Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1314%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHero4%20Silver%20hangs%20on%20import%3A%20%22Searching%20HERO4%20Silver%22%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1314%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI've%20had%20no%20issues%20importing%20videos%20from%20my%20Hero4%20silver%20until%20today.%20I%20am%20on%20a%20Mac%20running%20El%20Capitan%20and%20running%20the%20latest%202.5.7%20GoPro%20Studio%20software.%20When%20I%20connect%20the%20camera%20the%20machine%20detects%20the%20camera%20and%20instead%20of%20immediately%20importing%20the%20files%20it%20just%20says%20%22Searching%20Hero4%20Silver%22%20and%20does%20nothing.%20If%20I%20unplug%20the%20camera%20the%20message%20disappears.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAny%20thoughts%3F%20A%20google%20search%20turns%20exactly%20ZERO%20results%20for%20the%20phrase%20%22Searching%20Hero4%20Silver%22%20so%20I%20must%20be%20the%20first!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-1314%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO4%20Silver%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1406%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero4%20Silver%20hangs%20on%20import%3A%20%22Searching%20HERO4%20Silver%22%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1406%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHey%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F788%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40jeremye47667%3C%2FA%3E%2C%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EHave%20you%20ever%20been%20able%20to%20import%20before%3F%20Do%20you%20have%20the%20latest%20firmware%20(v.03.00)%20on%20your%20camera%3F%20If%20not%2C%20you%20can%20find%20it%20%3CA%20href%3D%22http%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fupdate%2Fhero4%22%20target%3D%22_self%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3EHERE%3C%2FA%3E.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ENext%2C%20try%20opening%20up%20your%20GoPro%20Studio%20Importer%20Preferences.%20It%20should%20be%20found%20at%20the%20top%20of%20your%20computer%20screen%20near%20the%20clock%20and%20Bluetooth%20symbol%2C%20etc.%20There%20should%20be%20a%20black%20square%20that%20has%20the%20GoPro%20logo%20inside.%20Click%20on%20that%20and%20choose%20GoPro%20Studio%20Importer%20Preferences.%20Then%2C%20find%20the%20file%20path%20for%20where%20the%20content%20is%20being%20saved%20to.%20It%20will%20be%20under%20%22Import%20media%20from%20GoPro%20cameras%20to%20this%20location%3A%22%20Where%20are%20the%20files%20getting%20saved%20to%20currently%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ENext%2C%20make%20a%20simple%20folder%20(JEREMY%20GOPRO%20or%20TEST%20or%20something%20like%20that)%20and%20change%20the%20file%20path%20to%20save%20there%20instead.%20Then%20does%20it%20work%3F%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3EAnd%20lastly%2C%20how%20much%20space%20do%20you%20have%20available%20on%20your%20computer's%20internal%20hard%20drive%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%3CP%3ELet%20us%20know%20how%20it%20goes!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Hero4 Silver hangs on import: "Searching HERO4 Silver"

Good news for al the mac users. After installing the 10.11.2 update and formatting my sd card its working again. Thanks GoPro for active participating in this discussion.
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Hero4 Silver hangs on import: "Searching HERO4 Silver"

By the way, running on a half 2007 (mind you) imac and still going strong. I love mac.
GoPro
Posts: 1,755

Re: Hero4 Silver hangs on import: "Searching HERO4 Silver"

[ Edited ]

@Anonymous,

 

Thanks for the feedback! That's great news to hear that the footage is being imported properly to your computer again. 

 

I just wanted to give another quick suggestion. We've had at least one report in which a user was able to get their Mac to import the GoPro footage through GoPro Studio by making sure that DropBox was not configured to automatically import. If you have DropBox installed on your computer, you can right-click the DropBox icon, choose Preferences, and uncheck the section that says "Enable camera uploads for:"

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 11.11.42 AM.png

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 11.09.07 AM.png

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 11.09.59 AM.png

 

If this helps any other users, please let us know!

 

Best, 

Matt B.
GoPro Support Hub Moderator

 

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Hero4 Silver hangs on import: "Searching HERO4 Silver"

Hi,

 

Running El Capitan 10.11.1 and also running Dropbix Auto Import.

I just switched off Auto Import in Drop Box without any luck. The importer is still in "Searching HERO 4 Black" .

Having read this whole thread, I will upgrade to 10.11.2 .. 

 

Keep you posted !

 

Remco

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Hero4 Silver hangs on import: "Searching HERO4 Silver"

Update:

 

- GoPro Hero 4 Black

- OS X El Capitan upgraded from 10.11.1 to 10.11.2

 

I just installed 10.11.2 of OS X El Capitan. This took app 30 mins on my MacBook Air (app. 2012/2013)

 

After I reconnected the camera I noticed that the import-process did not start automatically as it used to do.The camera switched to charging-mode (red led on GoPro).

I switched on the GoPro using the front “Mode” button. The GoPro importer started to import the files successfully.

 

Upgrading from 10.11.1 to 10.11.2 solved my issue.

 

Kind regards, 

 

Remco

 

 

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Hero4 Silver hangs on import: "Searching HERO4 Silver"

Hi, I read through this whole thread, as I am experiencing problems with the El Capitan 10.11.3 update. Any news of a fix for this version?

 

Thanks,

Katherine

GoPro
Posts: 1,755

Re: Hero4 Silver hangs on import: "Searching HERO4 Silver"

@Anonymous

 

I just tried out importing from a HERO4 Silver to El Capitan 10.11.3 and it worked without any problem. Have any other users run into issues with the latest version of El Capitan?

 

Did you see any sort of error message when you tried to import and were unable to? Also, were you able to import using the application Image Capture that is pre-installed on the Mac? 

 

For the moment, I recommend using an SD card adapter to plug your card directly into the computer and import your files to your computer that way. Once you've done that, try reformatting the SD card either in the computer or using the Delete function of the camera. Then take 3 or 4 test videos and try importing once again. 

 

Best, 

Matt B.
GoPro Support Hub Moderator

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Hero4 Silver hangs on import: "Searching HERO4 Silver"

Hi all,

 

HERO4 Silver to El Capitan 10.11.4 won't import.

 

Plug in camer with USB adapter, GoPro Desktop App launches and sits on "Initializing Import" for a few minutes before I get the attached error message.

 

I used to be able to import using Mac Photos, which can still see the videos on the camera, but that fails too now - "This operation couldn't be completed..."

 

Can view and play videos on SD card in mobile app, but Mac won't detect the camera and can't view them via USB.

 

Any ideas?

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 3.07.49 PM.png