%20problems%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-49693%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F28693%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40hardymesa25870%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EYou%20should%20get%20some%20more%20range%20than%20that.%20I%20would%20recommend%20making%20sure%20that%20both%20the%20Camera%20and%20Smart%20Remote%20are%20fully%20updated%20and%20also%20reset%20the%20connections.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EPress%20and%20hold%20the%20Power%2FMode%20button%20on%20the%20remote%20for%20about%208%20to%2010%20seconds.%20The%20remote%20will%20power%20off%20and%20can%20then%20be%20powered%20back%20on.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EI%20would%20also%20reset%20the%20connections%20on%20the%20camera%20in%20order%20to%20make%20sure%20you%20reconnect%20both%20when%20they%20are%20reset.%20You%20may%20also%20want%20to%20manually%20update%20that%20camera%20to%20make%20sure%20there%20are%20no%20issues%20with%20the%20current%20firmware.%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fupdate%2Fhero5%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fupdate%2Fhero5%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHope%20that%20helps!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EBest%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ERyan%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-49694%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero5%20Smart%20Remote%20range%20problems%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-49694%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20am%20at%20the%20latest%20firmware%20for%20the%20camera%20and%20I%20don't%20think%20the%20smart%20remote%20has%20a%20firmware%20update%20yet.%20I%20tried%20resetting%20the%20connection%20on%20both%20devices%20with%20no%20luck.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI've%20tried%20with%20both%20my%20phone%20and%20the%20remote%20and%20I've%20noticed%20that%20while%20the%20phone%20has%20a%20harder%20time%20keeping%20a%20connection%2C%20the%20range%20is%20much%20greater.%20With%20the%20remote%20it%20will%20show%20a%20full%20wifi%20signal%20and%20a%20step%20later%20it's%20searching.%20I'll%20return%20the%20remote%20to%20the%20store%20and%20try%20a%20different%20one.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EOn%20another%20note%2C%20I've%20had%20a%20lot%20of%20problems%20with%20GoPro%20accessories%20purchased%20at%20retail%20locations.%20I%20went%20through%203%20Quik%20Keys%20that%20flat%20out%20didn't%20work%20that%20were%20purchased%20at%20various%20locations%20before%20contacting%20support%20and%20having%20them%20send%20me%20one%20that%20worked.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-49705%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero5%20Smart%20Remote%20range%20problems%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-49705%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F28693%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40hardymesa25870%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ESorry%20to%20hear%20about%20all%20the%20trouble.%20You%20can%20definitely%20get%20it%20exchanged%20or%20work%20with%20Support%20directly.%20You%20can%20give%20them%20a%20call%20or%20chat%20for%20further%20troubleshooting%3A%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgoo.gl%2FxRcX7m%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgoo.gl%2FxRcX7m%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EBest%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ERyan%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-49707%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero5%20Smart%20Remote%20range%20problems%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-49707%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThat's%20kind%20of%20funny%20you%20mention%20calling%20or%20chatting.%20I%20was%20in%20the%20phone%20queue%20yesterday%20for%2040%20minutes%20before%20giving%20up%20and%20I've%20gotten%20the%20%22Sorry%2C%20all%20agents%20are%20helping%20other%20customers%20right%20now.%20Please%20try%20again%20later.%22%20every%20time%20I've%20tried%20to%20chat.%20I've%20literally%20tried%20every%205%20minutes%2C%20give%20or%20take%2C%20for%20the%20past%203%20hours.%20Interestingly%20enough%20I%20also%20got%20pages%20rendered%20in%20German%20and%20Spanish%20while%20requesting%26nbsp%3Bto%20chat%20with%20someone.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-49710%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero5%20Smart%20Remote%20range%20problems%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-49710%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHere's%20yet%20another%20language.%20I%20think%20it's%20Italian.%20At%20least%20I'm%20failing%20multi-culturally.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CIMG%20src%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fvcsem46788.i.lithium.com%2Ft5%2Fimage%2Fserverpage%2Fimage-id%2F2396i1F5D0A4B7E0850D3%2Fimage-size%2Foriginal%3Fv%3D1.0%26amp%3Bpx%3D-1%22%20border%3D%220%22%20alt%3D%22Capture.PNG%22%20title%3D%22Capture.PNG%22%20%2F%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-49734%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero5%20Smart%20Remote%20range%20problems%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-49734%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3Ca%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F28693%22%3E%40hardymesa25870%3C%2Fa%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EI%20have%20passed%20that%20error%20along.%20I%20would%20recommend%20giving%20us%20a%20call%20when%20the%20service%20lines%20open%20if%20you%20are%20having%20a%20hard%20time%20getting%20through%20to%20an%20agent.%26nbsp%3B(855)%20635%26nbsp%3B3578%20(Toll%20Free).%20The%20support%20channels%20are%26nbsp%3BAvailable%20Monday%20%E2%80%93%20Friday%2C%206%3A00am%20%E2%80%93%206%3A00pm%2C%20Pacific%20Time%2C%20and%20Available%20Saturday%20%26amp%3B%20Sunday%2C%207%3A00am%20%E2%80%93%204%3A00pm%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EBest%2C%20Ryan%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Tourist
Posts: 4
Accepted Solution

