Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
GoPro Apps for Desktop
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1230%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EGoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1230%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EMy%20computer%20(Windows%208)%20says%20there%20are%20no%20files%20to%20be%20imported%2C%20but%20my%20SD%20card%20has%20files%20on%20it.%20I%20can%20view%20them%20on%20my%20camera's%20playback.%20How%20do%20I%20get%20them%20off%20the%20SD%20card%3F%3F%20Gopro%20studio%20auto%20import%20is%20not%20working%2C%20and%20I%20do%20not%20have%20a%20micro%20sd%20card%20adapter%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-1230%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EGoPro%20Studio%20for%20Windows%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1253%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20cannot%20import%20files%20from%20camera%20to%20computer%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1253%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20this%20same%20problem.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20can%20view%20them%20when%20I%20use%20a%20USB%20card%20reader.%26nbsp%3B%20The%20USB%20cord%20provided%20in%20the%20box%20seems%20like%26nbsp%3Bthe%20problem.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20also%20received%20a%20similar%20cord%20when%20I%20bought%20the%20external%20charger%20and%20additional%20batteries.%26nbsp%3B%20That%20cord%20doesn't%20seem%20to%20connect%20either%20although%20the%20camera%20shows%20charging%20when%20both%20are%20connected.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20built%20this%20computer.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EMy%20Computer%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ei7%203770K%20%E2%80%93%20Intel%20Sandy%20Bridge%20processor%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EGA-Z77X-UD3H%20%E2%80%93%20Gigabyte%20Motherboard%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EWindows%2010%20Pro%20OS%2064-bit%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ECorsair%20Vengeance%2032%20gb%20memory%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EEVGA%20GTX950Ti%202gb%20video%20card%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESB%20Recon%203D%20sound%20card%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ELG%20BD%2FDVD%2FCD%20writer%20with%203D%20playback%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ECoolerMaster%201000w%20Silent%20Pro%20Gold%20power%20supply%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EHAF%20932%20tower%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%206%20HD's%20%E2%80%93%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EOS%20and%20software%20on%20Crucial%20512%20gb%20SSD%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E1%20120%20SSD%20(disconnected)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E1%20Crucial%201000%20gb%20SSD%20(music%20and%20OneDrive)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E1%20WD%201000%20gb%20SSD%2C%20(movies)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E1%20WD%20500%20gb%20(Games%20and%20Pictures)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E1%20external%20WD%20500%20gb%20for%20backup.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThe%20monitor%20is%20Dell%20P2715Q%20(DP4k60)%204kHD%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CSTRONG%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CSTRONG%3EMotherboard%20Model%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%3A%20GA-Z77X-UD3H(rev.%201.0)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EGigabyte%20--------------------------%20%3CSTRONG%3EM%2FB%20Rev%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%201.0%20%3CSTRONG%3EBIOS%20Ver%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20F19e%20%3CSTRONG%3ESerial%20No.%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20121300046427%20%3CSTRONG%3EPurchase%20Dealer%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20Amazon.com%20-------------------------------------------------------------------------------%20%3CSTRONG%3EVGA%20Brand%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20EVGA%20%3CSTRONG%3EModel%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20GTX%20950%20Ti%20%3CSTRONG%3ECPU%20Brand%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20Intel%20%3CSTRONG%3EModel%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20i7%203770K%20%3CSTRONG%3ESpeed%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%203.4%20%3CSTRONG%3EOperation%20System%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20Win%2010%20Pro%2064-bit%20%3CSTRONG%3EMemory%20Brand%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20Corsair%20%3CSTRONG%3EType%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%20DDR3%20%3CSTRONG%3EMemory%20Size%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%2032%20gb%20%3CSTRONG%3ESpeed%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%201600%20%3CSTRONG%3EPower%20Supply%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%20%3A%201000%20W%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1404%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20cannot%20import%20files%20from%20camera%20to%20computer%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1404%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHey%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F735%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40alm00131%3C%2FA%3E%2C%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F719%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40karenv52256%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EYou%20guys%20do%20sound%20like%20you%20are%20experiencing%20similar%20situations%20when%20trying%20to%20import%20your%20files.%20There%20are%20a%20few%20steps%20you%20want%20to%20verify%20first%20to%20see%20if%20this%20helps%20with%20resolving%20your%20issue.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EFirst%2C%20make%20sure%20tha%20tyour%20camera%20is%20operating%20on%20the%20most%20current%20software%20version.%20A%20new%20software%20version%20was%20released%20recently%2C%20so%20if%20you%20cannot%20connect%20your%20camera%20to%20your%20computer%2C%20try%20connecting%20to%20the%20GoPro%20App%20to%20update%20your%20camera.%20If%20you%20do%20not%20have%20the%20GoPro%20App%2C%20you%20can%20always%20manually%20update%20your%20camera.%20Check%20out%20this%20page%20if%20you%20are%20unsure%20how%20to%20update%20your%20camera.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ENext%2C%20make%20sure%20that%20your%20camera%20is%20going%20in%20to%20USB%20mode.%20To%20check%20this%2C%20look%20for%20the%20USB%20symbol%20on%20the%20front%20of%20the%20camera.%20You%20should%20also%20see%20a%20charging%20battery%20symbol%20on%20the%20front%20LCD%20screen.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EIf%20you%20have%20additional%20USB%20ports%20on%20your%20computer%2C%20try%20using%20a%20new%20port.%20Also%20try%20using%20a%20new%20USB%20cable%20if%20you%20have%20one.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ECome%20back%20and%20let%20us%20know%20how%20it%20goes.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1410%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20cannot%20import%20files%20from%20camera%20to%20computer%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1410%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EYes%2C%20I%20checked%20all%20of%20the%20items%20you%20list%20before%20submitting.%20Nothing%20works.%20The%20GoPro%20program%20on%20my%20computer%20does%20not%20recognize%20the%20camera.%20The%20cameras%20software%20is%20up%20to%20date.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1411%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20cannot%20import%20files%20from%20camera%20to%20computer%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1411%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F735%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40alm00131%3C%2FA%3E%2C%20I%20see%20that%20you%20have%20a%20pretty%20high%20end%20computer%20there.%20Have%20you%20ever%20been%20able%20to%20import%20your%20files%20using%20the%20your%20USB%20cable%20to%20your%20computer%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ETo%20help%20pinpoint%20the%20issue%20and%20to%20see%20if%20there%20is%20an%20issue%20with%20the%20communication%20between%20the%20camera%20and%20your%20computer%2C%20is%20it%20possible%20for%20you%20to%20try%20and%20connect%20your%20camera%20using%20the%20same%20USB%20cable%20to%20another%20computer%3F%20Maybe%20one%20that%20has%20not%20been%20custom%20built%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ELet%20us%20know%20how%20it%20goes.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1418%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20cannot%20import%20files%20from%20camera%20to%20computer%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1418%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20can%20import%20them%20on%20my%20Surface%20Pro%2C%20but%20it%20is%20not%204K%20compatible%20for%20those%20file%20types.%26nbsp%3B%20The%20other%20file%20types%20on%20Hero4%20are%26nbsp%3Bno%20problem.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20have%20no%20problem%20with%20importing%20from%20other%20devices%2C%20i.e.%20my%20phone%20or%20Olympus%20camera%2C%20etc.%26nbsp%3B%20When%20I%20plug%20the%20Hero4%20to%20my%20PC%20the%20charging%20feature%20seems%20to%20be%20working%20just%20fine.%26nbsp%3B%20Personally%20I%20think%20the%20problem%20is%20in%20the%20GoPro%20Studio%20program.%26nbsp%3B%20Except%20for%204K%20I%20can%20view%20on%20my%20phone%20app%20as%20well.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20checked%20for%20updates%20on%20both%20the%20PC%20and%20GoPro%20website.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20am%20sure%20that%20all%20programs%20have%20the%20latest%20updates%20available.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThere%20also%20seems%20to%20be%20a%20problem%20with%20the%20camera%20hard%20drive.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20cannot%20seem%20to%20get%202%20hours%20of%20video%20recording%20time.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20have%20three%20batteries%20and%20all%20three%20show%20fully%20charged%2C%20but%20the%20camera%20stops%20at%208%20minutes%20regardless%20of%20the%20settings.%26nbsp%3B%20So%20far%20I%20have%20used%204K%2C%202.7K%20and%201080p.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20don't%20know%20if%20that%20would%20be%20the%20cause%20of%20my%20download%20problem.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1583%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1583%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%20class%3D%22p1%22%3EHey%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F719%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40karenv52256%3C%2FA%3E%26nbsp%3Band%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F735%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40alm00131%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p2%22%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%3CSPAN%20class%3D%22s1%22%3EI've%20ran%20into%20a%20similar%20problem%20before%20on%20Windows%208%20and%2010%2C%20and%20there%E2%80%99s%20been%20a%20pretty%20easy%20fix%20on%20my%20end.