Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Tourist

GoPro9 is not saving videos / files are broken

[ New ]

I have faced few problems with my GoPro9. Sometimes it looks like it is recording my my videos, but they are not saved. Sometimes it does save the file, but the file is broken. Sometimes it saves the file that can be seen in the camera only - not in the app nor on the memory card. I've purchased GoPro this April from gopro.com (memory cards as well). I use my GoPro mainly for skydiving. I am an instructor and sometimes I film tandems. Overall I decided not to film tandems this season as my GoPro is not reliable.

What I have tried and it helped was doing format of my memory card before using my camera, which is sort of solution, but not really 100% guarantee that I will have my footage. I cannot format my memory card every time between the jumps. 

The first time I had the problem, when no footage was saved to the camera, I've asked my friend's camera footage (who was on the the jump with me) to make sure my camera was recording - it was filming. I've tested it on the ground, I could see one video on the camera, but not in the app or memory card. Formatted the card, it worked for some time. 

Yesterday I had a coached jump with a student and got a broken footage from the jump. I've copied it to the app, but preview is not available. Copying the file to my computer is not working (attached the error from my desktop).

Overall it is very disappointing to have such unreliable camera. I've used GoPro Session for few years with no major issues (in the very beginning it was freezing, but camera update helped). 

I've checked the GoPro app on my phone, camera is up to date.

Please help me solve this problem or contact me to help return the camera.
Error_0x80070570.png
Backpacker