Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-2002%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EShutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-2002%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20a%20Hero3%2B%20Silver%20and%20my%20shutter%2Fselect%20button%20is%20not%20working.%20I%20noticed%20it%20the%20last%20time%20I%20used%20the%20camera%20to%20take%20pictures%20on%20a%20hike.%20It%20wasn't%20always%20taking%20the%20pictures%20when%20I%20pressed%20the%20button%2C%20and%20sometimes%20there%20was%20a%20lapse%20in%20time%20from%20when%20the%20button%20was%20pressed%20to%20when%20it%20took%20the%20picture.%20I%20tried%20using%20the%20camera%20again%20when%20road%20cycling%20this%20week%20and%20after%20being%20powered%20on%20it%20worked%2C%20but%20stopped%20shooting%20after%20~9.5min%20unlike%20the%20usual%2019min%20(I%20have%20not%20yet%20plugged%20in%20the%20SD%20card%20to%20see%20if%20it%20actually%20recorded)%20I%20tried%20doing%20a%20second%20recording%20and%20it%20beeped%2C%20but%20then%20stopped%20again%20and%20I%20don't%20believe%20anything%20taped%20at%20all.%20I%20tried%20powering%20down%20and%20back%20up%20and%20also%20taking%20the%20battery%20out%20and%20putting%20it%20back%20in.%20It%20worked%20for%201%20recording%20(I%20believe)%20and%20then%20would%20not%20work%20again.%20This%20is%20extremely%20frustrating%20as%20I%20have%20not%20used%20the%20camera%20too%20often%20and%20always%20take%20care.%20Please%20let%20me%20know%20if%20I%20am%20missing%20something%20or%20you%20have%20any%20wy%20to%20get%20it%20to%20work%20again.%20Thank%20you!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-2002%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO3%2B%20Silver%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-2024%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-2024%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%2C%20It%20sounds%20like%20it%20could%20be%20a%20few%20issues.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E1.%20I%20would%20check%20and%20make%20sure%20that%20the%20camera%20is%20up%20to%20date.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E2.%20It%20may%20be%20an%20SD%20card%20problem%20either%20the%20sd%20card%20is%20not%20fast%20enough%20or%20just%20needs%20reformatting.%20I%20would%20try%20reformatting%20the%20SD%20card%20through%20the%20camera%20(this%20will%20delete%20everything%20off%20of%20it%20so%20make%20sure%20you%20download%20any%20videos%20or%20photos%20to%20your%20computer%20first)%20and%20try%20to%20see%20if%20it%20helps%20with%20the%20issue.%20If%20that%20doesn't%20work%20i%20would%20make%20sure%20that%20you%20have%20one%20of%20gopros%20reccomended%20SD%20cards%20and%20if%20you%20do%20possibly%20try%20purchasing%20another%20one%20to%20see%20if%20it%20fixes%20the%20issue%20incase%20something%20went%20wrong%20with%20your%20current%20SD%20card.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E-Sam%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-2066%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-2066%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHey%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F1243%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40joshp64783%3C%2FA%3E%2C%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F1239%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40smobley%3C%2FA%3E%26nbsp%3Bbrought%20up%20great%20troubleshooting%20steps%20to%20try.%20Are%20you%20noticing%20any%20difference%20in%20the%20cameras%20behavior%3F%20We'd%20love%20to%20hear%20if%20these%20steps%20helped%20alleviate%20the%20issues%20you%20were%20experiencing.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ELet%20us%20know!%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ELorraine%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EHub%20Community%20Moderator%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-3569%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-3569%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI've%20the%20same%20issue%20%3A%20the%20shutter%2Fselect%20button%20doesn't%20work%20anymore.%20It%20has%20been%204%20months%20that%20I%20didn't%20use%20my%20GoPro%20Hero%204%20Black%2C%20and%20when%20I%20wanted%20to%20use%20it%20today%20I've%20discovered%20this%20issue.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESo%2C%20I%20have%20updated%20the%20camera%20software%20from%202.0%20to%203.0%20but%20it%20didn't%20solved%20anything.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EDoes%20anybody%20got%20an%20idea%20%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBest%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ELo%C3%AFc%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-3754%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-3754%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHey%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F2215%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40quickstoke8250%3C%2FA%3E%2C%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EWe're%20sorry%20to%20hear%20about%20this%20issue%20reaching%20you%20as%20well.We%20appreciate%20your%20proactive%20troubleshooting%2C%20for%20sure.