Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241076%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241076%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EJust%20got%20my%20Hero%207%20Black%20and%20was%20unable%20to%20get%20it%20connect%20to%20my%20phone%20using%205Ghz%2C%20only%20on%202.5Ghz%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAfter%20searching%20through%20forums%20discovered%20that%20it's%20an%20old%20issue%20going%20back%20to%20the%20Hero%206%20Black%2C%20and%20is%20caused%20by%20Hero%206%2F7%20transmitting%20on%20channel%20161%20which%20is%20illegal%20in%20Europe.%26nbsp%3B%20It%20is%20possible%20to%20buy%20licenses%20to%20use%20channel%20161%20in%20UK%2C%20but%20only%20for%26nbsp%3Bfixed%20wireless%20access%20(FWA)%20points%2C%20which%20obviously%20isnt%20a%20GoPro%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESo%20they%20havent%20fixed%20it%20for%20the%20new%20device%2C%20and%20doesnt%20look%20like%20they%20are%20likely%20to.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EDoes%20anyone%20know%20if%20possible%20to%20report%20them%20to%20OfCom%20or%20other%20regulator%3F%26nbsp%3B%20Might%20force%20them%20to%20actually%20do%20something%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cablefree.net%2Fwirelesstechnology%2Funlicensed-wireless-links%2Fusing-the-5ghz-band-in-the-uk%2F%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.cablefree.net%2Fwirelesstechnology%2Funlicensed-wireless-links%2Fusing-the-5ghz-band-in-the-uk%2F%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2FCameras%2FHero6-Black-5-GHz-wi-fi-not-working%2Ftd-p%2F66116%2Fpage%2F4%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2FCameras%2FHero6-Black-5-GHz-wi-fi-not-working%2Ftd-p%2F66116%2Fpage%2F4%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-241076%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO7%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241097%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241097%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Emine%20connects%20to%20my%20iPhone%205%20no%20problems%20on%205GHz%2C%20i'll%20try%20connecting%20to%20my%20Samsung%20A6%20tablet%20later%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EPS%20i'm%20in%20the%20UK%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241494%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241494%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EPOLAND%20-%20hmm%20i%20ve%20the%20same%20ONLY%202%2C4ghz.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241527%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241527%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EYou're%20phone%20does%20not%20sipport%20yhe%205GHz%20band.%20My%20previous%20gopro's%20also%20use%20the%20lower%20bandwith%20due%20to%20the%20fact%20that%20my%20phone%20does%20not%20have%20the%205ghz%20option.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBut%20why%20do%20you%20need%20that%3F%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241535%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241535%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EMy%20phone%20is%20a%20Google%20Pixel%202%20and%20certainly%20does%20work%20with%205GHz.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EProblem%20is%20GoPro%20is%20using%20a%205GHz%20channel%20that%20is%20not%20licensed%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-244072%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-244072%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EMy%20Galaxy%20Note%209%20work%20fine%20with%205Ghz%20on%20GoPro%20Hero%207%20(%20ITALY%20)%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-256835%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-256835%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ei%20have%20the%20same%20problem.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20can%20not%20understand%20why%20GoPro%20do%20not%20fix%20this%20issue.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIt%20is%20totally%20clear%20when%20you%20google%20a%20little%20bit.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAndroid%20Phones%20set%20the%20WLAN%20Frequencies%20depending%20on%20the%20country%20they%20are%20used.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThis%20is%20done%20either%20when%20you%20insert%20the%20SIM%20card%20or%20when%20you%20choose%20the%20region%20and%20language%20in%20setup.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIn%20Europe%205GHZ%20Channels%20have%20spezial%20regulations%20(SRD%20(25%20mW))%20and%20the%20high%20channels%20are%20not%20used%20by%20Android.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E(See%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FList_of_WLAN_channels%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FList_of_WLAN_channels%3C%2FA%3E)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESo%20i%20can%20not%20use%205Ghz%20on%20most%20Android%20Phones%20in%20Europe%20and%20also%20other%20regions.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20can%20try%20to%20root%20my%20Android%20Phone%20and%20use%20XWIFIX%20or%20do%20other%20patches%2C%20but%20why%20should%20i%20do%20this%20if%20i%20buy%20a%20GoPro%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIf%20i%20buy%20a%20YI%20it%20will%20work%20out%20of%20the%20box.