Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Tourist

Serious video quality issues with Go Pro Hero 5, constant crashes and errors

[ New ]

Hi, 

I have been struggling with extremely poor video quality on our Go Pro Hero 5 since purchase. We have always been dissappointed with the quality and found it to be well below what we came to expect from our previous Hero 4 Silver. 

I have tried so many combinations of settings, in both ProTune and defaults, I've reset the camera on multiple occaisions and kept its firmware up to date but nothing has improved it. I should note that I am a photographer and videographer and I do cleary understand the impact of frame rate/ISO/shutter speed selections on overall image quality in different degrees of available light, especial on a sensor this small, and my expectations are defintely not beyond reality. 

Specifically, footage from our Hero 5 Black appears to be far less sharp, vastly less contrast and much higher grain than the footage shot with the same settings on our Hero 4 Silver. In addition a further problem is that there always appears to be a huge amount of light and colour bleed on high contrast edges, and i'm not talking about just a couple of pixels leading to a less sharp edge, it can look light "blooming" effect completly blowing contrast on a large proportion of the image. 

My first suspicion was the lens cover, but having removed and very carefully cleaned and replaced it, there was no difference to the quality observed. Shooting some further tests with the lens cover completely removed also showed no difference in quality.