%20In%20most%20instances%2C%20having%20a%20button%20stop%20working%20may%20be%20a%20hardware%20issue%20that%20the%20update%20can't%20repair%2C%20sadly.%20%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EMy%20best%20advice%20would%20be%20to%20contact%20our%20%3CA%20href%3D%22http%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2FPKBContactus%22%20target%3D%22_self%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3EPhone%20Support%3C%2FA%3E%20for%20additional%20troubleshooting%20and%20follow%20through.%20Having%20your%20camera%20for%20only%204%20months%20isn't%20demonstrating%26nbsp%3Bthe%20camera's%20behavior%20as%20it%20should.%20If%20there%20is%20a%20manufacturer%20impairment%2C%20we'd%20love%20to%20help%20turn%20this%20around%20for%20you.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ELet%20us%20know%20if%20you%20have%20any%20additional%20questions.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ELorraine%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ECommunity%20Hub%20Moderator%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-6015%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-6015%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI'm%20having%20a%20similar%20problem%20on%20my%20Hero%203%2B%20Black.%20%26nbsp%3BIt%20seems%20my%20shutter%20button%20does%20not%20properly%20%22debounce%22%20and%20thus%20I%20have%20a%20hard%20time%20turning%20on%20the%20camera%20in%20one-button%20mode.%20%26nbsp%3BWhen%20it%20eventually%20does%20turn%20on%2C%20it%20intermittently%20turns%20off.%20Can%20the%20shutter%20button%20be%20replaced%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-6087%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-6087%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-size%3A12px%3B%22%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-family%3Aarial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%3B%22%3EHey%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F3670%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40ronh4732%3C%2FA%3E%2C%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-size%3A12px%3B%22%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-family%3Aarial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%3B%22%3EWe're%20sorry%20to%20hear%20about%20the%20issues%20with%20your%20HERO3%2B.%20%26nbsp%3BBecause%20of%20the%20meticulous%20construction%20of%20our%20cameras%2C%20we%20do%20not%20offer%20repair%20as%20it%20sometimes%20deems%20too%20costly.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-size%3A12px%3B%22%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-family%3Aarial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%3B%22%3EI'd%20suggest%20contacting%20our%20very%20helpful%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22http%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2FPKBContactus%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3ESupport%20Team%3C%2FA%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-size%3A12px%3B%22%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-family%3Aarial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%3B%22%3E%26nbsp%3Bfor%20further%20assistance.%20We%20can%20review%20your%20case%20more%20closely%20to%20find%20a%20solution%20for%20you.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-size%3A12px%3B%22%3E%3CSPAN%20style%3D%22font-family%3Aarial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%3B%22%3ELorraine%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-11515%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-11515%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Ehi%20I%20have%20the%20exact%20same%20problem%20on%20my%20Hero3.%20Was%20working%20fine%20and%20put%20it%20away%20for%20a%20couple%20of%20months.%20Then%20it%20worked%20for%20a%20few%20minuests%20and%20stopped%20and%20tried%20for%20ages%20to%20reset%20etc%20etc%20and%20no%20go.%20Put%20it%20away%20another%20few%20weeks%20then%20dragged%20it%20out%20and%20it%20was%20working.%20But%20then%20put%20it%20in%20the%20waterproof%20container%20and%20it%20stopped%20again.%20I%20noticed%20the%20waterproof%20buttons%20were%20sticking%20down%20so%20i've%20cleaned%20and%20lubricated%20those.%20Back%20in%20waiting%20mode%20to%20see%20if%20it%20will%20work%20after%20some%20time%20again.%20Maybe%20some%20onboard%20memory%20is%20cleared%20after%20weeks%2C%20I%20don't%20know.%20Very%20disappointing%20as%20i've%20looked%20after%20it%20fastidiously.%20I%20really%20don't%20feel%20like%20replacing%20it%20with%20the%20same%20brand%20after%20this%20experience.%20Some%20suggestions%20for%20trouble%20shooting%20required%20the%20button%20to%20work%20to%20get%20through%20the%20menus%20so%20that's%20not%20an%20option%20unless%2Funtil%20the%20button%20works%20again.