Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241076%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241076%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EJust%20got%20my%20Hero%207%20Black%20and%20was%20unable%20to%20get%20it%20connect%20to%20my%20phone%20using%205Ghz%2C%20only%20on%202.5Ghz%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAfter%20searching%20through%20forums%20discovered%20that%20it's%20an%20old%20issue%20going%20back%20to%20the%20Hero%206%20Black%2C%20and%20is%20caused%20by%20Hero%206%2F7%20transmitting%20on%20channel%20161%20which%20is%20illegal%20in%20Europe.%26nbsp%3B%20It%20is%20possible%20to%20buy%20licenses%20to%20use%20channel%20161%20in%20UK%2C%20but%20only%20for%26nbsp%3Bfixed%20wireless%20access%20(FWA)%20points%2C%20which%20obviously%20isnt%20a%20GoPro%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESo%20they%20havent%20fixed%20it%20for%20the%20new%20device%2C%20and%20doesnt%20look%20like%20they%20are%20likely%20to.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EDoes%20anyone%20know%20if%20possible%20to%20report%20them%20to%20OfCom%20or%20other%20regulator%3F%26nbsp%3B%20Might%20force%20them%20to%20actually%20do%20something%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cablefree.net%2Fwirelesstechnology%2Funlicensed-wireless-links%2Fusing-the-5ghz-band-in-the-uk%2F%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.cablefree.net%2Fwirelesstechnology%2Funlicensed-wireless-links%2Fusing-the-5ghz-band-in-the-uk%2F%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2FCameras%2FHero6-Black-5-GHz-wi-fi-not-working%2Ftd-p%2F66116%2Fpage%2F4%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2FCameras%2FHero6-Black-5-GHz-wi-fi-not-working%2Ftd-p%2F66116%2Fpage%2F4%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-241076%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO7%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241097%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241097%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Emine%20connects%20to%20my%20iPhone%205%20no%20problems%20on%205GHz%2C%20i'll%20try%20connecting%20to%20my%20Samsung%20A6%20tablet%20later%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EPS%20i'm%20in%20the%20UK%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241494%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241494%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EPOLAND%20-%20hmm%20i%20ve%20the%20same%20ONLY%202%2C4ghz.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241527%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241527%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EYou're%20phone%20does%20not%20sipport%20yhe%205GHz%20band.%20My%20previous%20gopro's%20also%20use%20the%20lower%20bandwith%20due%20to%20the%20fact%20that%20my%20phone%20does%20not%20have%20the%205ghz%20option.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBut%20why%20do%20you%20need%20that%3F%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-241535%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-241535%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EMy%20phone%20is%20a%20Google%20Pixel%202%20and%20certainly%20does%20work%20with%205GHz.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EProblem%20is%20GoPro%20is%20using%20a%205GHz%20channel%20that%20is%20not%20licensed%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-244072%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-244072%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EMy%20Galaxy%20Note%209%20work%20fine%20with%205Ghz%20on%20GoPro%20Hero%207%20(%20ITALY%20)%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-256835%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-256835%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ei%20have%20the%20same%20problem.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20can%20not%20understand%20why%20GoPro%20do%20not%20fix%20this%20issue.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIt%20is%20totally%20clear%20when%20you%20google%20a%20little%20bit.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAndroid%20Phones%20set%20the%20WLAN%20Frequencies%20depending%20on%20the%20country%20they%20are%20used.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThis%20is%20done%20either%20when%20you%20insert%20the%20SIM%20card%20or%20when%20you%20choose%20the%20region%20and%20language%20in%20setup.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIn%20Europe%205GHZ%20Channels%20have%20spezial%20regulations%20(SRD%20(25%20mW))%20and%20the%20high%20channels%20are%20not%20used%20by%20Android.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E(See%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FList_of_WLAN_channels%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FList_of_WLAN_channels%3C%2FA%3E)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESo%20i%20can%20not%20use%205Ghz%20on%20most%20Android%20Phones%20in%20Europe%20and%20also%20other%20regions.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20can%20try%20to%20root%20my%20Android%20Phone%20and%20use%20XWIFIX%20or%20do%20other%20patches%2C%20but%20why%20should%20i%20do%20this%20if%20i%20buy%20a%20GoPro%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIf%20i%20buy%20a%20YI%20it%20will%20work%20out%20of%20the%20box.