Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-245893%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EWhy%20is%20Smart%20Remote%20not%20listed%20as%20an%20option%20to%20pairing%20new%20devices%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-245893%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20a%20Hero%205%20Black%20and%20a%20new%20Smart%20Remote.%20But%20when%20I%20swipe%20down%20and%20select%20connect%2C%20then%20connect%20to%20new%20device%2C%20only%20GoPro%20app%20is%20listed.%20I%20am%20able%20to%20connect%20to%20my%20phone.%20However%2C%20there%20are%20no%20other%20options%20listed%20for%20pairing%2C%20such%20as%20Smart%20Remote.%20This%20seems%20to%20make%20it%20impossible%20to%20pair%20with%20the%20remote.%20I%20have%20watched%20every%20video%20available%2C%20but%20it%20is%20useless%20unless%20I%20can%20see%20the%20Smart%20Remote%20listed%20as%20a%20device.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-245893%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO5%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-245970%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Why%20is%20Smart%20Remote%20not%20listed%20as%20an%20option%20to%20pairing%20new%20devices%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-245970%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F76594%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40redpeak78760%3C%2FA%3E%2C%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EIt%20could%20be%20that%20the%20camera%20that%20you%20have%20is%20a%20HERO%20(2018)%20and%20not%20a%20HERO5%20Black.%20To%20verify%2C%20when%20you%20check%20on%20the%20side%20of%20the%20camera%20with%20the%20HERO%20label%2C%20does%20it%20have%20HERO5%2C%20or%20just%20HERO%3F%20if%20HERO%20only%2C%20this%20camera%20does%20not%20support%20connectivity%20with%20a%20Smart%20Remote%20control.%20To%26nbsp%3Bcheck%20further%2C%20the%20serial%20number%20number%20of%20a%20HERO%20(2018)%20camera%20starts%20with%20C332...%20whereas%20that%20of%20a%20HERO5%20Black%20camera%20starts%20with%20C316...%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ELet%20us%20know%20how%20it%20is.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks%2C%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Marius%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-245987%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Why%20is%20Smart%20Remote%20not%20listed%20as%20an%20option%20to%20pairing%20new%20devices%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-245987%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20Marius%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBased%20on%20your%20indicators%26nbsp%3B(serial%20no.%20and%20Hero%20label)%20it%20appears%20that%20I%20do%20have%20the%20Hero%202018%20instead%20of%20Hero%205%20black.%20They%20look%20so%20similar%2C%20I%20couldn't%20distinguish%20them.%20My%20wife%20had%20bought%20the%20camera%20and%20the%20box%20didn't%20seem%20to%20identify%20the%20model.%20It's%20certainly%20disappointing%20that%20it%20won't%20connect%20with%20the%20remote.%20The%20price%20of%20Hero%205's%20seems%20to%20be%20coming%20down%2C%20so%20that%20is%20a%20new%20decision.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20had%20paired%20the%20Hero%20with%20my%20phone%2C%20but%20the%20connectivity%20seems%20to%20disappear%20over%20very%20short%20distances.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you%20for%20your%20help.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EDale%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-247013%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Why%20is%20Smart%20Remote%20not%20listed%20as%20an%20option%20to%20pairing%20new%20devices%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-247013%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F76594%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40redpeak78760%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EGoPro%20App's%20range%20is%20between%2035-50%20feet%20depending%20on%20the%20wireless%20interference%20in%20your%20area.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHave%20you%20tried%20testing%20it%20with%20a%20different%20phone%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EEj%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-247259%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Why%20is%20Smart%20Remote%20not%20listed%20as%20an%20option%20to%20pairing%20new%20devices%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-247259%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20am%20using%20a%20MotoX4.%20That's%20my%20only%20phone.%20I%20guess%20I'm%20not%20totally%20clear%20on%20the%20WiFi%20role.%26nbsp%3B%20Is%20the%2035-50%20feet%20range%20dependent%20on%20the%20range%20of%20the%20home%20modem%3F%20Or%20is%20this%20range%20between%20the%20Hero%20and%20the%20phone%3F%26nbsp%3B%20I%20guess%20this%20is%20like%20asking%20whether%20you%20can%20control%20the%20Hero%20from%20your%20phone%20app%20if%20you%20are%20out%20in%20a%20forest%20somewhere%20as%20long%20as%20the%20distance%20is%20less%20than%2050%20ft%20between%20the%20two.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-247268%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Why%20is%20Smart%20Remote%20not%20listed%20as%20an%20option%20to%20pairing%20new%20devices%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-247268%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ECamera%20and%20phone.%20The%20camera%20creates%20the%20Wi-Fi%20signal.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Tourist
Posts: 3
Accepted Solution

Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

I have a Hero 5 Black and a new Smart Remote. But when I swipe down and select connect, then connect to new device, only GoPro app is listed. I am able to connect to my phone. However, there are no other options listed for pairing, such as Smart Remote. This seems to make it impossible to pair with the remote. I have watched every video available, but it is useless unless I can see the Smart Remote listed as a device.


Accepted Solutions
GoPro
Posts: 8,294

Re: Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

Hello @redpeak78760

 

It could be that the camera that you have is a HERO (2018) and not a HERO5 Black. To verify, when you check on the side of the camera with the HERO label, does it have HERO5, or just HERO? if HERO only, this camera does not support connectivity with a Smart Remote control. To check further, the serial number number of a HERO (2018) camera starts with C332... whereas that of a HERO5 Black camera starts with C316...

 

Let us know how it is. 

 

Thanks, 
Marius

View solution in original post

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

Hi Marius,

Based on your indicators (serial no. and Hero label) it appears that I do have the Hero 2018 instead of Hero 5 black. They look so similar, I couldn't distinguish them. My wife had bought the camera and the box didn't seem to identify the model. It's certainly disappointing that it won't connect with the remote. The price of Hero 5's seems to be coming down, so that is a new decision.  I had paired the Hero with my phone, but the connectivity seems to disappear over very short distances.

Thank you for your help.

Dale

View solution in original post

Explorer
Posts: 12,208

Re: Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

Camera and phone. The camera creates the Wi-Fi signal.

View solution in original post


All Replies
GoPro
Posts: 8,294

Re: Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

Hello @redpeak78760

 

It could be that the camera that you have is a HERO (2018) and not a HERO5 Black. To verify, when you check on the side of the camera with the HERO label, does it have HERO5, or just HERO? if HERO only, this camera does not support connectivity with a Smart Remote control. To check further, the serial number number of a HERO (2018) camera starts with C332... whereas that of a HERO5 Black camera starts with C316...

 

Let us know how it is. 

 

Thanks, 
Marius

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

Hi Marius,

Based on your indicators (serial no. and Hero label) it appears that I do have the Hero 2018 instead of Hero 5 black. They look so similar, I couldn't distinguish them. My wife had bought the camera and the box didn't seem to identify the model. It's certainly disappointing that it won't connect with the remote. The price of Hero 5's seems to be coming down, so that is a new decision.  I had paired the Hero with my phone, but the connectivity seems to disappear over very short distances.

Thank you for your help.

Dale

GoPro
Posts: 10,603

Re: Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

 

Hi @redpeak78760

 

GoPro App's range is between 35-50 feet depending on the wireless interference in your area.

Have you tried testing it with a different phone?

 

Thanks!

Ej

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

I am using a MotoX4. That's my only phone. I guess I'm not totally clear on the WiFi role.  Is the 35-50 feet range dependent on the range of the home modem? Or is this range between the Hero and the phone?  I guess this is like asking whether you can control the Hero from your phone app if you are out in a forest somewhere as long as the distance is less than 50 ft between the two.

Explorer
Posts: 12,208

Re: Why is Smart Remote not listed as an option to pairing new devices?

Camera and phone. The camera creates the Wi-Fi signal.