12-13-2018 10:57 PM
Using Quik to auto-transfer to my desktop when I connect my GP7 works well but it keeps creating the same default folder in the location designated in the settings: 1970-01-01.
The result is that all files end up in the same folder and not by date of creation as I would have expected.
The date and time on the GP7 is set, the metadata info for the individual files created shows correct dates, what am I doing wrong?
I would have expected that Quik will create a folder dated as per the metadata that contains all clips from that day, so after a few days of shooting, I will have a number of sequentially dated folders....right now everything, every day, irrespective of date, goes to a folder named "1970-01-01"
12-21-2018 11:42 AM
12-23-2018 12:47 AM - edited 12-23-2018 12:47 AM
Hey, Jeff, thanks for your reply, I should have reported back earlier...the problem seems to have resolved itself...files now been saved in allocated folder as per date recorded/created.
Only issue now is with auto-delete after transfer as reported in other topics for Quik....transferred files are not deleted automatically....waiting on update.
12-23-2018 01:35 PM
For the auto-delete, the default setting is for the files not to be auto-deleted. If you've selected to have that option turned on, you can turn it back off.
Typically, the files that aren't imported are either corrupted or are not GoPro files. If you can provide specifics on any files that Quik for Desktop was not able to import, please post those details and we'll see if we can spot what the issue is.
12-23-2018 04:35 PM - edited 12-23-2018 04:36 PM
Jeff,the files that are not deleted are the actual GP video files themselves. I have selected the option to have Quik open when camera detected, transfer files and then have them deleted after transfer.
Here's my workflow (Macbook pro with latest firmware 10.14.2, Quik 18.104.22.1684 and GP7 1.61)
1. Plug in GP7 and turn it on
2. Quik detects camera and opens automatically and transfers files to selected folder...no issues and folders are created by date..great!
3. When file transfer is complete, Quik then "deletes" files as i selected this option in settings...great!
4. I disconnnect the camera
5. If I check the sd card via USB adapter, the files are still there and this is confirmed if i start at 1. again as quik transfers files again.
I have seen this same reported elsewhere on this forum - "Deleting files after import - Problem"
12-23-2018 05:35 PM - edited 12-23-2018 05:36 PM
All, as if nothing has been deleted.....only way to clear the card is delete via SD card adapter or in-camera format.....
As an aside, can Quik not allow one to select the files before transferring ie have a preview so you can decide which files to transfer and which to leave/delete instead of transferring everything then selecting which you want to finally save?
12-23-2018 06:25 PM
Thank you for the details you provided, @capediver. This maybe similar to the issue reported through the thread you referred to although in that one, only the .LRV and .THM files are kept. The MP4 files are deleted. We are still waiting for a response from the team. We will keep you posted.