Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200763%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EGoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200763%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHi%20guysI'm%20having%20some%20troubles%20with%20the%20Hero%206.Video%20mode%3B%20When%20I%20turn%20on%20protune%2C%20auto%20low%20light%20is%20blocked%20(on%20the%20Hero%205%20is%20it%20possible%20to%20use%20thos%20together).Photo%20mode%3B%20when%20auto%20HDR%20is%20turned%20on%2C%20EV%20is%20blocked%20(I%20assume%20that%20that's%20normal%3F).%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-200763%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO6%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200765%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200765%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EWhats%20your%20FPS%20setting%3F%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200766%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200766%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E60%20fps%20often%2C%20it%20also%20doesn't%20work%20if%20I%20change%20it%20to%2030fps%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200770%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200770%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F66035%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40martinhouston%3C%2FA%3E%2C%20When%20you%20turn%20protune%20on%20you%20will%20have%20full%20manual%20control%20on%20your%20camera.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20And%20that%20will%20not%20work%20together%20with%20AUTO%20settings%20of%20Auto%20low%20light%20settings.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Just%20like%20other%20camera.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Protune%20is%20like%20the%20manual%20mode%20for%20some%20DSLR's%20-Jay%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200812%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200812%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%40graytree76514And%20why%20does%20protune%20work%20with%20auto%20lowlight%20on%20the%20Hero%205%3F%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200823%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200823%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EWhy%20is%20it%20different%20on%20the%20Hero%205%20Black%3F%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200825%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200825%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F66035%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40martinhouston%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Sorry%20I%20just%20forgot%20the%20exact%20settings%20earlier%20because%20what%20I%20do%20in%20lowlight%20is%20I%20bump%20up%20the%20ISO%20up%20to%201600%20and%2030FPS.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Anyway%20if%20you%20want%20to%20use%20low%20light.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Try%20to%20turn%20off%20your%20image%20stabilization.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20On%20HERO5%20and%20HERO6%20it%20will%20only%20work%20for%2030FPS%20to%20120.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Also%20if%20you're%20shooting%20in%20low%20light%20situation%20it%20would%20be%20best%20to%20use%2030%20or%2024FPS%20instead%20for%20best%20result.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E-Jay%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200829%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200829%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%40graytree76514Thanks%20a%20lot%2C%20that's%20the%20issue...ISO%20was%20set%20on%20max%20800%2C%20changed%20it%20to%201600%20and%20it%20works!Thanks%20again!Have%20a%20nice%20day!%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-200830%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20settings%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-200830%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EGlad%20to%20know%20that%20%3Ca%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F66035%22%3E%40mmjv%3C%2Fa%3E!%20Stay%20awesome!%26nbsp%3B%20You%20have%20a%20great%20day%20as%20well.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20-Jay%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Hiker
Posts: 8
Accepted Solution

GoPro Hero 6 settings

Hi guys

I'm having some troubles with the Hero 6.
Video mode; When I turn on protune, auto low light is blocked (on the Hero 5 is it possible to use thos together).

Photo mode; when auto HDR is turned on, EV is blocked (I assume that that's normal?).

Accepted Solutions
GoPro
Posts: 3,825

Re: GoPro Hero 6 settings

 

Hi @mmjv,

Sorry I just forgot the exact settings earlier because what I do in lowlight is I bump up the ISO up to 1600 and 30FPS. 

Anyway if you want to use low light.

Try to turn off your image stabilization. 
On HERO5 and HERO6 it will only work for 30FPS to 120. 


Also if you're shooting in low light situation it would be best to use 30 or 24FPS instead for best result. 

Regards,

-Jay 



 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: GoPro Hero 6 settings

Whats your FPS setting? 

Highlighted
Hiker
Posts: 8

Re: GoPro Hero 6 settings

60 fps often, it also doesn't work if I change it to 30fps
GoPro
Posts: 3,825

Re: GoPro Hero 6 settings

 

Hi @mmjv,

When you turn protune on you will have full manual control on your camera. 
And that will not work together with AUTO settings of Auto low light settings. 

Just like other camera. 

Protune is like the manual mode for some DSLR's

-Jay 

Hiker
Posts: 8

Re: GoPro Hero 6 settings

@graytree76514

And why does protune work with auto lowlight on the Hero 5?
Hiker
Posts: 8

Re: GoPro Hero 6 settings

Why is it different on the Hero 5 Black?
GoPro
Posts: 3,825

Re: GoPro Hero 6 settings

 

Hi @mmjv,

Sorry I just forgot the exact settings earlier because what I do in lowlight is I bump up the ISO up to 1600 and 30FPS. 

Anyway if you want to use low light.

Try to turn off your image stabilization. 
On HERO5 and HERO6 it will only work for 30FPS to 120. 


Also if you're shooting in low light situation it would be best to use 30 or 24FPS instead for best result. 

Regards,

-Jay 



 

Hiker
Posts: 8

Re: GoPro Hero 6 settings

@graytree76514

Thanks a lot, that's the issue...
ISO was set on max 800, changed it to 1600 and it works!

Thanks again!

Have a nice day!