Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
GoPro Apps for Desktop
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-206925%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHow%20do%20I%20know%20gps%20data%20is%20being%20written%20into%20the%20media%20file%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-206925%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EGPS%20is%20enabled%20on%20camera%2C%20the%20icon%20is%20bright.%20yet%20when%20importing%20into%20Quik%20there%20is%20no%20option%20to%20use%20Gauges%20(like%20there%20is%20no%20data%20on%20media%20file).%20wheres%20the%20problem%3F%20Quik%20or%26nbsp%3Bthe%20file.%20Is%20there%20a%20way%20to%20look%20at%20a%20file's%20properties%20to%20see%20if%20it%20includes%20GPS%20etc%20data%3F%20Thanks%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-206925%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EQuik%20for%20Desktop%20-%20Windows%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-209110%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20How%20do%20I%20know%20gps%20data%20is%20being%20written%20into%20the%20media%20file%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-209110%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F67448%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40snowyrange84585%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThe%20GPS%20icon%20should%20be%20white%20and%20not%20grayed%20out%20to%20indicate%20that%20the%20camera%20has%2Fhas%20gained%20a%20signal.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EDo%20you%20have%20the%20HERO5%20Black%20or%20HERO6%20Black%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EWhat%20SD%20card%20are%20you%20using%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EYou%20can%20also%20test%20the%20file%20using%20Dashware.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fhow_to%2FHow-to-Overlay-Telemetry-from-GoPro-Cameras-in-Dashware%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fhow_to%2FHow-to-Overlay-Telemetry-from-GoPro-Cameras-in-Dashware%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ELet%20us%20know%20how%20it%20goes.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EEj%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-209726%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20How%20do%20I%20know%20gps%20data%20is%20being%20written%20into%20the%20media%20file%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-209726%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Ethanks%20for%20replies%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Erunning%20hero%206%20with%20lastest%20software.%20It%20is%20brand%20new%2C%20this%20is%20my%20first%20test%20of%20GPS%20data.%20(ie%20its%20not%20like%20it%20was%20working%20and%20now%20not).%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20am%20testing%20it%20outdoors%20with%20plenty%20of%20sky%20and%20icon%20is%20nice%20and%20white%20-%20no%20suggestion%20of%20poor%20reception.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ewhen%20importing%20into%20Quik%20and%20now%20dashware%2C%20either%20software%20do%20not%20recognise%20any%20gps%20data%20within%20the%20media%20(video%20plays%20fine).%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Eits%20like%20the%20gps%20recording%20component%20is%20faulty%20on%20this%20camera%2C%20even%20though%20icons%20on%20LCD%20screen%20suggest%20otherwise.%26nbsp%3B%20before%20I%20go%20grizzling%20about%20the%20camera%2C%20is%20there%20any%20way%20of%20seeing%20if%20the%20gps%20is%20on%20file.%20e.g%20can%20i%20open%20its%20properties%20in%20windows%20explorer%20or%20other%20program%20such%20like%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-209750%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20How%20do%20I%20know%20gps%20data%20is%20being%20written%20into%20the%20media%20file%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-209750%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EOk%20Ok%20my%20bad%2C%20ive%20worked%20it%20out%2C%20kind%20of%20stupid%20of%20me%20but%20worth%20sharing%20as%20could%20still%20be%20a%20trap%20for%20others.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ewhen%20importing%20media%20into%20quik%2C%20double%20click%20on%20media%20file%20BEFORE%20going%20into%20create%20mode.%20by%20doing%20this%20will%20bring%20up%20the%20icon%20to%20overlay%20gauges.%20If%20you%20go%20straight%20into%20create%20mode%20first%2C%20no%20amount%20of%20searching%20through%20preferences%20etc%20will%20give%20you%20the%20option%20to%20see%26nbsp%3Bgauges.%20thanks%20all%20you%20youtube'ers%2C%20not%20so%20much%20gopro%20help%2Fsupport%2FFAQ%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-210067%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20How%20do%20I%20know%20gps%20data%20is%20being%20written%20into%20the%20media%20file%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-210067%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you%20for%20sharing%2C%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F67448%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40snowyrange84585%3C%2FA%3E.%20Great%20to%20know%20that%20you%20are%20able%20to%20access%20GPS%20data%20now.%26nbsp%3B%20Stay%20stoked%20and%20have%20fun%20using%20your%20GoPro!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EFor%20others%20who%20might%20be%20encountering%20the%20same%20concern%2C%20you%20may%20also%20refer%20to%20the%20help%20article%3A%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fblock%2FHow-to-Use-Gauges-in-Quik-for-Desktop%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fblock%2FHow-to-Use-Gauges-in-Quik-for-Desktop%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Highlighted
Tourist
Posts: 3
Accepted Solution

How do I know gps data is being written into the media file?

GPS is enabled on camera, the icon is bright. yet when importing into Quik there is no option to use Gauges (like there is no data on media file). wheres the problem? Quik or the file. Is there a way to look at a file's properties to see if it includes GPS etc data? Thanks


Accepted Solutions
GoPro
Posts: 10,065

Re: How do I know gps data is being written into the media file?

 

Hi @snowyrange84585

 

 

The GPS icon should be white and not grayed out to indicate that the camera has/has gained a signal.

Do you have the HERO5 Black or HERO6 Black?

What SD card are you using?

 

You can also test the file using Dashware. 

https://gopro.com/help/articles/how_to/How-to-Overlay-Telemetry-from-GoPro-Cameras-in-Dashware

 

Let us know how it goes.

 

Thanks!

Ej

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
GoPro
Posts: 10,065

Re: How do I know gps data is being written into the media file?

 

Hi @snowyrange84585

 

 

The GPS icon should be white and not grayed out to indicate that the camera has/has gained a signal.

Do you have the HERO5 Black or HERO6 Black?

What SD card are you using?

 

You can also test the file using Dashware. 

https://gopro.com/help/articles/how_to/How-to-Overlay-Telemetry-from-GoPro-Cameras-in-Dashware

 

Let us know how it goes.

 

Thanks!

Ej

 

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: How do I know gps data is being written into the media file?

thanks for replies,

running hero 6 with lastest software. It is brand new, this is my first test of GPS data. (ie its not like it was working and now not).

I am testing it outdoors with plenty of sky and icon is nice and white - no suggestion of poor reception.

when importing into Quik and now dashware, either software do not recognise any gps data within the media (video plays fine).

 

its like the gps recording component is faulty on this camera, even though icons on LCD screen suggest otherwise.  before I go grizzling about the camera, is there any way of seeing if the gps is on file. e.g can i open its properties in windows explorer or other program such like?

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: How do I know gps data is being written into the media file?

Ok Ok my bad, ive worked it out, kind of stupid of me but worth sharing as could still be a trap for others.

when importing media into quik, double click on media file BEFORE going into create mode. by doing this will bring up the icon to overlay gauges. If you go straight into create mode first, no amount of searching through preferences etc will give you the option to see gauges. thanks all you youtube'ers, not so much gopro help/support/FAQ

GoPro
Posts: 8,134

Re: How do I know gps data is being written into the media file?

Thank you for sharing, @snowyrange84585. Great to know that you are able to access GPS data now.  Stay stoked and have fun using your GoPro!

 

For others who might be encountering the same concern, you may also refer to the help article: https://gopro.com/help/articles/block/How-to-Use-Gauges-in-Quik-for-Desktop

 

Thanks!