%20Still%20have%20some%20tiny%20hope%20it%20will%20be%20fixable.%20Will%20try%20an%20alternative%20SD%20card%20I%20guess.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-11625%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-11625%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%26nbsp%3Bexactly%20the%20same%20problem.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20Gopro%204%20black%2C%20that%20doens't%20work%2C%20it%20can%20turn%20on%2C%20but%20when%20ever%20i%20hit%20select%2Fshutter%20button%20it%20freeze.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20update%20software%20to%20try%20to%20solve%20the%20problem%2C%20but%20it%20doesn't%20work%20at%20all.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-11665%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-11665%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Esome%20good%20news%20-%20i%20cound't%20format%20the%20sd%20card%20through%20the%20camera%20menus%20as%20that%20requiers%20the%20shutter%20button%20to%20work.%20But%20you%20can%20just%20connect%20the%20camera%20to%20a%20computer%20with%20USB%20and%20format%20the%20memory%20card%20from%20there.%20After%20doing%20that%20and%20doing%20the%20factory%20reset%20procedure%20a%20few%20times%20and%20leaving%20the%20camera%20overnight%20it%20started%20working.%20It%20would%20record%20and%20take%20phots%20for%20a%20few%20mins%20then%20the%20shutter%20would%20stop%20again.%20I%20think%20this%20means%20the%20button%20itself%20is%20not%20faulty.%20I%20have%20ordered%20a%20new%20sd%20card%20and%20will%20see%20how%20that%20goes.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-11721%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-11721%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20finally%20fixed%20my%20non-working%20shutter%20problem!!%20I%20bought%20a%20T3%20Torx%20screwdriver%20(%249%20for%20a%20set%20of%20sizes%20T3%20to%20T10).%20I%20popped%20the%20front%20silvery%20faceplate%20off%20to%20reveal%204%20screws%20at%20the%20corners.%20There%20is%20one%20screw%20near%20the%20shutter%20button.%20I%20unscrewed%20this%20a%20quarter%20turn%20and%20the%20button%20started%20working.%20Its%20been%20working%20for%20hours%20now%2C%20including%20in%20the%20waterprrof%20case.%20I%20guess%20there%20was%20some%20misalignment%20between%20the%20outer%20button%20and%20the%20actual%20switch%20within.%20I%20am%20so%20happy%20not%20to%20have%20to%20replace%20the%20camera.%20I%20really%20hope%20this%20will%20help%20someone%20else.%20Best%20of%20luck.%20A%20non%20functioning%20camera%20is%20so%20annoying.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-14023%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-14023%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EMy%26nbsp%3Bselect%2Factivate%20button%20stopped%20working%20too%20during%20hiking%20last%20weekend.%20Took%203%20pictures%20and%20no%20response%20after%20that.%20Tried%20restarting%2C%20removing%20batter%20and%20changed%20memory%20card%2C%20firmware%20is%20latest.%20The%20button%20just%20refuse%20to%20activate.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-19292%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-19292%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Ehey%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ei%20am%20having%20this%20problem%20also...%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Eive%20tried%20using%20different%20SD%20cards%20and%20stil%20the%20same%20problem.%20I%20cant%20access%20my%20wifi%20to%20reformatt%20becuase%20the%20only%20button%20the%20works%20is%20the%20power%2Fmode%20button%2C%20so%20i%20cannot%20select%20any%20options%20just%20scroll%20through%20them.%20it%20was%20working%20fine%20yesterday%20then%20all%20of%20a%20sudden%20it%20just%20stopped.%20Any%20help%20on%20this%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ethanks.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-19330%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-19330%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThe%20shutter%20button%20corroded%20and%20is%20beyond%20repair.%20I%26nbsp%3Breplaced%20the%20whole%20%3CSPAN%3Ecircuitry.%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-21151%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Shutter%2FSelect%20button%20not%20working%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-21151%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CBLOCKQUOTE%3E%3CHR%20%2F%3E%40youngker%20wrote%3A%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CP%3EThe%20shutter%20button%20corroded%20and%20is%20beyond%20repair.%20I%26nbsp%3Breplaced%20the%20whole%20%3CSPAN%3Ecircuitry.%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CHR%20%2F%3E%3C%2FBLOCKQUOTE%3E%3CP%3ECan%20you%20explain%20how%20to%20change%20circuity%3F%20And%20where%20you%20buy%20it%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThx.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Shutter/Select button not working

