Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
GoPro Apps for Mobile
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-180818%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EI%20have%20two%20cameras%20with%20different%20wifi%20ids%20can%20I%20switch%20between%20the%20two%20with%20the%20iphone%20app%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-180818%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThis%20seems%20simple%2C%20but%20so%20far%20I%20cannot%20simply%20change%20from%20one%20camera%20to%20the%20other.%20Both%20camera%20wifi%20connections%20are%20running%20and%20I%20change%20the%20wifi%20channel%20in%20the%20phone%20menu%2C%20but%20i%20cannot%20find%20a%20menu%20in%20the%20app%20to%20switch%20cameras.%20If%20camera%202%20is%20up%20and%20I%20have%20camera%201%20on%20my%20phones%20wifi%20select%2C%20the%20app%20will%20not%20preview%20camera%201%20untill%20I%20delete%20camera%20two%20or%20visa%20versa.%20Once%20the%20camera%20is%20deleted%20I%20have%20to%20pair%20it%20again%20with%20the%20app.%20A%20pain%20in%20the%20butt%20to%20say%20the%20least.%20I%20am%20using%20the%20camera%20in%20remote%20locations%20so%20it%20is%20really%20a%20pain%20because%20you%20have%20to%20remove%20the%20camera%20from%20the%20location%20and%20push%20the%20**bleep**%20buttons%20to%20pair%20it%20up%20again.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-180818%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EGoPro%20App%20for%20iOS%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-181542%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20I%20have%20two%20cameras%20with%20different%20wifi%20ids%20can%20I%20switch%20between%20the%20two%20with%20the%20iphone%20app%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-181542%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F62662%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40stans23%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EI%20have%20tested%20this%20with%20an%20iPhone%2C%20a%20HERO6%20Black%20and%20a%20HERO5%20Black.%20The%20app%20allowed%20me%20to%20switch%20between%20the%20two%20cameras%20without%20issues.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EWhat%20are%20the%20cameras%20you%20are%20working%20with%3F%20Please%20make%20sure%20that%20the%20cameras%20and%20the%20app%20are%20up%20to%20date%20.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ERegards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EEj%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-181808%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20I%20have%20two%20cameras%20with%20different%20wifi%20ids%20can%20I%20switch%20between%20the%20two%20with%20the%20iphone%20app%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-181808%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%203%20gopros%20and%20am%20shopping%20for%20a%20fourth.%20My%20son%20give%20me%20a%20hero%203%20which%20I%20have%20tried%20to%20change%20the%20Wifi%20ten%20time%20using%20Gopro's%20site%26nbsp%3B%20plan%20and%20have%20never%20had%20success.%20It%20is%20still%20Mikes%20gopro%20and%20most%20likly%20will%20always%20be.%26nbsp%3B%20My%20second%20is%20hero%203%2B%20that%20I%20have%20had%20for%20years.%20And%20a%20hero%204%20that%20I%20resently%20picked%20up%20on%20Ebay.%20I%20like%20the%20hero%204%20and%20have%20been%20bidding%20for%20another%20one%20on%20Ebay%20but%20always%20miss%20in%20the%20last%20second.%20My%20old%20fingers%20don't%20seem%20fast%20enough%20on%20the%20keys%20to%20beat%20out%20the%20young%20bucks.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20all%20the%20cameras%20and%20app%20updated%20and%20know%20that%20the%203%2B%20and%20the%204%20are%20paired%20in%20the%20app%20because%20when%20I%20delete%20camera%202%2C%20camera%201%20comes%20up%20in%20the%20preview.%20I%20have%20been%20fussing%20with%20this%20camera%20and%20computer%20stuff%20for%20thirty%20years%20so%20I%20am%20not%20a%20newbe.%20I%20know%20Apple%20makes%20it%20almost%20impossible%20to%20use%20your%20older%20machines%20with%20their%20new%20apps.%20I%20am%20sure%20this%20is%20a%20marketing%20ploy.%20But%20I%20am%20not%20quite%20sure%20what%20is%20happening%20here%20with%20gopro.%20I%20haven't%20been%20a%20serious%20Gopro%20user.%20I%20have%20a%20lot%20of%20other%20cameras%20and%20usually%20use%20the%20gopro%20as%20a%20third%20camera%20in%20a%20shoot%20as%20a%20backup.