Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-314523%22%20slang%3D%22fr-FR%22%3EHero%207%3A%20can%20not%20access%204K60%202.7K120%20or%201080p240%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-314523%22%20slang%3D%22fr-FR%22%3EGood%20evening%2C%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20I%20bought%20a%207%20black%20and%20immediately%20upgraded%20to%20firmware%201.70%20as%20suggested%20by%20the%20iphone%20App%3A%20I%20c%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3Ean%20not%20see%20in%20the%20video%20mode%20the%20following%20resolutions%3A%204K60%3A%20max%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20fps%20displayed%20in%20menu%20is%20502.7K120%3A%20m%3CBR%20%2F%3Eax%20fps%20displayed%20in%20menu%20is%201001080p240%3A%20%3CBR%20%2F%3Emax%20fps%20is%20displayed%20in%20menu%20is%20200I%20am%20in%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%2016%3A%209%2C%20stabilization%20and%20protune%20activated%2C%20regular%20video%20(not%20loop%20mode)%20Any%20cl%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3Eue%20we%20have%20a%20conflicting%20setting%20I%20may%20have%3F%20%3CBR%20%2F%3EIs%20it%20a%20firmware%20restriction%3F%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20thanks%20in%20advance%20for%20advise%20%2F%20h%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EintBest%20looks%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-314523%22%20slang%3D%22fr-FR%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO7%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-315511%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%3A%20cannot%20access%204K60%202.7K120%20or%201080p240%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-315511%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F93811%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40f5jsd%3C%2FA%3E%2C%20it's%20such%20a%20cool%20thing%20knowing%20that%20you%20are%20a%20part%20of%20the%20growing%20GoPro%20family!%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ESounds%20like%20you%20might%20have%20set%20your%20HERO7%20Black%20camera's%20Video%20Format%20to%20PAL.%20To%20change%20this%2C%20go%20to%20Preferences%26nbsp%3Band%20scroll%20down%20to%20Regional%2C%20then%20tap%20on%20Video%20Format%20and%20set%20it%20to%20%22NTSC.%22%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EIn%20addition%2C%20here's%20a%20link%20to%20the%20full%20list%20of%20resolution%20settings%20available%20on%20HERO7%20cameras%3A%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fblock%2Fvideo-resolutions-for-hero7-cameras%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fblock%2Fvideo-resolutions-for-hero7-cameras%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThis%20will%20also%20help%20you%20get%20started%20with%20the%20awesome%20HERO7%20Black%20camera%3A%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fblock%2Fhow-to-get-the-best-shot-with-your-hero7-black%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fblock%2Fhow-to-get-the-best-shot-with-your-hero7-black%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHopefully%20this%20helps.%26nbsp%3BStay%20stoked%2C%20and%20have%20fun%20capturing%20moments%20using%20your%20GoPro!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EAnn%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-315627%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%3A%20cannot%20access%204K60%202.7K120%20or%201080p240%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-315627%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F93811%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40f5jsd%3C%2FA%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ehi%20all%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Eto%20switch%20PAL%2FNTSC%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EPreferences%26nbsp%3B%26gt%3B%20Regional%26gt%3B%20VideoFormat%20%3D%20PAL%2FNTSC%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Estill%2C%20if%20you%20are%20in%20a%20region%20where%20utility%20frequency%20is%2050Hz%2C%20use%20PAL%20mostly%20if%20you%20intend%20to%20film%20in%20artificial%20light.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ethis%20to%20avoid%20flickering%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Eenjoy%20your%20camera!%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Erobert%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-315674%22%20slang%3D%22fr-FR%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%3A%20can%20not%20access%204K60%202.7K120%20or%201080p240%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-315674%22%20slang%3D%22fr-FR%22%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you%20Ann%20%26amp%3B%20Robert%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThis%20fixed%20my%20problem.%20I%20really%20did%20not%20pay%20attention%20to%20the%20PAL%20frame%20rate%20limitations%20in%20the%20manual.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20indeed%20incorrectly%20set%20it%20to%20PAL.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBest%20regards%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-315896%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%3A%20cannot%20access%204K60%202.7K120%20or%201080p240%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-315896%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThat%20sounds%20great%2C%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F93811%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40f5jsd%3C%2FA%3E!%20Feel%20free%20to%20post%20back%20if%20you%20have%20any%20further%20questions.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Tourist
Posts: 2
Accepted Solution

