Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.
Sightseer
HERO6 + Karma grip: Tips

Hello everybody !

I own a HERO6 with karma grip and I would like with tips to have a video of good quality the most stable possible. I have already done tests while walking in the street, and the video is not perfectly stable, we see the movements. I often film in 2.7K linear and I do not use protune, because I'm not a video pro and I do not want to edit afterwards. I just want beautiful and stable videos. Do you have any advice on the settings of my HERO6 or the use of Grip?

thank you,

Explorer
Re: HERO6 + Karma grip: Tips
Stabilizing while walking is difficult because there is always a slight up and down movement. You can attach the Grip to a pole on wheels (like a selfie stick mounted to a skate board) or just attempt to counter your body movement with steps with how you hold the Grip. Be sure you aren't holding the Grip with the handle vertical, it should be closer to a horizontal position. I see a lot of people holding their stabilizers incorrectly this way.

2.7K Linear is fine but you should turn on Protune for the best quality. You don't need to adjust any settings, although lowering the max ISO and putting sharpness on medium generally looks better. Protune video doesn't need editing unless you change the color profile to Flat. With GoPro color on, it's basically the same as with Protune off but you get higher quality with increased bitrate.
Sightseer

Okay, thanks for your answer. So, you advise me what settings like in protune, I have never used this mode. Knowing that I film in 2.7K50 LNR.

Explorer