Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Highlighted
Hiker

camera changed time lapse video setting

I'm still new to GoPro cameras and I can't figure out what happened.

I've been experimenting with time-lapse videos. The other day I had the camera mounted to my bike, set it for time-lapse video, 1080/Wide/0.5s/16:9. I pressed the button to start recording as I've done before. A few minutes later I pressed the button to stop it because I needed to adjust the camera angle. Then I pressed the button to start again.

When I played back the video, that first video segment came out as expected, but the rest was very strange.

1. The recording didn't start for several minutes
  2. It recorded regular video not time-lapse
  3. Audio was recorded as well
  4. In the MEDIA grid where all recorded videos are listed with their length of time, this video's time says 01:00
  5. The video was recorded in 1 minute segments. The playback screen shows a counter 00:00/01:00 which counts up to a minute
  6. At one minute the video pauses momentarily then continues and the counter starts over.
  7. This happens 6 times until I stopped recording. So the total length is about 6 minutes, but should have been recording for more like 20 minutes.
  8. The DCIM folder on the SD card shows 6 separate .mp4 files

Can anyone explain to me what happened? It's almost as if it was set to do time lapse recording of 60 seconds instead of a single frame. I don't even see any settings that would allow me to make such recordings. I wanted to attach a video showing what happens but the system doesn't allow videos. I can only attach 1 image.

Thanks for the help.

GoPro display 2.JPG
Highlighted
GoPro

Re: camera changed time lapse video setting