Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-46021%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EGoPro%20Session%20Lights%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-46021%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHey%20everyone%2C%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EI%20am%20trying%20to%20record%20long%20videos%20on%20my%20GoPro%20session.%20The%20camera%20starts%20flashing%20a%20red%20light%20(which%20I%20presume%20means%20it's%20recording)%20but%20then%20switches%20to%20a%20flashing%20blue%20light.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EI%20called%20GoPro%20and%20asked%20them%20if%20the%20flashing%20blue%20light%20means%20that%20it%20stopped%20recording.%20They%20said%20that%20a%20flashing%20blue%20light%20could%20mean%20it's%20still%20recording%20but%20that%20the%20wifi%20is%20on.%20Any%20thoughts%20if%20that%20is%20accurate%3F%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EThanks%2C%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-46021%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO%20Session%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-46041%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Session%20Lights%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-46041%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F26553%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40skyhawk1985%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EA%20simple%20short%20press%20of%20the%20shutter%20(round)%20button%20on%20top%20starts%20recording.%26nbsp%3B%20Light%20will%20blink%20red%20whilst%20recording.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EHow%20long%20does%20the%20light%20blink%20red%20before%20it%20goes%20to%20blue%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ETry%20a%20factory%20reset%20of%20your%20H5S%20and%20try%20again.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-46043%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Session%20Lights%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-46043%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EThe%20light%20blinks%20red%20for%20about%2030%20minutes%20before%20going%20blue.%20All%20three%20of%20them.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-46044%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Session%20Lights%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-46044%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F26553%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40skyhawk1985%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ETry%20a%20factory%20reset%20and%20see%20if%20that%20cures%20your%20issue.%26nbsp%3B%20Many%20users%20have%20cured%20similar%20strange%20issues%20by%20doing%20so.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAnother%20factor%20could%20be%20the%20memory%20card%2C%20what%20card%20are%20you%20using%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Backpacker
Posts: 362

Re: GoPro Session Lights

@skyhawk1985

 

Not on the "GoPro Approved" memory card list here: https://gopro.com/help/articles/Block/microSD-Card-Considerations

 

As I remember there have been several here with issues using that card.

 

You'll probably want to get a faster transfer rate card, NOT ALL UHS1 CARDS ARE FAST ENOUGH FOR GOPRO!

Tourist
Posts: 9

Re: GoPro Session Lights

@papajody

 

Snap. Just bought four of these. Which 64GB SD card would you suggest I get (out of your own personal experience)?

Tourist
Posts: 9

Re: GoPro Session Lights

@papajody

 

Also, do you think the memory card would cause that red recording light to go flashing blue?

 

I mean, I used the SD card aforementioned and I am getting good quality videos. It's just that they aren't filming for the entire 2.5 hours as advertized on GoPro's website.

 

Maybe flashing blue doesn't mean it's not recording (just that WiFi is on)?

Backpacker
Posts: 362

Re: GoPro Session Lights

[ Edited ]

@skyhawk1985

 

Bummer that you just bought 4 of them!  How much did you pay?  Try and return saying they are the wrong speed card. (although many places wont allow a return on these)

 

Anything from that list will function fine: https://gopro.com/help/articles/Block/microSD-Card-Considerations

 

Personally I like the Sandisk Extreme which has write speeds of 60MBps.

newegg.com has great prices, check them out!

Highlighted
Backpacker
Posts: 362

Re: GoPro Session Lights


@skyhawk1985 wrote:

@papajody

 

Also, do you think the memory card would cause that red recording light to go flashing blue?

 

I mean, I used the SD card aforementioned and I am getting good quality videos. It's just that they aren't filming for the entire 2.5 hours as advertized on GoPro's website.

 

Maybe flashing blue doesn't mean it's not recording (just that WiFi is on)?


@skyhawk1985

 

I've recorded for 2 hours straight with my H5S, never seen a flashing blue light, just red blinker. 

 

  1. Are you sure it stops recording when the blue light starts? 
  2. What video settings are you using? 
  3. Is camera getting warm/hot?
Tourist
Posts: 9

Re: GoPro Session Lights

@papajody

 

Are you sure it stops recording when the blue light starts?

Not sure that it stops recording, but I presume it does as the videos did not go all the way to the end (except for one camera that kept going). I did have to push the record button again on all cameras when I noted the blue light flashing. Even doing so, as mentioned, only one camera kept recording to the end.


What video settings are you using?

1080p at 60fps.

 

Is camera getting warm/hot?

It is. But I am not sure if it's because the cameras are placed near the windshield of the aircraft. But I think it is unusually hot.

Backpacker
Posts: 362

Re: GoPro Session Lights

I mistyped and cant edit my previous... NOT Samsung... I meant to type Sandisk Extreme Pro is what I bought!

Backpacker
Posts: 362

Re: GoPro Session Lights

[ Edited ]

@skyhawk1985 

 

A Warm or hot unit is an indicator of issues with the mem card. 

 

Did you try a factory reset yet also?