Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
GoPro Apps for Desktop
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-351908%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3Emac%20authenticate%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-351908%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20i%20cannot%20get%20past%20the%20authenticate%20screen%20on%20my%20mac%20with%20quik%20for%20desktop.%20PLEASE%20help!%20tried%20restart%20and%20turning%20off%20wifi%20and%20turning%20back%20on.%20Why%20do%20i%20need%20to%20log%20in%20at%20ALL!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-351908%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EQuik%20for%20Desktop%20-%20Mac%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-351994%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20mac%20authenticate%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-351994%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F105406%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40bravestorm20528%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EPlease%20go%20over%20the%20steps%20listed%20on%20this%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2FGoPro-Apps-for-Desktop%2FQuik-for-Mac-Can-t-get-past-Authenticating%2Ftd-p%2F217289%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3Ethread%3C%2FA%3E.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ELet%20us%20know%20how%20it%20goes.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EEj%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-352001%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20mac%20authenticate%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-352001%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThe%20restart%20with%20default%20settings%20did%20not%20work.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Sightseer
Posts: 3

mac authenticate

Hi i cannot get past the authenticate screen on my mac with quik for desktop. PLEASE help! tried restart and turning off wifi and turning back on. Why do i need to log in at ALL!

GoPro
Posts: 10,603

Re: mac authenticate

Hi @bravestorm20528

 

Please go over the steps listed on this thread.

Let us know how it goes.

 

Thanks!

Ej

Sightseer
Posts: 3

Re: mac authenticate

The restart with default settings did not work. 

GoPro
Posts: 10,603

Re: mac authenticate

Hi @bravestorm20528

 

 

Kindly try these steps:

 

Click GO in finder and GO TO FOLDER
Then please type  /private/etc/hosts then press Go
Copy the host file on your Desktop. 
Click open the "host" file and put in 127.0.0.1 localhost at the location. Save the File, then put it BACK the same folder it will ask you to replace it.

Relaunch the app and go to the login screen and input your credentials. You should then be able to login successfully.

 

Thanks!
Ej
 

Sightseer
Posts: 3

Re: mac authenticate

I tried it:

 

##
# Host Database
#
# localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
# when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
##
127.0.0.1 localhost
255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
127.0.0.1 localhost

 

 

 

This still did not work. 

GoPro
Posts: 8,294

Re: mac authenticate

Thank you for going through the recommended steps, @bravestorm20528. Since the issue remains, the next step would be to engage our Support team for further troubleshooting. You may reach them by phone or chat through https://gopro.com/help/ContactUs . You can direct them to this thread for reference on what you have already tried out. Best regards!