Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see if it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Tourist

SD Card Error

[ New ]

I keep getting SD Card Error with my GoOro Hero 9 (firmware v1.5) on my new Sandisk Extreme 256GB micro SD card. It has been formatted in-camera on a number of occasions, had its contacts cleaned and always has over 200GB free. Up until just now, the camera has managed to repair the files that mysteriously become unreadable even after I've reviewed them, but just now it lost everything I had on it. I am furious and deflated. I have had 4 different GoPros in the past, including the 8, and I have NEVER had this issue. I am a professional Video Journalist and now cannot trust my camera. If anybody tells me it’s the card, it’s the space, it’s the formatting, it's the dust, please don’t. I have also tested the micro SD card on other (4K) video cameras and it works fine. I can't roll back the firmware, so I suppose I'll have to return the camera, unless anyone has a fix.

Hiker

Re: SD Card Error

[ New ]

Use a different card?  It seems churlish to throw away an expensive camera because a cheap SD Card causes problems. 

Tourist

[ New ]

It's not a cheap card - what gave you that idea? The Sandisk Extreme is GoPro's number one recommended card for use in this camera.

Tourist

[ New ]

Bonsoir 

Pareil , cela vient de m'arriver aujourd'huis et je suis degoutée car c'est leur carte SD qui m'on fourni avec la GOPRO 9 !!! J'ai les nerfs car j'ai que des problemes depuis que je l'ai (5jours) .

J'esperes qu'ils vont resoudres ces problemes.

Bon courage .

Tourist

[ New ]
Thank you, it has also happened with the card that came with my camera! This card is the same as my 256gb version. In my experience, you’re very unlucky to have two consecutive good Sandisk cards fail; much more likely is that which they have in common; the camera.
Tourist

[ New ]