%20What%20I%20do%20is%20connect%20the%20camera%20via%20USB%20cable%20(to%20a%20USB%202.0%20port%20by%20the%20way%2C%20not%203.0)%20and%20make%20sure%20that%20the%20camera%E2%80%99s%20front%20display%20is%20showing%20a%20USB%20logo%20on%20it.%20If%20there%E2%80%99s%20no%20USB%20logo%20showing%20on%20the%20front%20display%20when%20you%20connect%20it%2C%20then%20the%20issue%20is%20either%20the%20USB%20cable%20or%20the%20port%20itself.%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p2%22%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%3CSPAN%20class%3D%22s1%22%3ENext%2C%20open%20Devices%20and%20Printers%2C%20then%20find%20your%20camera%20in%20the%20Devices%20section...%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%3CSPAN%20class%3D%22s1%22%3E%3CIMG%20src%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fvcsem46788.i.lithium.com%2Ft5%2Fimage%2Fserverpage%2Fimage-id%2F214i153295346FF5FCA7%2Fimage-size%2Foriginal%3Fv%3Dmpbl-1%26amp%3Bpx%3D-1%22%20border%3D%220%22%20alt%3D%22dandp.PNG%22%20title%3D%22dandp.PNG%22%20width%3D%22626%22%20height%3D%22227%22%20%2F%3E%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%3CSPAN%20class%3D%22s1%22%3EDouble%20click%20on%20it%20and%20select%20Change%20General%20Settings.%20Try%20to%20mimic%20the%20screenshot%20below%E2%80%A6%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%3CIMG%20src%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fvcsem46788.i.lithium.com%2Ft5%2Fimage%2Fserverpage%2Fimage-id%2F213i192B01304B614BC2%2Fimage-size%2Foriginal%3Fv%3Dmpbl-1%26amp%3Bpx%3D-1%22%20border%3D%220%22%20alt%3D%22changesettings.PNG%22%20title%3D%22changesettings.PNG%22%20%2F%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3EOnce%20you%20change%20the%20settings%20and%20select%20OK%2C%20you'll%20need%20to%20unplug%20and%20reconnect%20your%20camera%20to%20make%20sure%20it%20works.%20Please%20note%20that%20you%20must%20have%20the%20latest%20version%20of%20GoPro%20Studio%20to%20make%20sure%20everything%20is%20working%20on%20the%20same%20wavelength.%20GoPro%20Studio%20for%20Windows%20is%20on%20version%202.5.7.549.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p2%22%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%20class%3D%22p3%22%3E%3CSPAN%20class%3D%22s1%22%3EHope%20this%20helps!%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1668%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1668%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EIt%20is%20already%20set%20up%20that%20way.%26nbsp%3B%20It%20must%20be%20automatic.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1724%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1724%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHave%20you%20tried%20triggering%20a%20different%20option%20then%3F%20Maybe%20you%20just%20need%20to%20flip%20the%20swith%20on%20and%20off.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EWhat%20about%20the%20Auto-Play%20settings%3F%20If%20your%20camera%20has%20been%20recognized%20as%20a%20device%20at%20one%20point%20or%20another%2C%20then%20it%20should%20show%20in%20that%20list%20whether%20the%20camera%20is%20connected%20or%20not.%20What%20option%20is%20showing%20under%20that%20list%20for%20your%20camera%3F%20I've%20attached%20a%20screenshot%20to%20show%20how%20it%20looks%20on%20my%20end(Windows%2010).%20It%20looks%20different%20in%20Windows%207.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%3CIMG%20src%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fvcsem46788.i.lithium.com%2Ft5%2Fimage%2Fserverpage%2Fimage-id%2F223iC2A413F4B2B173B5%2Fimage-size%2Foriginal%3Fv%3Dmpbl-1%26amp%3Bpx%3D-1%22%20border%3D%220%22%20alt%3D%22win10autoplay.JPG%22%20title%3D%22win10autoplay.JPG%22%20%2F%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1838%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1838%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20had%20the%20same%20issue.%20I%20was%20using%20a%20USB%20cord%20that%20was%20not%20the%20cord%20that%20came%20with%20my%20camera.%20When%20I%20switched%20to%20the%20cord%20that%20came%20with%20my%20Hero%20Silver%2C%20the%20camera%20immediately%20showed%20up%20and%20I%20was%20able%20to%20import.%20I%20hope%20that%20helps.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-7158%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-7158%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20ran%20into%20the%20same%20problem%2C%20and%20solve%20it.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EYesterday%20i%20changed%20my%20GoPro's%20name%2C%20into%20the%20desktop%20app%2C%20and%20after%20that%20i%20couldn't%20import%20any%20media%20from%20my%20camera.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAnd%20now%20i%20saw%20this%20thread%20here%2C%20and%26nbsp%3Bsomeone%20was%20sayin%20about%20going%20to%20change%20the%20device%20name%2C%20so%20i%20did%2C%20i%20change%20it%20as%20original%20eg.%20HERO4%20Silver%2C%20and%20now%20it%20works.%20thanks%20for%20this%20thread%20and%20i%20hope%20my%20post%20will%20help%20y'around%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-8863%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-8863%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you%20that%20did%20it%20for%20me.%3A)%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-9978%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-9978%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3ESo%20I%20have%20this%20issue%20too%20only%20difference%20is%20I%20have%20an%20IMac.