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EMaybe%20the%205%20and%20six%20work%20better%20with%20the%20app%3F%20I%20don't%20think%20there%20was%20even%20app%20when%20the%203%20was%20released.%20I%20looked%20up%20the%206%20and%20there%20wasn't%20enough%20new%20in%20the%20camera%20for%20me%20to%20warrent%20buying%20one.%20When%20I%20see%20a%20480%20frames%20per%20second%2C%20I%20will%20be%20first%20in%20line.%20Right%20now%20I%20am%20looking%20for%20a%20back%20door%20to%20changing%20cameras%20without%20to%20much%20hassel.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThanks%20a%20lot%20for%20your%20reply.%20Stan%20%2F%20Desert%20Wind%20Productions%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-181997%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20I%20have%20two%20cameras%20with%20different%20wifi%20ids%20can%20I%20switch%20between%20the%20two%20with%20the%20iphone%20app%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-181997%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ETo%20switch%20between%20cameras%20you%20shouldn't%20need%20to%20go%20into%20the%20Wi-Fi%20settings%20on%20your%20phone.%20If%20you%20go%20into%20the%20camera%20list%20on%20the%20app%2C%20just%20press%20on%20the%20camera%20that%20you%20want%20to%20connect.%20It%20sometimes%20takes%20a%20minute%20for%20the%20app%20to%20disconnect%20from%20the%20one%20camera%20and%20then%20connect%20to%20the%20second%2C%20but%20it%20should%20work%20this%20way%20for%20you.One%20other%20note%2C%20if%20your%20experience%20with%20GoPro%20cameras%20is%20limited%20to%20the%20Hero3%20and%20Hero4%20cameras%2C%20you%20really%20should%20try%20out%20the%20Hero6.%20It's%20not%20just%20for%20the%20increased%20frame%20rates.%20Everything%20about%20the%20Hero6%20is%20MUCH%20better%20than%20previous%20models%2C%20including%20the%20connection%20speed%20with%20the%20app.%20With%20a%2030-day%20money%20back%20guarantee%20you%20don't%20have%20much%20risk.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-182092%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20I%20have%20two%20cameras%20with%20different%20wifi%20ids%20can%20I%20switch%20between%20the%20two%20with%20the%20iphone%20app%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-182092%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20spent%20another%20hour%20this%20morning%20looking%20for%20the%20camera%20list%20that%20folks%20tell%20me%20is%20in%20the%20app%2C%20but%20could%20not%20come%20up%20with%20it%20after%20pushing%20every%20button%20I%20could%20see.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20deleted%20the%20app%20I%20had%20on%20my%20iphone%206%20and%20reinstalled%20to%20make%20sure%20that%20I%20has%20the%20newest%20up%20date.%20But%20still%20no%20camera%20list.%20I%20deleted%20all%20the%20cameras%20and%20paired%20them%20in%20again%20and%20still%20no%20camera%20list.%20My%20fingers%20are%20bloody%20from%20punching%20gopro%20buttons%20and%20still%20no%20camera%20list.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EWhat%20I%20finally%20decided%20to%20do%20was%20leave%20the%20gopro%201%20(3%2B)%20on%20the%20app%20and%20delete%2Fpair%20gopro%202%20back%20into%20the%20app%20when%20I%20need%20that%20camera.%20It%20is%20far%20easier%20to%20pair%20the%20hero4%20in%20than%20the%20hero3%2B.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAs%20far%20as%20buying%20a%20hero6%2C%20for%20myself%20personally%20the%20hero4s%20are%20doing%20everything%20I%20need%20at%20the%20moment.%20I%20just%20bought%20another%20hero4%20on%20Ebay%20for%20less%20than%20a%20hundred%20dollars.%20I%20have%20a%20suitcase%20filled%20with%20hero%203%26amp%3B4%20cases%20and%20accessaries.%20Buying%20a%20camera%20or%20computer%20is%20just%20the%20first%20step%2C%20and%20most%20of%20the%20time%20it%20ends%20up%20only%20being%20half%20of%20the%20expense%20by%20the%20time%20you%20add%20cards%2C%20batteries%2C%20software%2C%20and%20what%20ever.%20From%20what%20I%20have%20seen%2C%20once%20you%20purchase%20a%20hero%205%20or%206%20you%20have%20to%20start%20all%20over%20again%20filling%20another%20suitcase%20because%20the%20hero3%26amp%3B4%20stuff%20is%20different.%20My%20main%20Sony%20RX%20in%20the%20studio%20cost%204%20grand%20and%20I%20easily%20have%20more%20than%20two%20thousand%20more%20in%20lenses%2C%20audio%20and%20other%20items%20I%20use%20with%20that%20single%20camera.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you%20for%20your%20reply%3A%20Stan%20%2F%20Desert%20Wind%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Tourist
Posts: 3
Accepted Solution

