Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
GoPro Apps for Mobile
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-399943%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ECant%20control%20camera%20with%20phone%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-399943%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EI've%20been%20using%20a%20hero%205%20session%20for%202%20years%20fine%20then%20I%20got%20an%20upgrade%20on%20my%20phone%20and%20I%20cant%20do%20anything%20with%20my%20gopro%20I%20cant%20control%20my%20camera%20or%20view%20my%20videos%20on%20the%20app%20it%20says%20camera%20found%20but%20if%20I%20try%20to%20do%20anything%20it%20just%20shows%20me%20the%20loading%20circles%20and%20then%20says%20there%20was%20an%20error%20try%20again%20I've%20tried%20everything%20a%20reset%20on%20the%20camera%20.uninstalling%20the%20app.%20re%20pairing%20all%20this%20seems%20to%20work%20as%20it%20says%20again%20camera%20found%20but%20I%20still%20cant%20do%20anything%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-400334%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Cant%20control%20camera%20with%20phone%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-400334%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F119524%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40fastrange20676%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EWhat%20phone%20are%20you%20using%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EPlease%20make%20sure%20your%20camera%2C%20the%20phone%20and%20the%20app%20are%20all%20up%20to%20date.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EYou%20may%20also%20try%20the%20steps%20below%3A%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ERemove%20your%20camera%20entry%20from%20the%20GoPro%20App's%20history.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Android%3A%20Open%20GoPro%20App.%20Press%20and%20hold%20the%20image%20of%20the%20camera%20and%20delete%20the%20entry%20from%20your%20camera%20history.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20iOS%3A%20Open%20GoPro%20App.%20Tap%20the%20pencil%20icon%20in%20the%20top-left%20corner%20of%20the%20Camera%20menu%20page.%20Tap%20the%20red%20X%20icon%20to%20delete%20the%20camera%20entry%20from%20your%20app%E2%80%99s%20history.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Delete%20the%20GoPro%20camera%20under%20the%20Bluetooth%20and%20Wi-Fi%20entries%20in%20your%20mobile%20device%E2%80%99s%20settings%20before%20attempting%20to%20re-pair%20to%20your%20GoPro%20using%20the%20instructions.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks!%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Ej%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-403618%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Cant%20control%20camera%20with%20phone%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-403618%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHi%20EJ%20thanksfor%20thefast%20reply%20just%20to%20answer%20your%20questions%20its%202019%20Samsung%20so%20android%20as%20far%20as%20I'm%20aware%20the%20app%20is%20the%20newest%20update%20as%20it%20does%20this%20automatically%20I'm%20not%20sure%20if%20the%20camera%20needs%20an%20update%20or%20even%20how%20I%20go%20about%20this%20as%20I%20don't%20have%20access%20to%20a%20PC%20this%20is%20why%20I%20use%20my%20phone%20I%20tried%20doing%20everything%20you%20said%20but%20unfortunately%20I%20get%20the%20same%20response%20my%20screen%20tells%20me%20its%20found%20the%20camera%20but%20if%20I%20click%20on%20control%20camera%20with%20phone%20it%20just%20shows%20me%20the%20loading%20circles%20and%20then%20tells%20me%20to%20try%20again%20or%20get%20support%20I'm%20going%20to%20try%20and%20use%20my%20old%20phone%20to%20see%20if%20that%20works%20but%20if%20you%20have%20any%20more%20info%20it%20would%20be%20much%20appreciated%20thanks%20again%20for%20the%20reply%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Tourist
Posts: 3

Cant control camera with phone

I've been using a hero 5 session for 2 years fine then I got an upgrade on my phone and I cant do anything with my gopro I cant control my camera or view my videos on the app it says camera found but if I try to do anything it just shows me the loading circles and then says there was an error try again I've tried everything a reset on the camera .uninstalling the app. re pairing all this seems to work as it says again camera found but I still cant do anything
GoPro
Posts: 9,664

Re: Cant control camera with phone

Hi @fastrange20676

 

What phone are you using?

Please make sure your camera, the phone and the app are all up to date.

 

You may also try the steps below:

Remove your camera entry from the GoPro App's history. 
Android: Open GoPro App. Press and hold the image of the camera and delete the entry from your camera history. 
iOS: Open GoPro App. Tap the pencil icon in the top-left corner of the Camera menu page. Tap the red X icon to delete the camera entry from your app’s history. 
Delete the GoPro camera under the Bluetooth and Wi-Fi entries in your mobile device’s settings before attempting to re-pair to your GoPro using the instructions.
 

Thanks!
Ej

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: Cant control camera with phone

Hi EJ thanksfor thefast reply just to answer your questions its 2019 Samsung so android as far as I'm aware the app is the newest update as it does this automatically I'm not sure if the camera needs an update or even how I go about this as I don't have access to a PC this is why I use my phone I tried doing everything you said but unfortunately I get the same response my screen tells me its found the camera but if I click on control camera with phone it just shows me the loading circles and then tells me to try again or get support I'm going to try and use my old phone to see if that works but if you have any more info it would be much appreciated thanks again for the reply
GoPro
Posts: 9,664

Re: Cant control camera with phone

Hello @fastrange20676

 

 

Were you able to test it with another phone?

 

Thanks!

Ej

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: Cant control camera with phone

I will give it a try and let you know I can plug my camera into my brothers PC will it automatically update or will I need to down load something
Sightseer
Posts: 1

Re: Cant control camera with phone

@fastrange20676

I was absolutely losing my mind over this issue for 4 hours this evening with my new Hero 7. I have a Samsung Galaxy S10e. The app would find my gopro, tell me that it has a successful connection to start but when I tried to control my gopro, configure and update or try ANYTHING else, it encountered a problem when trying to connect and I couldn't do anything! I tried all the trouble shooting options I could find.

I made sure that everything had been updated by plugging it into the laptop, reinstalled the software, manually updated it but still nothing, changed my WiFi band, manually connected the GoPro but still nothing...

At this point I was ready to throw it out of the window but then I noticed I had a VPN turned on on my phone. So I thought I would turn it off as it effects the WiFi IP address etc.

VOILA! It worked.

Check through your phone setting to see if you have anything getting in the way like that. VPN, anti virus, abything that affects your WiFi IP address or other settings etc.

Hope this helps!
GoPro
Posts: 2,903

Re: Cant control camera with phone

@fastsurf78486, we appreciate the information. Let us know if anything else comes up. Stay stoked, and have fun capturing moments using your GoPro!