Hero5 Smart Remote range problems

My smart remote loses connectivity with my Hero Black 5 at about 60' with a direct line-of-sight. The wifi indicator on the remote indicates a full wifi signal but suddenly the remote will start flashing the wifi icon as it searches for signal. I will usually have to get back within 25' of the unit for it to reconnect. Do I have a bad remote, camera, or is this just the range of this thing? Basically what do I need to return to the store and should I bother exchanging or just getting my money back?


Accepted Solutions
GoPro
Posts: 3,924

Re: Hero5 Smart Remote range problems

Hi @hardymesa25870,

 

You should get some more range than that. I would recommend making sure that both the Camera and Smart Remote are fully updated and also reset the connections. 

 

Press and hold the Power/Mode button on the remote for about 8 to 10 seconds. The remote will power off and can then be powered back on.

 

I would also reset the connections on the camera in order to make sure you reconnect both when they are reset. You may also want to manually update that camera to make sure there are no issues with the current firmware. https://gopro.com/update/hero5

 

Hope that helps!

 

Best,

Ryan

View solution in original post


All Replies
GoPro
Posts: 3,924

Re: Hero5 Smart Remote range problems

Hi @hardymesa25870,

 

You should get some more range than that. I would recommend making sure that both the Camera and Smart Remote are fully updated and also reset the connections. 

 

Press and hold the Power/Mode button on the remote for about 8 to 10 seconds. The remote will power off and can then be powered back on.

 

I would also reset the connections on the camera in order to make sure you reconnect both when they are reset. You may also want to manually update that camera to make sure there are no issues with the current firmware. https://gopro.com/update/hero5

 

Hope that helps!

 

Best,

Ryan

Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: Hero5 Smart Remote range problems

I am at the latest firmware for the camera and I don't think the smart remote has a firmware update yet. I tried resetting the connection on both devices with no luck.

 

I've tried with both my phone and the remote and I've noticed that while the phone has a harder time keeping a connection, the range is much greater. With the remote it will show a full wifi signal and a step later it's searching. I'll return the remote to the store and try a different one.

 

On another note, I've had a lot of problems with GoPro accessories purchased at retail locations. I went through 3 Quik Keys that flat out didn't work that were purchased at various locations before contacting support and having them send me one that worked.

GoPro
Posts: 3,924

Re: Hero5 Smart Remote range problems

Hi @hardymesa25870,

 

Sorry to hear about all the trouble. You can definitely get it exchanged or work with Support directly. You can give them a call or chat for further troubleshooting: https://goo.gl/xRcX7m

 

Best,

Ryan

Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: Hero5 Smart Remote range problems

That's kind of funny you mention calling or chatting. I was in the phone queue yesterday for 40 minutes before giving up and I've gotten the "Sorry, all agents are helping other customers right now. Please try again later." every time I've tried to chat. I've literally tried every 5 minutes, give or take, for the past 3 hours. Interestingly enough I also got pages rendered in German and Spanish while requesting to chat with someone.

Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: Hero5 Smart Remote range problems

Here's yet another language. I think it's Italian. At least I'm failing multi-culturally.

 

Capture.PNG

GoPro
Posts: 3,924

Re: Hero5 Smart Remote range problems

Hi @hardymesa25870,

 

I have passed that error along. I would recommend giving us a call when the service lines open if you are having a hard time getting through to an agent. (855) 635 3578 (Toll Free). The support channels are Available Monday – Friday, 6:00am – 6:00pm, Pacific Time, and Available Saturday & Sunday, 7:00am – 4:00pm

 

Best,
Ryan