Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Tourist

Video File Naming - Why has it not yet been changed?

OK I cannot seem to reply to a number of other threads on the same subject so here it is again...  and it does seem to have been a request by a number of people that goes ignored by GoPro?  

I'm new to the world of GoPro but not to the world of video, software and software development so I'm having a hard time understating how the GoPro naming convention makes any sense:

GOPR1234.mp4 (first video)
GP011234.mp4 (1st chapter of the original video)
GP021234.mp4 (2nd chapter of the same video)

This is like using MMDDYYYY  vs  YYYYMMDD...

Why is it not like this so they end up all together:

GP123401.mp4 (first video)
GP123402.mp4 (1st chapter of the original video)
GP123403.mp4 (2nd chapter of the same video)

Thus my first video would be: GP000101,  GP000102, GP000103...

My second one would be:  GP000201,  GP000202, GP000203...

I am now forced to rename all my files.  I started editing and panicked thinking I lost huge segments as typically bring my videos in as they are shown in my software in file name order.

PLEASE either change this to something as I have suggested or let us choose the format for the file naming…

Great camera by the way.  Hope to have many hours of fun using it….

Tourist

Re: Video File Naming - Why has it not yet been changed?

Thanks to rich007! It's exactly what I am looking for. The given names makes no sense at all and creates a lot of unnecessary work.
Please, GoPro developers follow the suggesten of rich007!
J
Highlighted
Adventurer

We were all used to FILE_0001, File_0002