I have two cameras with different wifi ids can I switch between the two with the iphone app

This seems simple, but so far I cannot simply change from one camera to the other. Both camera wifi connections are running and I change the wifi channel in the phone menu, but i cannot find a menu in the app to switch cameras. If camera 2 is up and I have camera 1 on my phones wifi select, the app will not preview camera 1 untill I delete camera two or visa versa. Once the camera is deleted I have to pair it again with the app. A pain in the butt to say the least. I am using the camera in remote locations so it is really a pain because you have to remove the camera from the location and push the **bleep** buttons to pair it up again.


Accepted Solutions
Explorer
Posts: 11,704

Re: I have two cameras with different wifi ids can I switch between the two with the iphone app

To switch between cameras you shouldn't need to go into the Wi-Fi settings on your phone. If you go into the camera list on the app, just press on the camera that you want to connect. It sometimes takes a minute for the app to disconnect from the one camera and then connect to the second, but it should work this way for you.

One other note, if your experience with GoPro cameras is limited to the Hero3 and Hero4 cameras, you really should try out the Hero6. It's not just for the increased frame rates. Everything about the Hero6 is MUCH better than previous models, including the connection speed with the app. With a 30-day money back guarantee you don't have much risk.

View solution in original post


All Replies
GoPro
Posts: 9,547

Re: I have two cameras with different wifi ids can I switch between the two with the iphone app

 

Hi @stans23

 

I have tested this with an iPhone, a HERO6 Black and a HERO5 Black. The app allowed me to switch between the two cameras without issues.

 

What are the cameras you are working with? Please make sure that the cameras and the app are up to date .

 

 

Regards,

Ej

 

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: I have two cameras with different wifi ids can I switch between the two with the iphone app

I have 3 gopros and am shopping for a fourth. My son give me a hero 3 which I have tried to change the Wifi ten time using Gopro's site  plan and have never had success. It is still Mikes gopro and most likly will always be.  My second is hero 3+ that I have had for years. And a hero 4 that I resently picked up on Ebay. I like the hero 4 and have been bidding for another one on Ebay but always miss in the last second. My old fingers don't seem fast enough on the keys to beat out the young bucks.

 

I have all the cameras and app updated and know that the 3+ and the 4 are paired in the app because when I delete camera 2, camera 1 comes up in the preview. I have been fussing with this camera and computer stuff for thirty years so I am not a newbe. I know Apple makes it almost impossible to use your older machines with their new apps. I am sure this is a marketing ploy. But I am not quite sure what is happening here with gopro. I haven't been a serious Gopro user. I have a lot of other cameras and usually use the gopro as a third camera in a shoot as a backup.

 

Maybe the 5 and six work better with the app? I don't think there was even app when the 3 was released. I looked up the 6 and there wasn't enough new in the camera for me to warrent buying one. When I see a 480 frames per second, I will be first in line. Right now I am looking for a back door to changing cameras without to much hassel.

 

Thanks a lot for your reply. Stan / Desert Wind Productions

 

 

Explorer
Posts: 11,704

Re: I have two cameras with different wifi ids can I switch between the two with the iphone app

To switch between cameras you shouldn't need to go into the Wi-Fi settings on your phone. If you go into the camera list on the app, just press on the camera that you want to connect. It sometimes takes a minute for the app to disconnect from the one camera and then connect to the second, but it should work this way for you.

One other note, if your experience with GoPro cameras is limited to the Hero3 and Hero4 cameras, you really should try out the Hero6. It's not just for the increased frame rates. Everything about the Hero6 is MUCH better than previous models, including the connection speed with the app. With a 30-day money back guarantee you don't have much risk.
Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: I have two cameras with different wifi ids can I switch between the two with the iphone app

I spent another hour this morning looking for the camera list that folks tell me is in the app, but could not come up with it after pushing every button I could see.  I deleted the app I had on my iphone 6 and reinstalled to make sure that I has the newest up date. But still no camera list. I deleted all the cameras and paired them in again and still no camera list. My fingers are bloody from punching gopro buttons and still no camera list.

 

What I finally decided to do was leave the gopro 1 (3+) on the app and delete/pair gopro 2 back into the app when I need that camera. It is far easier to pair the hero4 in than the hero3+.

 

As far as buying a hero6, for myself personally the hero4s are doing everything I need at the moment. I just bought another hero4 on Ebay for less than a hundred dollars. I have a suitcase filled with hero 3&4 cases and accessaries. Buying a camera or computer is just the first step, and most of the time it ends up only being half of the expense by the time you add cards, batteries, software, and what ever. From what I have seen, once you purchase a hero 5 or 6 you have to start all over again filling another suitcase because the hero3&4 stuff is different. My main Sony RX in the studio cost 4 grand and I easily have more than two thousand more in lenses, audio and other items I use with that single camera.

 

Thank you for your reply: Stan / Desert Wind