Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Reply
Nomad
Posts: 115

Hero 9 Date & Time defaults to 1/1/2016

[ New ]

It appears that the old date and time bug from the last camera is rearing its ugly head in the Hero 9. I have three Hero 9 cameras, and this happens on one of them. I set the date / time and then power off. The battery is fully charged. When I try to turn it on, SOMETIMES it is frozen and won't turn on. I hold the power button for about 30 seconds, then it beeps and comes to life... BUT.... then it has the wrong date and time. Keeps showing Jan. 1, 2016. This makes it extremely difficult in my editing process. GoPro.... can you fix this with a firmware update? I REALLY DO NOT want to RMA my brand new camera only to wait months for a replacement. Other than this issue, I LOVE the Hero 9. Oh... and I REALLY need that new remote control too. Is there an ETA for that? 

gopro .jpg

GoPro
Posts: 18,459

Re: Hero 9 Date & Time defaults to 1/1/2016

[ New ]

Hello, @tj311. How much time passes between powering the camera off and using the camera again? Does the camera get to a point when its battery is drained or is without a battery in? 

Nomad
Posts: 115

Re: Hero 9 Date & Time defaults to 1/1/2016

[ New ]
It's a few hours of passed time. No, the battery isn't drained. It's still full. I try pulling the battery out, and back in but it still won't turn on. So then I told the power button down until it resets. Then once it's on, that's when the time and date are wrong. Still plenty of charge in the battery. Doesn't happen every time. Random.
Sightseer
Posts: 3

Re: Hero 9 Date & Time defaults to 1/1/2016

[ New ]
Yup, happening on my 8 still, just realized this has been happening for some time...
Hiker
Posts: 19

Re: Hero 9 Date &Time Stamp; Time defaults to 1/1/2016

[ New ]

Hi Im having same forking Problem ..why is it setting video date to 1 january 2016 .... well before the Hero 9 camera was even invented....

 

SORT YA **bleep**    GOPRO .... ya be losing customers who will by aftermarket cameras that work just as well but are only a fraction of the price.


@tj311 さんは書きました:

It appears that the old date and time bug from the last camera is rearing its ugly head in the Hero 9. I have three Hero 9 cameras, and this happens on one of them. I set the date / time and then power off. The battery is fully charged. When I try to turn it on, SOMETIMES it is frozen and won't turn on. I hold the power button for about 30 seconds, then it beeps and comes to life... BUT.... then it has the wrong date and time. Keeps showing Jan. 1, 2016. This makes it extremely difficult in my editing process. GoPro.... can you fix this with a firmware update? I REALLY DO NOT want to RMA my brand new camera only to wait months for a replacement. Other than this issue, I LOVE the Hero 9. Oh... and I REALLY need that new remote control too. Is there an ETA for that? 

gopro .jpg


 

GoPro
Posts: 24,646

Re: Hero 9 Date &Time Stamp; Time defaults to 1/1/2016

[ New ]

Hi @wekamouse

 

Date and time reset usually happens when the camera has not been used for some time or if the battery has been removed.

 

Thanks!

Ej

Tourist
Posts: 6

Re: Hero 9 Date &Time Stamp; Time defaults to 1/1/2016

[ New ]

on my hero 9... a I set time and date...the time runs as the the camera is on.... after I turn camera off and STRAIGHT AWAY again ON....
the date and time just jumps back on value it was first set.

EVERY on and off, even if in 30 seconds, or in 10 hours... just gives same result... resetting time to first sett time value....
and therefore NO time sceduale recording can not work

Highlighted
Tourist
Posts: 2

Re: Hero 9 Date & Time defaults to 1/1/2016

[ New ]

Aren't you using QuikCapture?

 

I'm getting this 1/1/2016 date/time problem on my GoPro 8 and 9.

It happened so far only when I recorded video using QuikCapture.

If I use a remote to turn GoPro on and start recording video from the remote control, th problem hasn't happened.