%20I've%20tried%20all%20of%20the%20fixes%20(updated%20firmware%2C%20original%20cable%2C%20USB%20displayed%2C%20never%20changed%20name%2C%20etc.%20etc.)%20and%20nothing%20is%20working.%20I%20am%20able%20to%20import%20on%20my%20Macbook%20but%20not%20the%20Imac.%20Beginning%20to%20get%20frustrated.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-10222%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-10222%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20was%20wondering%20if%20anybody%20keeps%20having%20this%20issue.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20been%20trying%20to%20download%20my%20files%20for%20months%20but%20I%20can't.%20I've%20changed%20the%20name%2C%20I've%20changed%20the%20default%20folder%2C%20I've%20made%20sure%20all%20programs%20are%20updated%2C%20but%20it%20does%20not%20work.%20I%20don't%20think%20its%20the%20cable%20because%20once%20before%2C%20after%20trying%20to%20download%20images%20for%20over%20an%20hour%20I%20was%20able%20to%20ge%20them%20on%20my%20computer.%20I'm%20very%20dissapointed%20with%20owning%20a%20%24500%20camera%20but%20not%20being%20able%20to%20download%20any%20files%20because%20the%20programs%20don't%20work%20properly.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-11333%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-11333%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EWhat%20worked%20for%20me%20was%20completely%20removing%20the%20device%20unplugging%20the%20gopro%20usb%20from%20the%20computer%20and%20then%20reinserting%20the%20gopro%20usb%20back%20to%20re-connect%20the%20camera%20and%20then%20it%20automatically%20started%20to%20reinstall%20the%20device%20which%20then%20started%20populating%20the%20import%20pictures%20and%20video%20process%20through%20my%20windows%2010%20and%20I%20also%20had%20the%20gopro%20studio%20opened.%20The%20only%20thing%20is%20you're%20gonna%20need%20a%20lot%20of%20space%20for%20everything%20and%20hopefully%20your%20computer%20can%20handle%20it.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESteps%20to%20removing%20the%20device%20from%20computer%3AGo%20to%20settings%20%26gt%3B%26gt%3B%20connected%20devices%20%26gt%3B%26gt%3B%20click%20on%20HERO4%20Silver%20(or%20whatever%20your%20named%20your%20hero%20camera)%20%26gt%3B%26gt%3B%20then%20hit%20remove%20device%20and%20then%20unplug%20your%20usb%20that's%20connected%20to%20the%20computer%20%26amp%3B%20hero%20camera.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EHope%20this%20helps!%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-11460%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-11460%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you.%20solved%20it!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-12388%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-12388%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EWell%20none%20of%20the%20suggestions%20in%20this%20post%20have%20worked%20for%20me.%26nbsp%3B%20At%20one%20point%20I%20could%20see%20the%20camera%20icon%2C%20but%20not%20any%20longer.%26nbsp%3B%20There%20is%20nothing%20that%20shows%20GoPro%20in%20any%20location%20I%20can%20search%20when%20it%20is%20connected%20via%20USB.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20don't%20have%20USB%202.0%20so%26nbsp%3Bmaybe%20I%20am%20out%20of%20luck.%26nbsp%3B%20Don't%20know%20why%20this%26nbsp%3Bcan't%20be%20compatible%20though.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-12438%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-12438%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EFor%20me%20what%20works%20is%20to%20disconnect%20the%20camera%203x%20times%20from%20the%20USB%20Port%3A%20(USB%203.0%20by%20the%20way)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EFirst%20time%20the%20GoPro%20Desktop%20(for%20Windows%207)%20starts%20automaticaly%20and%20it%20says%3A%20%22no%20new%20files%20to%20import%22%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESecond%20time%3A%20GoPro%20Desktop%20says%3A%20%22initializing%20import%22%20(and%20it%20does%20nothing%2C%20just%20freezes%20in%20that%20step!)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThird%20time%3A%20GoPro%20Desktop%20starts%20the%20import%20process%20flawless!!!%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EWhy%20this%20happens%3F!%20I%20have%20no%20idea(!%3F)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EHope%20this%20helps%20someone%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-12523%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-12523%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EInteresting.%20It%20shouldn't%20take%20three%20times%2C%20though.%20I'd%20check%20your%20cable%20connection%20and%20try%20on%20other%20computers%20to%20see%20if%20it's%20the%20camera%2C%20cable%2C%20or%20computer%2Fsoftware.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F735%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40alm00131%3C%2FA%3E%2C%20did%20it%20used%20to%20work%20on%20a%20different%20computer%20or%20this%20same%20one%3F%20Have%20you%20tried%20reformatting%20the%20SD%20card%20and%20resetting%20the%20computer%3F%20Or%20perhaps%20another%20cable%3F%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-15067%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Importer%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-15067%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Etransport%20unsupported%20%3A(%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Anonymous
Posts: 0
Accepted Solution

