Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-271356%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHero%204%20Black%20Frames%20In%20Footage%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-271356%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20Everyone%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI've%20bought%20a%20Hero%204%20Black%20off%20a%20friend%20last%20year%20and%20have%20had%20quite%20a%20few%20problems%20with%20it.%20My%20latest%20issue%20is%20that%20some%20of%20our%20videos%20will%20fail%20to%20render%20in%20IMovie.%20Turns%20out%20there%20are%20always%20quick%20black%20flashes%20in%20these%20clips%2C%20like%20a%20single%20dropped%20frame%20or%20something%20like%20that.%20If%20we%20go%20through%20the%20video%20and%20delete%20the%20black%20frames%20it%20will%20render%20correctly.%20So%20what%20is%20going%20on%20here%3F%20This%20only%20started%20happening%20with%20the%20latest%20firmware%20update.%20I'm%20using%20a%20128GB%20SanDisk%20Extreme%20A1%20which%20is%20on%20their%20approved%20list%20(everyone%20still%20recommends%20the%20Lexar%20cards%2C%20should%20I%20get%20a%20new%20card%3F).%20I've%20reformatted%20the%20memory%20card%2C%20as%20well%20as%20manually%20reinstalling%20the%20firmware.%20Our%20settings%20are%20everything%20auto%2C%20protune%20off%2C%201080p%20medium%2C%2060fps.%20Any%20help%20would%20be%20great.%20We%20finally%20found%20a%20work%20around%20for%20the%20mic%20issues%2C%20but%20this%20is%20a%20much%20bigger%20issue%20that%20has%20started%20to%20impact%20our%20workflow.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-271356%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO4%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-271417%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%204%20Black%20Frames%20In%20Footage%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-271417%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F75787%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40megacreek56222%3C%2FA%3E%2C%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThe%20black%20frames%20could%20really%20get%20in%20the%20way%20of%20your%20workflow.%20Have%20you%20been%20able%20to%20try%20a%20different%20SD%20card%20from%20the%20list%3F%20Try%20this%3A%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2FContactUs%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Emanually%20update%3C%2FA%3E%20the%20camera%20firmware%20(even%20if%20the%20camera%20already%20has%20the%20latest%20firmware).%20This%20clears%20out%20any%20possible%20error%20that%20might%20be%20associated%20with%20the%20current%20installation.%20Put%20in%20a%26nbsp%3B%20different%20SD%20card%20(no%20need%20to%20buy%20at%20this%20time%2C%20borrow%20if%20available%20just%20make%20sure%20the%20card%20is%20formatted).%20This%20will%20help%20with%20isolating%20the%20source%20of%20the%20trouble.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EAlso%20see%20if%20the%20video%20plays%20back%20fine%20using%20other%20programs.%20This%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fhow_to%2FPrograms-to-View-and-Edit-Videos%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Earticle%3C%2FA%3E%20provides%20information%20on%20other%20programs%20that%20can%20be%20used%20to%20view%20and%20edit%20GoPro%20footage.%20Our%20Support%20team%20may%20be%20reached%20by%20phone%20or%20chat%20through%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2FContactUs%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2FContactUs%3C%2FA%3E%20should%20you%20need%20further%20assistance.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EBest%20regards%2C%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Marius%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-271934%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%204%20Black%20Frames%20In%20Footage%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-271934%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you.%20I've%20manually%20updated%20the%20firmware%20(again)%2C%20and%20found%20an%20old%20MicroSD.%20It's%20not%20the%20proper%20speed%20rating%20but%20I'm%20hoping%20it%20will%20work%20out%20for%20testing.%20We%20should%20be%20shooting%20another%20video%20this%20weekend%20so%20I%20will%20report%20back.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-271936%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%204%20Black%20Frames%20In%20Footage%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-271936%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20would%20also%20like%20to%20mention%20that%20we%20filmed%20around%2030%20minutes%20of%20live%20footage%20this%20past%20weekend.%20I%20always%20have%20it%20set%20to%20730p%2F30fps%20for%20our%20live%20shows.%20There%20were%20no%20blackframe%20issues.%20I%20was%20successfully%20able%20to%20import%20the%20footage%20into%20Reaper%2C%20make%20a%20few%20edits%20and%20export%20it.%20Seems%20to%20only%20be%20happening%20when%20I%20select%201080p%2F60fps.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-271942%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Hero%204%20Black%20Frames%20In%20Footage%3F%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-271942%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThis%20is%20noted.%20Thank%26nbsp%3B%20you%20for%20the%20update.%20Let%20us%20see%20how%20it%20works%20out%20when%20you%20do%20further%20testing.%20If%20you%20can%20also%20provide%20sample%20photos%20or%20clips%2C%20it%20would%20be%20very%20helpful.%20Many%20thanks!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Tourist
Posts: 5
Accepted Solution