%20Are%20you%20kidding%20us%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20hope%20the%20Wlan%20ChipSet%20in%20the%20GoPro%20can%20be%20configuered%20to%20also%20use%20the%20lower%20channels.%20So%20please%20give%20us%20the%20ability%20to%20change%20the%20channel.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESome%20more%20infos%3A%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%5BGUIDE%5D%20WiFi%20Country%20Problem%20Solving%20for%20AOSP%2C%20MIUI%20%26amp%3B%20others%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fforum.xda-developers.com%2Fshowthread.php%3Ft%3D2368501%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fforum.xda-developers.com%2Fshowthread.php%3Ft%3D2368501%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ewi%20fi%20-%20WiFi%20Drops%20When%20SIM%20Inserted%20-%20Android%20Enthusiasts%20Stack%20...%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fandroid.stackexchange.com%2Fquestions%2F87599%2Fwifi-drops-when-sim-inserted%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fandroid.stackexchange.com%2Fquestions%2F87599%2Fwifi-drops-when-sim-inserted%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20love%20GoPro%20but%20i%20am%20thinking%20about%20returning%20my%20GoPro7%20black%20and%20get%20the%20YI%204K.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBest%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EStefan%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-257112%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-257112%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F78773%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40stefanr7342%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHave%20you%20tried%20changing%20your%20language%20and%20region%20to%20US%3F%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EOr%20just%20try%20to%20use%20English%20US%20on%20Language%20settings%20and%20check%20if%20you%20will%20now%20be%20able%20to%20see%20that%20feature.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EIf%20issue%20persist%20try%20to%20install%20a%20new%20firmware%20manually.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ERegards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E-Jay%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-257132%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-257132%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F31687%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40graytree76514%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ethanks%20for%20your%20support.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAs%20far%20as%20i%20understood%20i%20have%20to%20change%20the%20setting%20on%20my%20Android%20to%20archieve%20this.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBut%20mostelikely%20the%20frequence%20setting%20is%20set%20when%20i%20insert%20the%20SIM%20card.%20So%20it%20is%20bound%20to%20germany.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIt%20is%20a%20design%20flaw%20that%20it%20is%20not%20possible%20to%20choose%20the%20channel%20of%20the%20gopro%205GHZ%20Wlan.%20161%20is%20not%20possible%20in%20Europe%20on%20android%20phones.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EYou%20can%20also%20check%20on%20the%20webside%20of%20the%20popular%20FritzBOX.%20They%20describe%20the%205GHZ%20Channels%20and%20problematics%20good.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThe%20maximum%20channel%20there%20is%20128.%20Because%20all%20Channels%20above%20might%20not%20work.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAlso%20i%20do%20not%20wnat%20to%20root%20my%20android%20phone%20to%20archieve%20the%20reception%20of%20the%20161%20Channel%20the%20GoPro%20use.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20think%20GoPro%20should%20find%20a%20solution%20here.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThanks%20and%20best%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EStefan%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-266793%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-266793%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EAnd%20heres%20the%205%20GHZ%20picture%20of%20the%20same%20clip%2C%20which%20is%20much%20faster.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-266792%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-266792%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20the%20same%20problem%20with%20my%20Hero%207%20Black%20and%20my%20iPhone%208%2FGoPro%20App!%3CBR%20%2F%3EIf%20i%20reset%20the%20connection%20settings%20in%20the%20Hero%207%2C%20it%20works%20with%205GHZ%20for%20the%20first%20session.%3CBR%20%2F%3EA%20day%20after%2C%20my%20iPhone%20is%20unable%20to%20connect%20with%20my%20Hero%207.%20I%20need%20to%20reset%20connection%20settings%20again%20to%20use%20the%205GHZ.%3CBR%20%2F%3EThats%20not%20a%20solution%20for%20me!%20I%20paid%20for%20a%20Hero%207%2C%20which%20includes%205GHZ!%20The%20same%20Clip%20takes%20with%202%2C4GHZ%20much%20more%20time%20instead%20of%20the%205GHZ.%20The%20same%20clip%20takes%20with%205GHZ%203%20minutes%2C%20while%20i%20takes%20nearly%2020%20minutes%20with%202%2C4GHZ.%20Another%20problem%20is%2C%20when%20the%20iphone%20locks%20in%20these%2020%20minutes%2C%20the%20transfer%20is%20aborted.