Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Highlighted
Tourist
Accepted Solution

GoPro Hero 7 skeleton window leaking

Hey Hey,

I have been using the Hero7 Black for several months. Works fine most of the time. When it doesn't it is propbably operator error.

I mostly take videos and photos in the surf. Waves crashing, limited depth (usually less than 5m), bit of movement with the water, sand, etc. I switch between video & photos in the water - that is easy as it only requires pressing the on/off button on the side.

I like the feel of the supersuit - on the floating hand grip & on a wrist strap. I do prefer to change some of the settings whilst in the water.

The backdoors of the supersuit do not enable any settings to be changed whilst in the water.

The skeleton backdoor does.

However, I have had no success using the skeleton backdoor as water always (yes, every time) enters into supersuit & the lens area & around the camera generally. The lens is covered by water & commonly the camera ceases to operate. I have constantly removed the white rectangular seals & washed, cleaned & dried them. I have placed the camea in the supersuit with the skeleton backdoor in fresh water at home - it still leaks.

It seems to me that the depth of the 2 grey/black foam lines along the legth of the backdoor & skeleton backdoor differ. The difference is marginal. I do not have the means to measure it.

I can, of course, revert to using the backdoor - I will lose the ability to change settings whisly in the water. Alternatively, I can use the Hero7 without the supersuit - occasionally the water or sand or both enter the tiny gaps in button areas and cause malfunctions, or the camera is more prone to the pressure of the water and changes modes.