GoPro Importer not working

[ Edited ]

My computer (Windows 8) says there are no files to be imported, but my SD card has files on it. I can view them on my camera's playback. How do I get them off the SD card?? Gopro studio auto import is not working, and I do not have a micro sd card adapter 


Accepted Solutions
Sightseer
Posts: 1

Re: GoPro Importer not working

What worked for me was completely removing the device unplugging the gopro usb from the computer and then reinserting the gopro usb back to re-connect the camera and then it automatically started to reinstall the device which then started populating the import pictures and video process through my windows 10 and I also had the gopro studio opened. The only thing is you're gonna need a lot of space for everything and hopefully your computer can handle it.

 

Steps to removing the device from computer:

Go to settings >> connected devices >> click on HERO4 Silver (or whatever your named your hero camera) >> then hit remove device and then unplug your usb that's connected to the computer & hero camera.

 

Hope this helps!

 

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: cannot import files from camera to computer

I have this same problem.  I can view them when I use a USB card reader.  The USB cord provided in the box seems like the problem.  I also received a similar cord when I bought the external charger and additional batteries.  That cord doesn't seem to connect either although the camera shows charging when both are connected.  I built this computer.

My Computer

 

i7 3770K – Intel Sandy Bridge processor

GA-Z77X-UD3H – Gigabyte Motherboard

Windows 10 Pro OS 64-bit

Corsair Vengeance 32 gb memory

EVGA GTX950Ti 2gb video card

SB Recon 3D sound card

LG BD/DVD/CD writer with 3D playback

CoolerMaster 1000w Silent Pro Gold power supply

HAF 932 tower

I have 6 HD's –

OS and software on Crucial 512 gb SSD

1 120 SSD (disconnected)

1 Crucial 1000 gb SSD (music and OneDrive)

1 WD 1000 gb SSD, (movies)

1 WD 500 gb (Games and Pictures)

1 external WD 500 gb for backup.

