Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-190748%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EGoPro%20Hero%206%20WiFi%20not%20showing%20on%20Windows%2010%20if%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-190748%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Esome%20days%20ago%2C%20I%20bought%20a%20GoPro%20Hero%206.%20Everything%20works%20great%2C%20paired%20with%20iPhone%2C%20tested%20all%20functions...%20But%20I%20have%20a%20problem%20connecting%20to%20the%20WiFi%20of%20the%20cam%20from%20Windows%2010%20(Pro)%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%20(2.4%20GHz%20works).%20When%20I%20switch%20to%205%20Ghz%2C%20I%20see%20this%20Wifi%20on%20the%20iPhone%2C%20but%20not%20in%20the%20list%20of%20Windows.%20My%20WiFi%20adapter%20is%20dual%20and%20I%20see%20any%20other%205GHz%20signals%2C%20including%20my%20own%20router%20and%20people%204%20streets%20away%20(WiFi%20analyzer%20used%20to%20check%20the%20band).%20I%20need%20to%20connect%20at%205GHz%2C%20because%20I%20want%20to%20stream%20the%20live%20image%20with%20ffmpeg%20to%20other%20programs%20for%20facial%20and%20corporal%20animation%20of%203D%20characters%20using%20the%20video%20stream%20(I%20don't%20want%20to%20buy%20an%20expensive%20HDMI%20input%20card%20for%20that%2C%20I%20suppose%20that%20I%20could%20read%20the%20stream%20from%20the%20mini-HDMI%20output%20of%20the%20GoPro%206).%20I%20can%20stream%20at%202.4GHz%20to%20Windows%2C%20but%20with%20a%20lot%20of%20drops%20and%20artifacts%20on%20the%20image%20(not%20enough%20bandwidth%2C%20even%20at%20minimum%20resolution%20or%20FPS).%20I%20just%20tried%20everything%3A%20reinstalling%20drivers%20in%20Windows%2C%20reinstalling%20manually%20latest%20firmware%20in%20the%20camera%20(an%20update%20was%20done%20when%20first%20switched%20on)%2C%20trying%20to%20connect%20to%20the%20cam%20WiFi%20manually%2C%20not%20through%20the%20WiFi%20list%2C%20trying%20to%20log-in%20to%20the%20hidden%20networks%20expecting%20to%20find%20the%20GoPro%206%2C%20using%20bigger%20buffer%20sizes%20in%20ffmpeg%20to%20get%20better%20image%20flow...%20with%20no%20result.%20Maybe%20I'm%20missing%20something...%20Could%20you%20help%20me%20please%20to%20connect%20to%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3F%20I'll%20be%20really%20thankful%20for%20any%20hints.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EFernando%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-190748%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO6%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-190981%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20WiFi%20not%20showing%20on%20Windows%2010%20if%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-190981%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3ENobody%20has%20a%20hint%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-191061%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20WiFi%20not%20showing%20on%20Windows%2010%20if%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-191061%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20know%20my%20English%20is%20not%20the%20best%2C%20but%20I'd%20be%20thankful%20if%20somebody%20tries%20to%20help%20me.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-191691%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20WiFi%20not%20showing%20on%20Windows%2010%20if%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-191691%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F63368%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40nicesand1803%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ESorry%20for%20the%20delay%20in%20response.%20Other%20customers%20found%20a%20work%20around%20to%20view%20files%20wirelessly%20for%20older%20models%2C%20it%20appears%20that%20it's%20not%20working%20for%20newer%20ones.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThe%20only%20live%20streaming%20application%20with%20our%20cameras%20that%20we%20support%20is%20through%20Periscope.%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20While%20there%20may%20be%20other%20ways%2C%20or%20third%20parties%20that%20can%20attempt%20this%2C%20we%20do%20not%20have%20an%20official%20information%20about%20this%20process.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EIf%20this%20is%20something%20you'd%20like%20to%20have%20as%20an%20option%20in%20viewing%20files%20in%20the%20future%2C%20you%20may%20leave%20it%20as%20a%20feedback%20for%20now.%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Ffeedback%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Ffeedback%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EEj%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-192320%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20WiFi%20not%20showing%20on%20Windows%2010%20if%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-192320%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F35114%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40aragon1006%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ethank%20you%20for%20your%20response.