%3CBR%20%2F%3ESupport%20cant%20handle%20it%2C%20they%20only%20say%20that%20i%20need%20to%20set%20it%20at%202%2C4GHZ.%20But%20that%20is%20no%20solution!%20Not%20for%20that%20price!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-273620%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-273620%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EWhat%20do%20you%20mean%20Jay%3F%3CBR%20%2F%3EIs%20there%20a%20firmware%20for%20Hero7%20Black%20that%20I%20can%20install%20manually%20that%20will%20fix%20this%20issue%3F%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EWhen%20you%20say%20change%20language%20and%20region%2C%20do%20you%20mean%20on%20the%20phone%3F%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-273682%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-273682%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EI%20had%20the%20same%20issue%20with%20my%20hero7%20Black%20and%20my%20OnePlus%205t.%20After%20updating%20to%20Android%209%20and%201.61%2C%20I%20can%20connect%20in%205ghz.%20I'm%20in%20Greece%20btw.%20I%20don't%20know%20which%20update%20did%20the%20job(Android%20or%20GoPro)%20but%20it%20works%20flawlessly%20now%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-288050%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-288050%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20guys%2CI%20am%20from%20Greece%20too%20and%20i%20face%20this%20issue%20for%20over%20a%20year%20with%20gopro%206%20and%20now%20gopro%207.%20As%20i%20wrote%20many%20times%2C%20all%20samsungs%20phones%26nbsp%3B%20i%20had%20worked%20fine%20whereas%20all%20others%20not.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBUT%20today%20i%20tried%20something%20and%20i%20would%20like%20your%20opinion.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20use%20my%20gopro%207%20black%20with%20a%20note%209%20and%20it%20works%20fine.%20I%20also%20have%20a%20LG%20V30%2C%20that%20i%20couldnt%20connect%20at%205ghz.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EToday%2C%20after%20the%20update%20of%20the%20app%20at%20playstore%2C%20i%20tried%20to%20connect%20my%20LG%20v30.%20It%20connected%20and%20i%20downloaded%20a%20video%20i%20had%20on%20my%20camera%20at%20as%20fast%20as%20it%20does%20when%20i%20use%20my%20note%209.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAfter%20that%20i%20tried%20to%20connect%20the%20app%20on%20the%20phone%20to%20my%20gopro%20account%2C%20and%20when%20i%20did%20it%20i%20lost%20connection...Since%20that%20time%20i%20cannot%20connect%20my%20go%20pro%20with%20my%20V30%20neither%20at%205ghz%20nor%20at%202.4ghz!%20I%20tried%20everything%20except%20for%20factory%20reset%20at%20the%20phone...(i%20did%20reset%20the%20camera%20several%20times%20and%20the%20app%20at%20V30.).%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAfter%202-3%20hours%20and%202%20batteries%20empty%2C%20i%20tried%20to%20go%20back%20to%20note%209%2C%20and%20i%20got%20a%20message%20that%20i%20should%20return%20to%202.4ghz%20to%20connect%20my%20phone...%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20reseted%20the%20camera%20and%20the%20app%20at%20my%20note%209%20one%20more%20time%2C%20and%20thank%20god%20it%20worked%20fine%20at%205ghz!!%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBUT%20at%20V30%20it%20doesnt%20work!!%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20dont%20know%20why%20but%20i%20believe%20it%20is%20a%20matter%20of%20go%20pro%20s%2Fw%20and%20maybe%20thats%20why%20gopro%20asks%20us%20to%20turn%20on%20locations%20on%20the%20phone%20to%20connect%20the%20camera..%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EPlease%20guys%20fix%20it!!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-288060%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-288060%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%40nikosb37711it%20sounds%20quite%20frustrating!%20As%20I%20said%20I%20haven't%20had%20any%20issues%20with%20my%20OnePlus%205t%2C%20but%20only%20after%20the%20Android%209%20Pie%20update.%20I'm%20downloading%20files%20almost%20daily%20with%20no%20issues.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EMaybe%20the%20LG%20v30%20is%20still%20on%20Oreo%20and%20the%20note%20is%20on%20Pie%3F%20I%20think%20something%20has%20changed%20with%20the%20new%20version%20of%20Android%20and%20it%20started%20to%20play%20nice%20with%20the%20GoPro%20app.%20The%205t%20on%20Oreo%20wouldn't%20even%20recognise%20the%205ghz%20at%20all.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-288073%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-288073%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EMichael%20they%20are%20both%20on%20Android%208.%20The%20strange%20thing%20is%20that%20v30%20was%20connected%20at%205ghz%20today%20at%20my%20first%20effort%20and%20after%20logging%20in%20on%20go%20pro%20account%20it%20couldn't%20connect%20again%20at%205%20or%202.4%20ghz...%3CBR%20%2F%3EThe%20other%20is%20that%20after%20that%20note%209%20could%20not%20connect%20but%20after%20a%20reset%20at%20cameras%20connections%20and%20go%20pro%20app%20at%20phone%20it%20connected%20again.%3CBR%20%2F%3EI%20really%20cannot%20understand%20what%20is%20happening%20here%20and%20the%20most%20strange%20is%20that%20v30%20can%20see%20the%20camera%20it%20pairs%20and%20then%20it%20cannot%20connect%20to%20use%20it.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