I have a Hero3+ Silver and my shutter/select button is not working. I noticed it the last time I used the camera to take pictures on a hike. It wasn't always taking the pictures when I pressed the button, and sometimes there was a lapse in time from when the button was pressed to when it took the picture. I tried using the camera again when road cycling this week and after being powered on it worked, but stopped shooting after ~9.5min unlike the usual 19min (I have not yet plugged in the SD card to see if it actually recorded) I tried doing a second recording and it beeped, but then stopped again and I don't believe anything taped at all. I tried powering down and back up and also taking the battery out and putting it back in. It worked for 1 recording (I believe) and then would not work again. This is extremely frustrating as I have not used the camera too often and always take care. Please let me know if I am missing something or you have any wy to get it to work again. Thank you!

Tourist
Posts: 115

Re: Shutter/Select button not working

Hello, It sounds like it could be a few issues.

 

1. I would check and make sure that the camera is up to date.

2. It may be an SD card problem either the sd card is not fast enough or just needs reformatting. I would try reformatting the SD card through the camera (this will delete everything off of it so make sure you download any videos or photos to your computer first) and try to see if it helps with the issue. If that doesn't work i would make sure that you have one of gopros reccomended SD cards and if you do possibly try purchasing another one to see if it fixes the issue incase something went wrong with your current SD card. 

 

-Sam

GoPro
Posts: 233

Re: Shutter/Select button not working

Hey @Anonymous, 

 

@smobley brought up great troubleshooting steps to try. Are you noticing any difference in the cameras behavior? We'd love to hear if these steps helped alleviate the issues you were experiencing. 

 

Let us know! 

 

Lorraine

Hub Community Moderator

 

 

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Shutter/Select button not working

Hi,

 

I've the same issue : the shutter/select button doesn't work anymore. It has been 4 months that I didn't use my GoPro Hero 4 Black, and when I wanted to use it today I've discovered this issue.

 

So, I have updated the camera software from 2.0 to 3.0 but it didn't solved anything.

 

Does anybody got an idea ?

 

Best regards,

Loïc 

GoPro
Posts: 233

Re: Shutter/Select button not working

Hey @Anonymous, 

 

We're sorry to hear about this issue reaching you as well.We appreciate your proactive troubleshooting, for sure. In most instances, having a button stop working may be a hardware issue that the update can't repair, sadly.  

 

My best advice would be to contact our Phone Support for additional troubleshooting and follow through. Having your camera for only 4 months isn't demonstrating the camera's behavior as it should. If there is a manufacturer impairment, we'd love to help turn this around for you. 

 

Let us know if you have any additional questions.

 

Lorraine

Community Hub Moderator

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Shutter/Select button not working

[ Edited ]

I'm having a similar problem on my Hero 3+ Black.  It seems my shutter button does not properly "debounce" and thus I have a hard time turning on the camera in one-button mode.  When it eventually does turn on, it intermittently turns off. Can the shutter button be replaced?

GoPro
Posts: 233

Re: Shutter/Select button not working

Hey @Anonymous, 

 

We're sorry to hear about the issues with your HERO3+.  Because of the meticulous construction of our cameras, we do not offer repair as it sometimes deems too costly. 

 

I'd suggest contacting our very helpful Support Team for further assistance. We can review your case more closely to find a solution for you. 

 

Lorraine

 

 

 

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Shutter/Select button not working

hi I have the exact same problem on my Hero3. Was working fine and put it away for a couple of months. Then it worked for a few minuests and stopped and tried for ages to reset etc etc and no go. Put it away another few weeks then dragged it out and it was working. But then put it in the waterproof container and it stopped again. I noticed the waterproof buttons were sticking down so i've cleaned and lubricated those. Back in waiting mode to see if it will work after some time again. Maybe some onboard memory is cleared after weeks, I don't know. Very disappointing as i've looked after it fastidiously. I really don't feel like replacing it with the same brand after this experience. Some suggestions for trouble shooting required the button to work to get through the menus so that's not an option unless/until the button works again. Still have some tiny hope it will be fixable. Will try an alternative SD card I guess.