The monitor is Dell P2715Q (DP4k60) 4kHD

 

Motherboard Model: GA-Z77X-UD3H(rev. 1.0)

Gigabyte -------------------------- M/B Rev : 1.0 BIOS Ver : F19e Serial No. : 121300046427 Purchase Dealer : Amazon.com ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- VGA Brand : EVGA Model : GTX 950 Ti CPU Brand : Intel Model : i7 3770K Speed : 3.4 Operation System : Win 10 Pro 64-bit Memory Brand : Corsair Type : DDR3 Memory Size : 32 gb Speed : 1600 Power Supply : 1000 W

Highlighted
GoPro
Posts: 228

Re: cannot import files from camera to computer

Hey @alm00131, @Anonymous,

 

You guys do sound like you are experiencing similar situations when trying to import your files. There are a few steps you want to verify first to see if this helps with resolving your issue.

 

First, make sure tha tyour camera is operating on the most current software version. A new software version was released recently, so if you cannot connect your camera to your computer, try connecting to the GoPro App to update your camera. If you do not have the GoPro App, you can always manually update your camera. Check out this page if you are unsure how to update your camera.

 

Next, make sure that your camera is going in to USB mode. To check this, look for the USB symbol on the front of the camera. You should also see a charging battery symbol on the front LCD screen.

 

If you have additional USB ports on your computer, try using a new port. Also try using a new USB cable if you have one.

 

Come back and let us know how it goes.

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: cannot import files from camera to computer

Yes, I checked all of the items you list before submitting. Nothing works. The GoPro program on my computer does not recognize the camera. The cameras software is up to date.
GoPro
Posts: 228

Re: cannot import files from camera to computer

Hi @alm00131, I see that you have a pretty high end computer there. Have you ever been able to import your files using the your USB cable to your computer?

 

To help pinpoint the issue and to see if there is an issue with the communication between the camera and your computer, is it possible for you to try and connect your camera using the same USB cable to another computer? Maybe one that has not been custom built?

 

Let us know how it goes.

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: cannot import files from camera to computer

Hello,

I can import them on my Surface Pro, but it is not 4K compatible for those file types.  The other file types on Hero4 are no problem.  I have no problem with importing from other devices, i.e. my phone or Olympus camera, etc.  When I plug the Hero4 to my PC the charging feature seems to be working just fine.  Personally I think the problem is in the GoPro Studio program.  Except for 4K I can view on my phone app as well. 

 

I have checked for updates on both the PC and GoPro website.  I am sure that all programs have the latest updates available.

 

There also seems to be a problem with the camera hard drive.  I cannot seem to get 2 hours of video recording time.  I have three batteries and all three show fully charged, but the camera stops at 8 minutes regardless of the settings.  So far I have used 4K, 2.7K and 1080p.  I don't know if that would be the cause of my download problem.

GoPro
Posts: 227

Re: GoPro Importer not working

[ Edited ]

Hey @Anonymous and @alm00131,

 

I've ran into a similar problem before on Windows 8 and 10, and there’s been a pretty easy fix on my end. What I do is connect the camera via USB cable (to a USB 2.0 port by the way, not 3.0) and make sure that the camera’s front display is showing a USB logo on it. If there’s no USB logo showing on the front display when you connect it, then the issue is either the USB cable or the port itself.

 

Next, open Devices and Printers, then find your camera in the Devices section...

 

dandp.PNG

 

Double click on it and select Change General Settings. Try to mimic the screenshot below…

 

changesettings.PNG

Once you change the settings and select OK, you'll need to unplug and reconnect your camera to make sure it works. Please note that you must have the latest version of GoPro Studio to make sure everything is working on the same wavelength. GoPro Studio for Windows is on version 2.5.7.549.

 

Hope this helps!

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: GoPro Importer not working

It is already set up that way.  It must be automatic.