Hero 7: cannot access 4K60 2.7K120 or 1080p240

Good evening,
I bought a hero 7 black and immediately upgraded to firmware 1.70 as suggested by the iphone App.

I cannot see in the video modes menu the following resolutions :
4K60 : max fps displayed in menu is 50
2.7K120: max fps displayed in menu is 100
1080p240: max fps displayed in menu is 200

I am in 16:9, stabilization and protune activated, regular video (not loop mode)

Any clue on a conflicting setting I may have?
Is it a firmware restriction?

thanks in advance for advise/hint

Best regards

Accepted Solutions
GoPro
Posts: 2,442

Re: Hero 7: cannot access 4K60 2.7K120 or 1080p240

Hi @f5jsd, it's such a cool thing knowing that you are a part of the growing GoPro family! 

 

Sounds like you might have set your HERO7 Black camera's Video Format to PAL. To change this, go to Preferences and scroll down to Regional, then tap on Video Format and set it to "NTSC."

 

In addition, here's a link to the full list of resolution settings available on HERO7 cameras: https://gopro.com/help/articles/block/video-resolutions-for-hero7-cameras

 

This will also help you get started with the awesome HERO7 Black camera: https://gopro.com/help/articles/block/how-to-get-the-best-shot-with-your-hero7-black

 

Hopefully this helps. Stay stoked, and have fun capturing moments using your GoPro!

 

Ann

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Nomad
Posts: 572

Re: Hero 7: cannot access 4K60 2.7K120 or 1080p240

@f5jsd 

hi all,

to switch PAL/NTSC

Preferences > Regional> VideoFormat = PAL/NTSC

 

still, if you are in a region where utility frequency is 50Hz, use PAL mostly if you intend to film in artificial light.

this to avoid flickering

 

enjoy your camera!

robert

 

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
GoPro
Posts: 2,442

Re: Hero 7: cannot access 4K60 2.7K120 or 1080p240

Hi @f5jsd, it's such a cool thing knowing that you are a part of the growing GoPro family! 

 

Sounds like you might have set your HERO7 Black camera's Video Format to PAL. To change this, go to Preferences and scroll down to Regional, then tap on Video Format and set it to "NTSC."

 

In addition, here's a link to the full list of resolution settings available on HERO7 cameras: https://gopro.com/help/articles/block/video-resolutions-for-hero7-cameras

 

This will also help you get started with the awesome HERO7 Black camera: https://gopro.com/help/articles/block/how-to-get-the-best-shot-with-your-hero7-black

 

Hopefully this helps. Stay stoked, and have fun capturing moments using your GoPro!

 

Ann

Highlighted
Nomad
Posts: 572

Re: Hero 7: cannot access 4K60 2.7K120 or 1080p240

@f5jsd 

hi all,

to switch PAL/NTSC

Preferences > Regional> VideoFormat = PAL/NTSC

 

still, if you are in a region where utility frequency is 50Hz, use PAL mostly if you intend to film in artificial light.

this to avoid flickering

 

enjoy your camera!

robert

 

 

Tourist
Posts: 2

Re: Hero 7: cannot access 4K60 2.7K120 or 1080p240

Thank you Ann & Robert,

 

This fixed my problem. I indeed did not pay attention to the PAL frame rate limitations in the manual.

I indeed incorrectly set it to PAL.

 

Best regards

GoPro
Posts: 2,442

Re: Hero 7: cannot access 4K60 2.7K120 or 1080p240

That sounds great, @f5jsd! Feel free to post back if you have any further questions.