Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-40088%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ESD%20error%20after%2028%20pictures%20of%20photo%20%26amp%3B%20video%20time%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-40088%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello!%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20a%20gopro%20hero%204%20silver%2C%20and%20I'm%20using%20a%20SanDisk%20extreme%2064GB%20SD%20card.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAfter%20I%20updated%20my%20camera%20to%20the%20last%20update%20(V5.0)%2C%20I%20have%20a%20problem%20of%20taking%20time%20lapses.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EWhen%20I'm%20shooting%20a%20time%20lapse%2C%20video%20or%20photo%20time%20lapse%2C%20I%20get%20a%20SD%20error%2C%20in%20photo%20time%20lapse%20mode%2C%20after%2026%20photos.%20video%20time%20lapse%20-%20after%2028%20photos.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EOn%20the%20other%20hand%2C%20I%20can%20shoot%204k%20video%20without%20any%20problem.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThe%20same%20SD%20card%20works%20fine%20on%20my%20Hero%205%20Black.%20I%20tried%20another%20SD%20card%20(Same%20type)%2C%20and%20it%20has%20the%20same%20problem.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThe%20camera%20is%20not%20under%20warrenty%20anymore.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20tried%20to%20update%20the%20camera%20manually%20and%20via%20Quik%20several%20times%2C%20and%20it%20ran%20without%20any%20problem.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAny%20advice%20what%20can%20I%20do%3F%20Feeling%20frustrated...%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EKind%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ERoy%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-40088%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO4%20Silver%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-40089%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20SD%20error%20after%2028%20pictures%20of%20photo%20%26amp%3B%20video%20time%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-40089%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ETry%20a%20manual%20update.%3CBR%20%2F%3EFirst%20format%20the%20SD%20card%20in%20your%20computer%3CBR%20%2F%3EDownload%20the%20manual%20update%20(you'll%20have%20to%20change%20the%20camera%20from%20Hero5%20Black%20to%20your%20Hero4%20with%20the%20drop%20down%20on%20the%20top%20right%20of%20the%20Update%20web%20page%3CBR%20%2F%3EOnce%20completed%2C%20try%20your%20camera%20again%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-40090%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20SD%20error%20after%2028%20pictures%20of%20photo%20%26amp%3B%20video%20time%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-40090%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%26nbsp%3Bdanielr15%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CSPAN%20class%3D%22%22%3EI%20already%20tried%20a%20manual%20update%20with%20the%20steps%20you%20mentioned.%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CSPAN%20class%3D%22%22%3EStill%20the%20same%20error.%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-40092%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20SD%20error%20after%2028%20pictures%20of%20photo%20%26amp%3B%20video%20time%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-40092%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EBummer.%20Well%2C%20other%20than%20trying%20a%20different%20card%20(even%20though%20it%20works%20in%20the%20Hero5)%2C%20there%20isn't%20much%20more%20you%20can%20do.%20I%20personally%20don't%20use%20SanDisk%20because%20I've%20had%20issues%20such%20as%20you%20are%20describing%2C%20but%20some%20people%20swear%20by%20them.%20Unless%20you%20might%20have%20another%20use%20for%20the%20card%20if%20it%20doesn't%20work%2C%20I%20can't%20really%20suggest%20buying%20a%20new%20one%20in%20case%20it%20doesn't%20work.%20If%20you%20can%2C%20borrow%20or%20consider%20buying%20a%20Samsung%20Pro%20UHS-1%20(UHS-3%20work%20too).%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-40890%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20SD%20error%20after%2028%20pictures%20of%20photo%20%26amp%3B%20video%20time%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-40890%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EUpdate%3A%3CBR%20%2F%3EI%20tried%20more%20SD%20cards%2C%20all%20of%20them%20are%20resulting%20in%20SD%20error...%3CBR%20%2F%3EThis%20happend%20after%20I%20updated%20to%205.0.%3CBR%20%2F%3EI%20did%20another%20manual%20update...%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EHope%20that%20someone%20can%20help%20me.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-44170%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20SD%20error%20after%2028%20pictures%20of%20photo%20%26amp%3B%20video%20time%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-44170%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EWhich%20SD%20cards%20(make%20and%20model)%20are%20you%20using%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EJeff%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Hiker
Posts: 8

Re: SD error after 28 pictures of photo & video time lapse

I received Hero 5 Black, it works fine.

They did not had another Hero 4 Silver in stock.

Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: SD error after 28 pictures of photo & video time lapse

I having same problem with hero 4 silver, with sandisk ultra 32GB and 16gb, i want to try downgrade my hero 4 silver because It useless if can't make time lapse
Explorer
Posts: 11,210

Re: SD error after 28 pictures of photo & video time lapse

Don't use SanDisk Ultra. Perhaps worst possible card for GoPro cameras. If you can, try the camera with a different card. Preferably a recommended card.
Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: SD error after 28 pictures of photo & video time lapse

But before i update to 5.0 everything Just fine, the time lapse not working after i update the firmware, i try to reinstal manually for couple time but didn't work, i already find firmware 4.0 and want to reinstal with it, hope everything is fine...
Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: SD error after 28 pictures of photo & video time lapse

I already finished downgrade my hero 4 silver with firmware 03.01.36 and i can make time lapse photo again with my sandisk, so far nothing worse happen, i can pair with my removu and my go pro capture on my cell phone, i still running more test to know how It work, if something wrong again i try to upgrade to 4.0FW
Sightseer
Posts: 1

Re: SD error after 28 pictures of photo & video time lapse

I'm having the same issue for my time-lapse photo setting - in the mid-20s - I get SD ERR.  I will add that if I power the camera down and restart the time lapse - the camera will begin taking time lapse photos again - but then eventurally fail again in the mid-20s.  I believe there is an issue with the OS in v5.0.  None of the other features seem to be affected as previously posted.  Video.  Camera. Playback. Wi-fi. - all fine.  I will also mention that if you use a superfast timelapse setting - like 0.5 seconds - you can take hundreds of pictures - but it eventually errors out, too - leading me to think it's a 'time' thing rather than a 'picture count' thing.  I'm using the same model SanDisk cards - 16GB and 64GB - it happens to me regardless of the card or how I format it (either onboard the camera or manually).  I called and spent an hour and half with the GoPro service person yesterday and she sent me something she found on YouTube to downgrade to a prior version (v1.0) - despite the messages you hear while on hold about 'most issues being resolved with the latest' firmware.  This didn't resolve my issue (thus why I'm making this post), either.  I found another site that would allow you dowloand v4.0 and I tried that - same issue.  I've tried this now on 4 different cards now, including a brand new card and now I'm in a big circle of what to try next.  Would be grateful if there is a solution that is something other than 'buy a new camera' as that seems to be the message I'm getting.

Highlighted
Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: SD error after 28 pictures of photo & video time lapse

I already fix my hero 4 silver problem, and now i can make time lapse photo with my sandisk ultra 16GB, i try to downgrade to 1.02.00 FW, after instaled i run time lapse photo until 30 frame, and i upgrade to 2.00.00 FW and do the same thing for another FW, after i finish instaled 05.00 FW, now my hero 4 silver working fine with any sd card compatible