Hero 4 Black Frames In Footage?

Hello Everyone,

 

I've bought a Hero 4 Black off a friend last year and have had quite a few problems with it. My latest issue is that some of our videos will fail to render in IMovie. Turns out there are always quick black flashes in these clips, like a single dropped frame or something like that. If we go through the video and delete the black frames it will render correctly. So what is going on here? This only started happening with the latest firmware update. I'm using a 128GB SanDisk Extreme A1 which is on their approved list (everyone still recommends the Lexar cards, should I get a new card?). I've reformatted the memory card, as well as manually reinstalling the firmware. Our settings are everything auto, protune off, 1080p medium, 60fps. Any help would be great. We finally found a work around for the mic issues, but this is a much bigger issue that has started to impact our workflow.

 

Thank you.


Accepted Solutions
GoPro
Posts: 7,356

Re: Hero 4 Black Frames In Footage?

Hello @megacreek56222

 

The black frames could really get in the way of your workflow. Have you been able to try a different SD card from the list? Try this: manually update the camera firmware (even if the camera already has the latest firmware). This clears out any possible error that might be associated with the current installation. Put in a  different SD card (no need to buy at this time, borrow if available just make sure the card is formatted). This will help with isolating the source of the trouble. 

 

Also see if the video plays back fine using other programs. This article provides information on other programs that can be used to view and edit GoPro footage. Our Support team may be reached by phone or chat through https://gopro.com/help/ContactUs should you need further assistance. 

 

Best regards, 
Marius

View solution in original post


All Replies
GoPro
Posts: 7,356

Re: Hero 4 Black Frames In Footage?

Hello @megacreek56222

 

The black frames could really get in the way of your workflow. Have you been able to try a different SD card from the list? Try this: manually update the camera firmware (even if the camera already has the latest firmware). This clears out any possible error that might be associated with the current installation. Put in a  different SD card (no need to buy at this time, borrow if available just make sure the card is formatted). This will help with isolating the source of the trouble. 

 

Also see if the video plays back fine using other programs. This article provides information on other programs that can be used to view and edit GoPro footage. Our Support team may be reached by phone or chat through https://gopro.com/help/ContactUs should you need further assistance. 

 

Best regards, 
Marius

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: Hero 4 Black Frames In Footage?

Thank you. I've manually updated the firmware (again), and found an old MicroSD. It's not the proper speed rating but I'm hoping it will work out for testing. We should be shooting another video this weekend so I will report back.

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: Hero 4 Black Frames In Footage?

I would also like to mention that we filmed around 30 minutes of live footage this past weekend. I always have it set to 730p/30fps for our live shows. There were no blackframe issues. I was successfully able to import the footage into Reaper, make a few edits and export it. Seems to only be happening when I select 1080p/60fps.

GoPro
Posts: 7,356

Re: Hero 4 Black Frames In Footage?

[ Edited ]

This is noted. Thank  you for the update. Let us see how it works out when you do further testing. If you can also provide sample photos or clips, it would be very helpful. Many thanks!