%20Are%20you%20kidding%20us%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20hope%20the%20Wlan%20ChipSet%20in%20the%20GoPro%20can%20be%20configuered%20to%20also%20use%20the%20lower%20channels.%20So%20please%20give%20us%20the%20ability%20to%20change%20the%20channel.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESome%20more%20infos%3A%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%5BGUIDE%5D%20WiFi%20Country%20Problem%20Solving%20for%20AOSP%2C%20MIUI%20%26amp%3B%20others%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fforum.xda-developers.com%2Fshowthread.php%3Ft%3D2368501%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fforum.xda-developers.com%2Fshowthread.php%3Ft%3D2368501%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ewi%20fi%20-%20WiFi%20Drops%20When%20SIM%20Inserted%20-%20Android%20Enthusiasts%20Stack%20...%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fandroid.stackexchange.com%2Fquestions%2F87599%2Fwifi-drops-when-sim-inserted%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fandroid.stackexchange.com%2Fquestions%2F87599%2Fwifi-drops-when-sim-inserted%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20love%20GoPro%20but%20i%20am%20thinking%20about%20returning%20my%20GoPro7%20black%20and%20get%20the%20YI%204K.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBest%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EStefan%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-257112%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-257112%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F78773%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40stefanr7342%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHave%20you%20tried%20changing%20your%20language%20and%20region%20to%20US%3F%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EOr%20just%20try%20to%20use%20English%20US%20on%20Language%20settings%20and%20check%20if%20you%20will%20now%20be%20able%20to%20see%20that%20feature.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EIf%20issue%20persist%20try%20to%20install%20a%20new%20firmware%20manually.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ERegards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E-Jay%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-257132%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-257132%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F31687%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40graytree76514%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ethanks%20for%20your%20support.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAs%20far%20as%20i%20understood%20i%20have%20to%20change%20the%20setting%20on%20my%20Android%20to%20archieve%20this.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBut%20mostelikely%20the%20frequence%20setting%20is%20set%20when%20i%20insert%20the%20SIM%20card.%20So%20it%20is%20bound%20to%20germany.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIt%20is%20a%20design%20flaw%20that%20it%20is%20not%20possible%20to%20choose%20the%20channel%20of%20the%20gopro%205GHZ%20Wlan.%20161%20is%20not%20possible%20in%20Europe%20on%20android%20phones.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EYou%20can%20also%20check%20on%20the%20webside%20of%20the%20popular%20FritzBOX.%20They%20describe%20the%205GHZ%20Channels%20and%20problematics%20good.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThe%20maximum%20channel%20there%20is%20128.%20Because%20all%20Channels%20above%20might%20not%20work.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAlso%20i%20do%20not%20wnat%20to%20root%20my%20android%20phone%20to%20archieve%20the%20reception%20of%20the%20161%20Channel%20the%20GoPro%20use.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20think%20GoPro%20should%20find%20a%20solution%20here.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThanks%20and%20best%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EStefan%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-266793%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-266793%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EAnd%20heres%20the%205%20GHZ%20picture%20of%20the%20same%20clip%2C%20which%20is%20much%20faster.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-266792%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-266792%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20have%20the%20same%20problem%20with%20my%20Hero%207%20Black%20and%20my%20iPhone%208%2FGoPro%20App!%3CBR%20%2F%3EIf%20i%20reset%20the%20connection%20settings%20in%20the%20Hero%207%2C%20it%20works%20with%205GHZ%20for%20the%20first%20session.%3CBR%20%2F%3EA%20day%20after%2C%20my%20iPhone%20is%20unable%20to%20connect%20with%20my%20Hero%207.%20I%20need%20to%20reset%20connection%20settings%20again%20to%20use%20the%205GHZ.%3CBR%20%2F%3EThats%20not%20a%20solution%20for%20me!%20I%20paid%20for%20a%20Hero%207%2C%20which%20includes%205GHZ!%20The%20same%20Clip%20takes%20with%202%2C4GHZ%20much%20more%20time%20instead%20of%20the%205GHZ.%20The%20same%20clip%20takes%20with%205GHZ%203%20minutes%2C%20while%20i%20takes%20nearly%2020%20minutes%20with%202%2C4GHZ.%20Another%20problem%20is%2C%20when%20the%20iphone%20locks%20in%20these%2020%20minutes%2C%20the%20transfer%20is%20aborted.%3CBR%20%2F%3ESupport%20cant%20handle%20it%2C%20they%20only%20say%20that%20i%20need%20to%20set%20it%20at%202%2C4GHZ.