Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Reply
Hiker
Posts: 40

Re: Hero6 Black 5 GHz wi-fi not working

@aragon1006 I'm guessing you didn't bother to read through the thread then... Again, this issue has NOTHING TO DO WITH THE APP OR ANDROID. It is due to the gopro 6 firmware using a 5ghz wifi channel that is illegal to use outside of the USA.

 

It is by pure fluke that any phone even picks up this channel outside of the USA and any user doing so without first purchasing a license from their local government is BREAKING THE LAW.

 

"That being said we are still committed to work on the overall improvement of our products and applications." is laughable at this point, this thread and issue is nearly a year old and you've done nothing about it, the only thing you're 'committed too' is ignoring or blaming your customers for issues. 

Sightseer
Posts: 1

Re: Hero6 Black 5 GHz wi-fi not working

Hello everyone, I write from Italy and I am aware only now of this problem and I am disconcerted by what I read in this thread.

 

I confirm that I have the problem with a new GoPro Hero 6 (firmware update v02.01, February 27, 2018) and 2 smartphones (Google / LG Nexus 5 and Asus ZenFone 2, with Android 6.0.1 on both).

 

It's really incredible that this problem is about a year old and yet GoPro has not released an update to solve it!

 

You can not advertise a feature (and get it paid!) in some countries if you know that for sure in those countries it will not work!

 

Incredible, no words

Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: Hero6 Black 5 GHz wi-fi not working

Yes, i try with Huawei P20 Pro, Mate 10 and Samsung S8 5GHz not working, only 2.4Ghz all ok. Try Xiaomi 4k camera working perfect 5Ghz. 

 

p.s. I tried 2 different Gopro6 cameras and nothing... works only 2.4Ghz, 5Ghz not connect (not found wifi 5Ghz)

Tourist
Posts: 2

Re: Hero6 Black 5 GHz wi-fi not working

Im not speake english - sorry.
Im old and sullen :-)

For GoPro.
Are you really so arrogant, incompetent or so in financial depression that you can not fix a trivial problem? In this is China, Russia and others better than you? And it's just because of your financial policy and arrogance towards clients! Being the best is great, but preserving this privilege must be a mission and honesty for business. Then these companies become legends. You will only be the one who is dear and temporarily the best and forgotten. ... but wealthy individuals. Congratulation.

...(GoPro studio (stopped), Quik (60second) and next)

Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: Hero6 Black 5 GHz wi-fi not working

Guys, I finded way to fix this issue with 5ghz.

Phone is Sony xz2 compact, and in Russia in 5ghz also didn't worked - Android automatically blocking all 5ghz channels.

But! I installed Fake GPS app, started it like I'm in usa (+ did what was wtote at screen notice in app), then switched on GPS at phone, changed at my gopro to 5ghz settings and then started gopro app. Camera finded! All work.
Then I stopped fake GPS, and using real GPS - all works forever. Camera and phone still works after reboot at 5ghz. No need starting fake GPS anytime.

I used the same fixing for opening FCC mode 5ghz channels for my Mavic Air drone.

Peace to all!))))
Hiker
Posts: 8

Re: Hero6 Black 5 GHz wi-fi not working

Hello Everyone.

 

So I contacted gopro support today to check if something is going on with this issue.

 

They just dont care about their users.
"Sell and forget" business type.

 

Here is the chat transcript:

Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:02:26 PM): My name is Robert Jake. How can I help you?
Me (8/8/2018, 6:02:31 PM): hi
Me (8/8/2018, 6:02:53 PM): have a question regarding 5ghz channel 161 on gopro 6 hero
Me (8/8/2018, 6:03:11 PM): this channel is not allowed for public usage in Europe
Me (8/8/2018, 6:03:27 PM): and my samsung s7 cannot connect to gopro6 using 5ghz wifi band
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:03:28 PM): Hello Valdimir.
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:03:39 PM): No worries, I can help you out.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:04:25 PM): so will there be some changes in gopro6 firmware to allow changing 5ghz band channel?
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:04:45 PM): Let me check on it.
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:06:35 PM): May I kn ow what is happening, when you are  changing 5GHZ?
Me (8/8/2018, 6:06:56 PM): changing where?
Me (8/8/2018, 6:07:24 PM): i cannot change it on gopro6
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:08:02 PM): Oh I see.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:08:13 PM): let me write again
Me (8/8/2018, 6:09:24 PM): gopro6 has 5ghz wifi band and uses channel 161 that is allowed to be used only in USA. I am in EU and my samsung s7 phone cannot use channel 161. so i have to use 2.4 wifi band to transfer files from camera
Me (8/8/2018, 6:09:28 PM): and that is very slow
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:09:34 PM): Where are you located?
Me (8/8/2018, 6:09:39 PM): Serbia
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:09:57 PM): Let me look into that for you, it may take me a few minutes.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:10:28 PM): what EU owners of gopro need is option in gopro6 to change wifi channel for 5ghz band
Me (8/8/2018, 6:10:43 PM): will that be possible on gopro and when?
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:10:59 PM): One  moment please.
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:20:52 PM): May I ask, what countrt is serbia near?
Me (8/8/2018, 6:21:16 PM): Hungary, Italy, Greece
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:22:21 PM): I can check that the countries that was near serbia is not yet accessible with Chanel 161
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:22:30 PM): https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/release-independent/junos/topics/reference/specification...
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:22:49 PM): Here is the link for the channel that is available on the area?
Me (8/8/2018, 6:23:47 PM): channel 161 is not allowed on mobile phones sold in europe
Me (8/8/2018, 6:24:02 PM): and we cannot change channel on gopro camera
Me (8/8/2018, 6:24:26 PM): why would gopro use channel that is allowed for public use only in USA?!?!?!
Me (8/8/2018, 6:24:45 PM): and not have an option in camera to change that channel
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:24:54 PM): Let me look into that for you, it may take me a few minutes.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:26:55 PM): https://community.gopro.com/t5/Cameras/5Ghz-WiFi-Channel-161-unusable-in-Europe/td-p/147400
Me (8/8/2018, 6:27:06 PM): link explains it all
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:28:48 PM): I totally understand it. however until the country that you has a ability to use the 5GHZ wifi band, then it can be use for changing it.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:28:59 PM): https://community.gopro.com/t5/Cameras/Hero6-Black-5-GHz-wi-fi-not-working/td-p/66116/page/15
Me (8/8/2018, 6:29:02 PM): and this one
Me (8/8/2018, 6:29:46 PM): :) cmon gopro you are international company with international users. not just USA persons use this camera
Me (8/8/2018, 6:30:01 PM): why not using channel that is allowed in entire world
Me (8/8/2018, 6:30:20 PM): there are many channels on 5ghz band that are allowed
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:30:26 PM): One moment please.
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:37:35 PM): That for waiting, we are aware of the issue on the country that do not have the access on the channel 161, however we are on it now, as other customers are having the same issues,  I would suggest that we will need to wait for the  channel  161 to be available on your country.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:38:27 PM): that will never happen.  
Me (8/8/2018, 6:38:42 PM): i spent 450$ on a camera that works just in USA :)
Me (8/8/2018, 6:39:00 PM): none of countries in Europe allow channel 161
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:39:17 PM): Do not worry, Vladimir, we are working on it now.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:39:38 PM): this issue was raised last year
Me (8/8/2018, 6:39:49 PM): by many gopro6 users in europe
Me (8/8/2018, 6:39:57 PM): and still no news from gopro
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:40:14 PM): We are aware of it, but we still checking for this issue.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:40:27 PM): transfering 4k videos over 2.4 wifi band is just impossible
Me (8/8/2018, 6:41:02 PM): can you give me an email of someone that i can contact and ask for more details about this issue?
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:42:10 PM): One moment please.
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:44:57 PM): Thank you for waiting.
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:47:44 PM): What I can do is to send this to our developer so that they can check and what they can do.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:47:55 PM): :)
Me (8/8/2018, 6:48:06 PM): lets do that
Me (8/8/2018, 6:48:37 PM): i will wait one week for reply and if no arrive will return gopro6 and ask for refund
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:49:09 PM): I will check on it.
Me (8/8/2018, 6:49:20 PM): bye
Robert Jake (8/8/2018, 6:49:39 PM): Alright then. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to GoPro today, it was a pleasure chatting with you. We're always here if you need help. Enjoy the rest of the day. Bye for now. Stay awesome and be a HERO!

Tourist
Posts: 4

Re: Hero6 Black 5 GHz wi-fi not working

Just try how I wrote - with fake GPS app.
Hiker
Posts: 8

Re: Hero6 Black 5 GHz wi-fi not working

I did and it did not work.

To enable channel 161 on my Samsung S7 I would have to root it.