Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Tourist

Issues with HDMI image quality using Media Mod with GoPro Hero9 Black

[ New ]

It took a few weeks for the Meda Mod to come back into stock, but I've been using mine with my new Hero9 Black for a couple of months now. I'm using this combo to proviide webcam and live streaming via HDMI (into an Elgato HD60 S+ or a Black Magic ATEM Mini Pro).

What I've noticed is that the top of the image looks like what might be described as a one dimentional horizontal vignette - i.e. the top 5% of the screen gradually gets darker towards the edge.

The problem is also visible when the Media Mod is plugged directly into my BenQ PD3200U monitor (see attachment). Note, there are a few pixels in the top right of the image that do not have this issue.

This issue does not appear video recorded on the camera, or in any photos. Neither does it appear in the rather limited webcam driver (that is available for Hero8 and Hero9 cameras).

I reported this to GoPro support nack on November 17th, but have hear nothing since uploading a set of images illustrating the problem. I was holding fire on going public, but I think GoPro needs a nudge to take this issue seriously.

If you have the same config, I'd be interested to know.

IMG_4222.jpg
Nomad

Re: Issues with HDMI image quality using Media Mod with GoPro Hero9 Black

[ New ]

This is so you can see the icons when they are displayed.  Otherwise you could film a bright white background (sky, snow, painted wall) and not be able to see any icon information as those icons are also white.  Putting in a darker transition aids with being able to see the icons.

Tourist

[ New ]

@irishmanpdx wrote: