Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Highlighted
Tourist
Accepted Solution

Hero 5 session very hot - do I have the optimum card?

Hi

I'm new to GoPro and noticed in the first few minutes of use my just bought Hero Session 5 that it quickly becomes too hot to touch.

I found a forum post from over a year back that suggests some SD cards may contribute to this.

I have a SanDisk Extreme 64GB A1 in it, (also has a symbol with inverted U containing 3)

Is this card Ok?

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Tourist

Re: Hero 5 session very hot - do I have the optimum card?

Thanks, I will follow your advice.

I hadn't realised formatting an SD card was a thing - will do that too.

Many thanks

Nick

View solution in original post

All Replies
Highlighted
GoPro

Hello @snowybluff20380

I see that your SD card is among the recommended ones. It is not uncommon for the camera to get hot when being used, but it should not be too hot touch. Was the camera recording when you observed it to get too hot? What resolution setting was used at that time?

Was the camera being charged when you used it? Was it paired to the GoPro App? Did you get a warning on the camera? If you have not done it yet, try manually updating the camera firmware. This is even if the camera may already have the latest firmware. You can find instructions below: 

1. Go to the Update page: HERO5 Session 
  2. Under "Other ways to update" click "Update your camera manually."
  3. Enter your serial number and other requested information, click Next Step.
  4. Click "Download Update."
  5. Click "Click here to download firmware."
  6. Follow the steps on the screen for detailed instructions for your operating system.

Make sure that the camera is fully charged and that the SD card is formatted prior to the update process. Let us know how it goes. 

Thanks, 
Marius