%20You%20said%20%22Other%20customers%20found%20a%20work%20around%20to%20view%20files%20wirelessly%20for%20older%20models%22%2C%20which%20workaround%3F%20(Url%20to%20post%20entry)%20I%20would%20like%20to%20try%20it.%20This%20means%20that%20my%20camera%20is%20ok%20and%20this%20is%20a%20Bug%20in%20the%20GoPro%20firmware%2C%20right%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI'm%20not%20asking%20for%20support%20for%20the%20streaming%20with%20ffmpeg%2C%20this%20already%20works%2C%20the%20only%20question%20is%20the%20speed%2C%20that's%20why%20I%20need%20the%205GHz%20band.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EKind%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EFernando%3C%2FP%3E%3CBLOCKQUOTE%3E%3CHR%20%2F%3E%3C%2FBLOCKQUOTE%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-192347%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20WiFi%20not%20showing%20on%20Windows%2010%20if%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-192347%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F63368%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40nicesand1803%3C%2FA%3E%2C%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ECheck%20out%26nbsp%3Bthis%20link%20in%20the%20Community%20Hub%3A%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2FCameras%2FHow-to-Connect-pc-to-the-gopro-hero-5-s-Wi-Fi%2Ftd-p%2F25008%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2FCameras%2FHow-to-Connect-pc-to-the-gopro-hero-5-s-Wi-Fi%2Ftd-p%2F25008%3C%2FA%3E%20and%20scroll%20through%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F16714%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40joergq85077%3C%2FA%3E%26nbsp%3B'%20s%20post.%20Please%20consider%20that%20this%20is%20not%20an%20official%20GoPro%20procedure%20but%20a%20member-shared%20information.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EAlternatively%2C%20for%20the%20purpose%20of%20not%20having%20the%20camera%20and%20your%20computer%20connect%20directly%20via%20cable.%20you%20can%20do%20the%20wireless%20connection%20indirectly.%26nbsp%3B%26nbsp%3BYou%20can%20save%20all%20your%20work%20on%20the%20iPad%20through%20the%20GoPro%20App%2C%20then%20send%20it%20to%20your%20PC%20via%20email%2C%20the%20cloud%20or%20Dropbox.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHope%20this%20helps.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks%2C%26nbsp%3B%20Marius%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-192360%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20WiFi%20not%20showing%20on%20Windows%2010%20if%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-192360%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F56774%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40mariustanya%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ethank%20you%20a%20million%20times%20for%20the%20info%20with%20the%20link%20to%20github.%20I've%20just%20had%20a%20quick%20view%20and%20seems%20very%20interesting.%20I'll%20try%20the%20advices%20there%20(e.g.%20not%20to%20use%20buffer%20with%20ffmpeg%20for%20lower%20latency)%20and%20see%20if%20the%202.4%20GHz%20is%20sufficient%20for%20my%20purposes.%20That%20does%20not%20answer%20if%20it%20is%20a%20bug%20in%20the%20GoPro%206%20not%20to%20show%20up%20in%20the%20wifi-list%20of%20Windows%2C%20but%20I%20think%2C%20this%20could%20help%20me.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EKind%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EFernando%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-192374%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%206%20WiFi%20not%20showing%20on%20Windows%2010%20if%20using%20the%205%20GHz%20band%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-192374%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you%2C%20too%20%3Ca%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F63368%22%3E%40nicesand1803%3C%2Fa%3E!%20The%20unanswered%20question%20is%20still%20a%20question%20of%20interest.%20We%20will%20definitely%20put%20out%20an%20update%20once%20a%20literature%20on%20it%26nbsp%3Bis%20established.%20Appreciate%20you%20reporting%20this%20observation.%20Let%20us%20know%20how%20it%20works%20out%20with%20trying%20the%20advice%2Fs.%20It%20will%20help%20other%20users%20who%20might%20be%20having%20the%20same%20concern%20as%20well.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EBest%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EMarius%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Highlighted
Tourist
Posts: 7
Accepted Solution

GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

Hello,

 

some days ago, I bought a GoPro Hero 6. Everything works great, paired with iPhone, tested all functions... But I have a problem connecting to the WiFi of the cam from Windows 10 (Pro) using the 5 GHz band (2.4 GHz works). When I switch to 5 Ghz, I see this Wifi on the iPhone, but not in the list of Windows. My WiFi adapter is dual and I see any other 5GHz signals, including my own router and people 4 streets away (WiFi analyzer used to check the band). I need to connect at 5GHz, because I want to stream the live image with ffmpeg to other programs for facial and corporal animation of 3D characters using the video stream (I don't want to buy an expensive HDMI input card for that, I suppose that I could read the stream from the mini-HDMI output of the GoPro 6). I can stream at 2.4GHz to Windows, but with a lot of drops and artifacts on the image (not enough bandwidth, even at minimum resolution or FPS). I just tried everything: reinstalling drivers in Windows, reinstalling manually latest firmware in the camera (an update was done when first switched on), trying to connect to the cam WiFi manually, not through the WiFi list, trying to log-in to the hidden networks expecting to find the GoPro 6, using bigger buffer sizes in ffmpeg to get better image flow... with no result. Maybe I'm missing something... Could you help me please to connect to the 5 GHz band? I'll be really thankful for any hints.

 

Fernando

 


Accepted Solutions
GoPro
Posts: 7,959

Re: GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

Hello @nicesand1803

 

Check out this link in the Community Hub: https://community.gopro.com/t5/Cameras/How-to-Connect-pc-to-the-gopro-hero-5-s-Wi-Fi/td-p/25008 and scroll through @joergq85077 ' s post. Please consider that this is not an official GoPro procedure but a member-shared information. 

 

Alternatively, for the purpose of not having the camera and your computer connect directly via cable. you can do the wireless connection indirectly.  You can save all your work on the iPad through the GoPro App, then send it to your PC via email, the cloud or Dropbox.

 

Hope this helps. 

 

Thanks, 
Marius

View solution in original post


All Replies
Tourist
Posts: 7

Re: GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

Nobody has a hint?

Tourist
Posts: 7

Re: GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

I know my English is not the best, but I'd be thankful if somebody tries to help me.

GoPro
Posts: 9,664

Re: GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

 

Hi @nicesand1803

 

Sorry for the delay in response. Other customers found a work around to view files wirelessly for older models, it appears that it's not working for newer ones.

 

The only live streaming application with our cameras that we support is through Periscope. 

While there may be other ways, or third parties that can attempt this, we do not have an official information about this process.

 

If this is something you'd like to have as an option in viewing files in the future, you may leave it as a feedback for now. https://gopro.com/feedback

 

 

Thanks!

Ej

 

 

Tourist
Posts: 7

Re: GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

Hi @aragon1006,

 

thank you for your response. You said "Other customers found a work around to view files wirelessly for older models", which workaround? (Url to post entry) I would like to try it. This means that my camera is ok and this is a Bug in the GoPro firmware, right?

 

I'm not asking for support for the streaming with ffmpeg, this already works, the only question is the speed, that's why I need the 5GHz band.

 

Kind regards,

Fernando


GoPro
Posts: 7,959

Re: GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

Hello @nicesand1803

 

Check out this link in the Community Hub: https://community.gopro.com/t5/Cameras/How-to-Connect-pc-to-the-gopro-hero-5-s-Wi-Fi/td-p/25008 and scroll through @joergq85077 ' s post. Please consider that this is not an official GoPro procedure but a member-shared information. 

 

Alternatively, for the purpose of not having the camera and your computer connect directly via cable. you can do the wireless connection indirectly.  You can save all your work on the iPad through the GoPro App, then send it to your PC via email, the cloud or Dropbox.

 

Hope this helps. 

 

Thanks, 
Marius

Tourist
Posts: 7

Re: GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

Hello @mariustanya,

 

thank you a million times for the info with the link to github. I've just had a quick view and seems very interesting. I'll try the advices there (e.g. not to use buffer with ffmpeg for lower latency) and see if the 2.4 GHz is sufficient for my purposes. That does not answer if it is a bug in the GoPro 6 not to show up in the wifi-list of Windows, but I think, this could help me.

 

Kind regards,

Fernando

 

 

GoPro
Posts: 7,959

Re: GoPro Hero 6 WiFi not showing on Windows 10 if using the 5 GHz band

Thank you, too @nicesand1803! The unanswered question is still a question of interest. We will definitely put out an update once a literature on it is established. Appreciate you reporting this observation. Let us know how it works out with trying the advice/s. It will help other users who might be having the same concern as well. 

 

Best regards,

Marius