%20But%20that%20is%20no%20solution!%20Not%20for%20that%20price!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-273620%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-273620%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EWhat%20do%20you%20mean%20Jay%3F%3CBR%20%2F%3EIs%20there%20a%20firmware%20for%20Hero7%20Black%20that%20I%20can%20install%20manually%20that%20will%20fix%20this%20issue%3F%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EWhen%20you%20say%20change%20language%20and%20region%2C%20do%20you%20mean%20on%20the%20phone%3F%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-273682%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-273682%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EI%20had%20the%20same%20issue%20with%20my%20hero7%20Black%20and%20my%20OnePlus%205t.%20After%20updating%20to%20Android%209%20and%201.61%2C%20I%20can%20connect%20in%205ghz.%20I'm%20in%20Greece%20btw.%20I%20don't%20know%20which%20update%20did%20the%20job(Android%20or%20GoPro)%20but%20it%20works%20flawlessly%20now%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-288050%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-288050%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20guys%2CI%20am%20from%20Greece%20too%20and%20i%20face%20this%20issue%20for%20over%20a%20year%20with%20gopro%206%20and%20now%20gopro%207.%20As%20i%20wrote%20many%20times%2C%20all%20samsungs%20phones%26nbsp%3B%20i%20had%20worked%20fine%20whereas%20all%20others%20not.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBUT%20today%20i%20tried%20something%20and%20i%20would%20like%20your%20opinion.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20use%20my%20gopro%207%20black%20with%20a%20note%209%20and%20it%20works%20fine.%20I%20also%20have%20a%20LG%20V30%2C%20that%20i%20couldnt%20connect%20at%205ghz.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EToday%2C%20after%20the%20update%20of%20the%20app%20at%20playstore%2C%20i%20tried%20to%20connect%20my%20LG%20v30.%20It%20connected%20and%20i%20downloaded%20a%20video%20i%20had%20on%20my%20camera%20at%20as%20fast%20as%20it%20does%20when%20i%20use%20my%20note%209.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAfter%20that%20i%20tried%20to%20connect%20the%20app%20on%20the%20phone%20to%20my%20gopro%20account%2C%20and%20when%20i%20did%20it%20i%20lost%20connection...Since%20that%20time%20i%20cannot%20connect%20my%20go%20pro%20with%20my%20V30%20neither%20at%205ghz%20nor%20at%202.4ghz!%20I%20tried%20everything%20except%20for%20factory%20reset%20at%20the%20phone...(i%20did%20reset%20the%20camera%20several%20times%20and%20the%20app%20at%20V30.).%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAfter%202-3%20hours%20and%202%20batteries%20empty%2C%20i%20tried%20to%20go%20back%20to%20note%209%2C%20and%20i%20got%20a%20message%20that%20i%20should%20return%20to%202.4ghz%20to%20connect%20my%20phone...%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20reseted%20the%20camera%20and%20the%20app%20at%20my%20note%209%20one%20more%20time%2C%20and%20thank%20god%20it%20worked%20fine%20at%205ghz!!%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBUT%20at%20V30%20it%20doesnt%20work!!%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20dont%20know%20why%20but%20i%20believe%20it%20is%20a%20matter%20of%20go%20pro%20s%2Fw%20and%20maybe%20thats%20why%20gopro%20asks%20us%20to%20turn%20on%20locations%20on%20the%20phone%20to%20connect%20the%20camera..%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EPlease%20guys%20fix%20it!!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-288060%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-288060%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%40nikosb37711it%20sounds%20quite%20frustrating!%20As%20I%20said%20I%20haven't%20had%20any%20issues%20with%20my%20OnePlus%205t%2C%20but%20only%20after%20the%20Android%209%20Pie%20update.%20I'm%20downloading%20files%20almost%20daily%20with%20no%20issues.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EMaybe%20the%20LG%20v30%20is%20still%20on%20Oreo%20and%20the%20note%20is%20on%20Pie%3F%20I%20think%20something%20has%20changed%20with%20the%20new%20version%20of%20Android%20and%20it%20started%20to%20play%20nice%20with%20the%20GoPro%20app.%20The%205t%20on%20Oreo%20wouldn't%20even%20recognise%20the%205ghz%20at%20all.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-288073%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%207%20Black%20no%205GHz%20in%20UK%2FEurope%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-288073%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EMichael%20they%20are%20both%20on%20Android%208.%20The%20strange%20thing%20is%20that%20v30%20was%20connected%20at%205ghz%20today%20at%20my%20first%20effort%20and%20after%20logging%20in%20on%20go%20pro%20account%20it%20couldn't%20connect%20again%20at%205%20or%202.4%20ghz...%3CBR%20%2F%3EThe%20other%20is%20that%20after%20that%20note%209%20could%20not%20connect%20but%20after%20a%20reset%20at%20cameras%20connections%20and%20go%20pro%20app%20at%20phone%20it%20connected%20again.%3CBR%20%2F%3EI%20really%20cannot%20understand%20what%20is%20happening%20here%20and%20the%20most%20strange%20is%20that%20v30%20can%20see%20the%20camera%20it%20pairs%20and%20then%20it%20cannot%20connect%20to%20use%20it.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Hiker
Posts: 23

Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

Just got my Hero 7 Black and was unable to get it connect to my phone using 5Ghz, only on 2.5Ghz

 

After searching through forums discovered that it's an old issue going back to the Hero 6 Black, and is caused by Hero 6/7 transmitting on channel 161 which is illegal in Europe.  It is possible to buy licenses to use channel 161 in UK, but only for fixed wireless access (FWA) points, which obviously isnt a GoPro

 

So they havent fixed it for the new device, and doesnt look like they are likely to.

 

Does anyone know if possible to report them to OfCom or other regulator?  Might force them to actually do something

 

http://www.cablefree.net/wirelesstechnology/unlicensed-wireless-links/using-the-5ghz-band-in-the-uk/

https://community.gopro.com/t5/Cameras/Hero6-Black-5-GHz-wi-fi-not-working/td-p/66116/page/4

 

 

 

 

Backpacker
Posts: 946

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

mine connects to my iPhone 5 no problems on 5GHz, i'll try connecting to my Samsung A6 tablet later

 

PS i'm in the UK

Tourist
Posts: 11

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

POLAND - hmm i ve the same ONLY 2,4ghz.

Hiker
Posts: 68

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

You're phone does not sipport yhe 5GHz band. My previous gopro's also use the lower bandwith due to the fact that my phone does not have the 5ghz option.

But why do you need that? 

Hiker
Posts: 23

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

My phone is a Google Pixel 2 and certainly does work with 5GHz.

Problem is GoPro is using a 5GHz channel that is not licensed in UK/Europe
Hiker
Posts: 154

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

[ Edited ]

My Galaxy Note 9 work fine with 5Ghz on GoPro Hero 7 ( ITALY )

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

Hi,

 

i have the same problem.

I can not understand why GoPro do not fix this issue.

 

It is totally clear when you google a little bit.

Android Phones set the WLAN Frequencies depending on the country they are used.

This is done either when you insert the SIM card or when you choose the region and language in setup.

 

In Europe 5GHZ Channels have spezial regulations (SRD (25 mW)) and the high channels are not used by Android. 

(See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels)

 

So i can not use 5Ghz on most Android Phones in Europe and also other regions.

I can try to root my Android Phone and use XWIFIX or do other patches, but why should i do this if i buy a GoPro?

 

If i buy a YI it will work out of the box. Are you kidding us?

 

I hope the Wlan ChipSet in the GoPro can be configuered to also use the lower channels. So please give us the ability to change the channel.

 

Some more infos:

[GUIDE] WiFi Country Problem Solving for AOSP, MIUI & others

https://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2368501

 

wi fi - WiFi Drops When SIM Inserted - Android Enthusiasts Stack ...
https://android.stackexchange.com/questions/87599/wifi-drops-when-sim-inserted

 

I love GoPro but i am thinking about returning my GoPro7 black and get the YI 4K.

 

Best regards,

Stefan

GoPro
Posts: 4,071

Re: Hero 7 Black no 5GHz in UK/Europe

 

Hi @stefanr7342,

 

Have you tried changing your language and region to US? 

Or just try to use English US on Language settings and check if you will now be able to see that feature. 

 

If issue persist try to install a new firmware manually. 

 

Regards,

-Jay