Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
GoPro Apps for Desktop
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-272086%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EMajor%20Overcapture%20issues%20in%20Final%20Cut%20Pro%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-272086%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20cannot%20get%20the%20entire%20sphere%20of%20imagery%20to%20show%20up%20in%20my%20projects%20once%20they've%20been%20rendered%20in%20the%20Fusiuon%20app.%20%26nbsp%3BI%20either%20get%20the%20front%20or%20back%20half%20of%20the%20image%20but%20never%20the%20whole%20thing.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-272086%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EGoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-272232%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Major%20Overcapture%20issues%20in%20Final%20Cut%20Pro%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-272232%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EMake%20sure%20you%20are%20exporting%20from%20Fusion%20as%20360%20if%20you%20want%20entire%20sphere%20of%20image.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-272250%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Major%20Overcapture%20issues%20in%20Final%20Cut%20Pro%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-272250%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%22%3CU%3E%3CEM%3E%3CSTRONG%3E%3CSPAN%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FSPAN%3Eto%20utilize%20the%20entire%20spherical%20file%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%3C%2FEM%3E%3C%2FU%3E%3CSPAN%3E%26nbsp%3B%3CFONT%20size%3D%224%22%3E%3CSTRONG%3E%3CFONT%20color%3D%22%23FF0000%22%3Eto%20find%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%3C%2FFONT%3E%20the%20perfect%20shot%20from%20which%20%3CFONT%20size%3D%224%22%3E%3CSTRONG%3E%3CFONT%20color%3D%22%23FF0000%22%3Eto%20punch%20out%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%3C%2FFONT%3E%20a%20full%201080p.%26nbsp%3B%20Once%20you%20have%2C%20%22punched%20out%22%20a%20full%201080p%20video%2C%20it%20is%20NO%20LONGER%20360%20and%20it%20NO%20LONGER%20contains%20all%20of%20the%20360%20content.%26nbsp%3B%20It%20is%20just%20the%20section%20you%20have%20%22PUNCHED%20OUT%22.%26nbsp%3B%20You%20are%20getting%20the%20same%20results%20as%20you%20would%20get%20with%20any%20standard%20camera%20put%20into%20the%20360%20sequence.%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-272378%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Major%20Overcapture%20issues%20in%20Final%20Cut%20Pro%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-272378%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EOK%2C%20Daniel%2C%20I%20owe%20you%20an%20apology.%20%26nbsp%3BI%20finally%20got%20this%20to%20work%20better%2C%20but%20there%20are%20still%20issues.%20%26nbsp%3BForgive%20me%20for%20my%20earlier%20dismissive%20tone%20but%20after%203%20days%20of%20trying%20and%20numerous%20painfiul%20tech%20support%20calls%20with%20GoPro%20I%20was%20at%20my%20wits%20end.%20%26nbsp%3BI'm%20under%20contract%20to%20shoot%20video%20at%20a%20local%20ski%20resort%20and%20with%20each%20passing%20day%20of%20no%20video%20being%20shot%20they%20were%20getting%20upset%20and%20my%20stress%20level%20was%20going%20through%20the%20roof.%20%26nbsp%3BThank%20you%20for%20your%20suggestions.%20%26nbsp%3BThe%20issue%20I%20now%20face%20is%20with%20the%20Reorientation%20tool.%20%26nbsp%3BI%20have%20a%20single%20360%20clip%20split%20into%20sections%20and%20with%20each%20section%20I'm%20attempting%20to%20re-frame%20the%20shot%20on%20a%20moving%20skier.%20%26nbsp%3BWhenever%20I%20reorient%20on%20one%20segment%26nbsp%3Bthough%20they%20are%20all%20being%20affected%20even%20though%20they%20have%20been%20split%20up%20using%20the%20blade%20tool.%20%26nbsp%3BThis%20is%20exactly%20what%20Steve%20Martin%20does%20in%20the%20MacBreak%20video%20that%20I%20linked%20to%20before%20and%20even%20though%20I'm%20doing%20precisely%20what%20he%20does%20my%20results%20are%20not%20the%20same.%20%26nbsp%3BAny%20clues%20as%20to%20why%20this%20is%3F%20%26nbsp%3BAnd%20again%2C%20thank%20you%20for%20your%20patience%20and%20please%20forgive%20me%20my%20lack%20thereof.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-273087%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Major%20Overcapture%20issues%20in%20Final%20Cut%20Pro%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-273087%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ESorry%2C%20I%20don't%20use%20FCP%2C%20I%20use%20Premiere%20Pro%2C%20so%20I'm%20not%20familiar%20with%20that%20editing%20suite.%20Best%20of%20luck%2C%20and%20no%20hard%20feelings.%20I%20know%20how%20stressful%20it%20can%20get%20when%20trying%20to%20edit%20a%20project.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-273223%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Major%20Overcapture%20issues%20in%20Final%20Cut%20Pro%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-273223%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EIt's%20actually%20quite%20simple%20while%20at%20the%20same%20time%20counterintuitive%3A%20the%20360%20footage%20has%20to%20be%20brought%20into%20a%20standard%20HD%20project.%20%26nbsp%3BThe%20you%20can%20either%20make%20hard%20cuts%2C%20or%20for%20what%20I'm%20doing%20with%20ski%20footage%2C%20I%20just%20set%20a%20key%20frame%20for%20all%20parameters%20at%20the%20very%20beginning%20of%20the%20clip%20and%20then%20reorient%20to%20my%20hearts%20delight.%20%26nbsp%3BIt's%20working%20flawlessly!%20%26nbsp%3BThe%20only%20remaining%20challenge%20is%20the%20render%20time%20on%20my%20little%20MacBook%20pro%2C%20very%20slow.%20%26nbsp%3BOh%20well%2C%20thanks%20again%20for%20your%20help.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-273254%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Major%20Overcapture%20issues%20in%20Final%20Cut%20Pro%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-273254%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EGlad%20to%20hear%20you%20got%20it%20figured%20out.%20If%20you%20can%2C%20mark%20your%20last%20post%20as%20the%20solution%20so%20if%20someone%20else%20has%20this%20issue%20they%20can%20find%20it%20easier.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Hiker
Posts: 18
Accepted Solution