Hi @graytree76514,

 

thanks for your support. 

As far as i understood i have to change the setting on my Android to archieve this.

But mostelikely the frequence setting is set when i insert the SIM card. So it is bound to germany.

 

It is a design flaw that it is not possible to choose the channel of the gopro 5GHZ Wlan. 161 is not possible in Europe on android phones.

You can also check on the webside of the popular FritzBOX. They describe the 5GHZ Channels and problematics good.

The maximum channel there is 128. Because all Channels above might not work.

 

Also i do not wnat to root my android phone to archieve the reception of the 161 Channel the GoPro use.

I think GoPro should find a solution here.

 

Thanks and best regards,

Stefan

 

Sightseer
Posts: 2

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

[ Edited ]

I have the same problem with my Hero 7 Black and my iPhone 8/GoPro App!
If i reset the connection settings in the Hero 7, it works with 5GHZ for the first session.
A day after, my iPhone is unable to connect with my Hero 7. I need to reset connection settings again to use the 5GHZ.
Thats not a solution for me! I paid for a Hero 7, which includes 5GHZ! The same Clip takes with 2,4GHZ much more time instead of the 5GHZ. The same clip takes with 5GHZ 3 minutes, while i takes nearly 20 minutes with 2,4GHZ. Another problem is, when the iphone locks in these 20 minutes, the transfer is aborted.
Support cant handle it, they only say that i need to set it at 2,4GHZ. But that is no solution! Not for that price!

24 GHZ.PNG
Sightseer
Posts: 2

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

[ Edited ]

And heres the 5 GHZ picture of the same clip, which is much faster.

5 GHZ.PNG
Tourist
Posts: 8

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

What do you mean Jay?
Is there a firmware for Hero7 Black that I can install manually that will fix this issue?

When you say change language and region, do you mean on the phone?
Tourist
Posts: 2

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

I had the same issue with my hero7 Black and my OnePlus 5t. After updating to Android 9 and 1.61, I can connect in 5ghz. I'm in Greece btw. I don't know which update did the job(Android or GoPro) but it works flawlessly now
Hiker
Posts: 14

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

Hello guys,I am from Greece too and i face this issue for over a year with gopro 6 and now gopro 7. As i wrote many times, all samsungs phones  i had worked fine whereas all others not.

BUT today i tried something and i would like your opinion.

I use my gopro 7 black with a note 9 and it works fine. I also have a LG V30, that i couldnt connect at 5ghz.

Today, after the update of the app at playstore, i tried to connect my LG v30. It connected and i downloaded a video i had on my camera at as fast as it does when i use my note 9. 

After that i tried to connect the app on the phone to my gopro account, and when i did it i lost connection...Since that time i cannot connect my go pro with my V30 neither at 5ghz nor at 2.4ghz! I tried everything except for factory reset at the phone...(i did reset the camera several times and the app at V30.).

 

After 2-3 hours and 2 batteries empty, i tried to go back to note 9, and i got a message that i should return to 2.4ghz to connect my phone...

I reseted the camera and the app at my note 9 one more time, and thank god it worked fine at 5ghz!!

BUT at V30 it doesnt work!!

 

I dont know why but i believe it is a matter of go pro s/w and maybe thats why gopro asks us to turn on locations on the phone to connect the camera..

Please guys fix it!!

Tourist
Posts: 2

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

@nikosb37711it sounds quite frustrating! As I said I haven't had any issues with my OnePlus 5t, but only after the Android 9 Pie update. I'm downloading files almost daily with no issues.

Maybe the LG v30 is still on Oreo and the note is on Pie? I think something has changed with the new version of Android and it started to play nice with the GoPro app. The 5t on Oreo wouldn't even recognise the 5ghz at all.
Hiker
Posts: 14

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

Michael they are both on Android 8. The strange thing is that v30 was connected at 5ghz today at my first effort and after logging in on go pro account it couldn't connect again at 5 or 2.4 ghz...
The other is that after that note 9 could not connect but after a reset at cameras connections and go pro app at phone it connected again.
I really cannot understand what is happening here and the most strange is that v30 can see the camera it pairs and then it cannot connect to use it.