Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Highlighted
Tourist

Re: Hero 7 Black Battery Issues

Hi, I actually did.  I think in summary, there are 2 problems here.

- one is that the battery has their own issue and inconsistency.

- two is that the camera itself has bug that drains the battery or in your case, mis-interpreting the battery charges.

When mine is dead, it's dead and takes a long time to charge back up.

And good luck getting any sort of meaningful or useful replies from GoPro themselves directly.  I am just as frustrated as you in this.

Cheers.

Highlighted
Adventurer

This is the Made in China Battery  chip, what are your thoughts if this can be  maybe an issue or not?

IMG_2347.JPG

Highlighted
Tourist

I am no electrical engineer and I certainly can't tell based on just a pic.  :)  My personal humble opinion/thought on the batteries themselves (from my experience with RC) are that the China batteries have worse (higher) internal resistance than the Vietnamese batteries besides the worse quality control.  That would explain some of the slow drain and inconsistence performances of these batteries.  However, where that resistance comes from though I have no idea.  It might be the cells themselves or from the chip.  I will let the expert chime in on that.  I haven't taken apart one to really measure them outside the chips.  My V batteries are working perfectly and I am not going to destroy these remaining good ones just for a test for GoPro's sake.  And it's kinda meaningless to take an old one apart when it's worn out through use because the IR would be on the high side as that's how batteries die.  Anyway, my 2 cents.  Cheers.

Highlighted
Tourist

[ Edited ]