Major Overcapture issues in Final Cut Pro

I cannot get the entire sphere of imagery to show up in my projects once they've been rendered in the Fusiuon app.  I either get the front or back half of the image but never the whole thing.

Screen Shot 2018-12-10 at 4.01.10 PM.png

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Hiker
Posts: 18

Re: Major Overcapture issues in Final Cut Pro

It's actually quite simple while at the same time counterintuitive: the 360 footage has to be brought into a standard HD project.  The you can either make hard cuts, or for what I'm doing with ski footage, I just set a key frame for all parameters at the very beginning of the clip and then reorient to my hearts delight.  It's working flawlessly!  The only remaining challenge is the render time on my little MacBook pro, very slow.  Oh well, thanks again for your help.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Explorer
Posts: 12,210

Re: Major Overcapture issues in Final Cut Pro

Make sure you are exporting from Fusion as 360 if you want entire sphere of image.
Explorer
Posts: 12,210

Re: Major Overcapture issues in Final Cut Pro

" to utilize the entire spherical file to find the perfect shot from which to punch out a full 1080p.  Once you have, "punched out" a full 1080p video, it is NO LONGER 360 and it NO LONGER contains all of the 360 content.  It is just the section you have "PUNCHED OUT".  You are getting the same results as you would get with any standard camera put into the 360 sequence.

Hiker
Posts: 18

Re: Major Overcapture issues in Final Cut Pro

OK, Daniel, I owe you an apology.  I finally got this to work better, but there are still issues.  Forgive me for my earlier dismissive tone but after 3 days of trying and numerous painfiul tech support calls with GoPro I was at my wits end.  I'm under contract to shoot video at a local ski resort and with each passing day of no video being shot they were getting upset and my stress level was going through the roof.  Thank you for your suggestions.  The issue I now face is with the Reorientation tool.  I have a single 360 clip split into sections and with each section I'm attempting to re-frame the shot on a moving skier.  Whenever I reorient on one segment though they are all being affected even though they have been split up using the blade tool.  This is exactly what Steve Martin does in the MacBreak video that I linked to before and even though I'm doing precisely what he does my results are not the same.  Any clues as to why this is?  And again, thank you for your patience and please forgive me my lack thereof.

Explorer
Posts: 12,210

Re: Major Overcapture issues in Final Cut Pro

Sorry, I don't use FCP, I use Premiere Pro, so I'm not familiar with that editing suite. Best of luck, and no hard feelings. I know how stressful it can get when trying to edit a project.
Highlighted
Hiker
Posts: 18

Re: Major Overcapture issues in Final Cut Pro

It's actually quite simple while at the same time counterintuitive: the 360 footage has to be brought into a standard HD project.  The you can either make hard cuts, or for what I'm doing with ski footage, I just set a key frame for all parameters at the very beginning of the clip and then reorient to my hearts delight.  It's working flawlessly!  The only remaining challenge is the render time on my little MacBook pro, very slow.  Oh well, thanks again for your help.

Explorer
Posts: 12,210

Re: Major Overcapture issues in Final Cut Pro

Glad to hear you got it figured out. If you can, mark your last post as the solution so if someone else has this issue they can find it easier.