Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-54812%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EGoPro%20Hero%205%20Black%20stuck%20in%20night%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-54812%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20everyone%2CI%20bought%20a%20Hero%205%20Black%20some%20days%20ago%2C%20very%20nice%20camera%20but%20I'm%20experiencing%20some%20issues.Yesterday%20night%20I%20tried%20to%20record%20a%20night%20lapse%20but%20after%20some%20minutes%20the%20GoPro%20stopped%20taking%20photos%20and%20started%20to%20not%20respond%20to%20any%20command.%20If%20I%20press%20Mode%20button%20the%20GoPro%20says%20%22Saving%22%20on%20the%20small%20screen%20and%20there%20was%20no%20way%20to%20make%20it%20work.%20On%20the%20touchscreen%20I%20could%20see%20the%20normal%20icons%20but%20also%20the%20timer%20stopped%20counting%20and%20touching%20the%20screen%20gives%20no%20response.I%20had%20to%20remove%20the%20battery%20and%20turn%20it%20on%20again.The%20camera%20also%20becomes%20hot%20even%20after%20some%20minutes%2C%20I%20don't%20know%20if%20it's%20normal%20or%20not.I%20thought%20it%20can%20be%20the%20settings%20of%20the%20night%20lapse%20that%20was%20too%20%22heavy%22%20for%20the%20GoPro%20to%20handle.%20I%20set%2020%20seconds%20interval%2C%2015%20seconds%20shutter%2C%20ProTune%20with%203000K%20WB%20and%20ISO%20max-min%20800.I%20also%20tried%20with%2030%20seconds%20interval%20and%2020%20seconds%20shutter%20and%20the%20GoPro%20continued%20for%20some%20minutes%20more%2C%20stopping%20after%2045%20photos%20instead%20of%205-10%20photos.I'm%20using%20a%20SanDisk%20Extreme%20Pro%2032GB%20memory%20card%2C%20the%20one%20recommended%20on%20the%20GoPro%20website.What%20do%20you%20think%20about%20this%20problems%3F%20Do%20I%20need%20to%20send%20the%20camera%20to%20GoPro%20or%20maybe%20it%20can%20be%20a%20problem%20with%20the%20SD%20card%20or%20GoPro%20software%3FOf%20course%20I%20already%20reset%20the%20SD%20using%20the%20internal%20function%20and%20installed%20the%20latest%20firmware%20on%20the%20camera.Thanks%20in%20advance%20for%20any%20help%20and%20if%20needed%20ask%20me%20for%20any%20further%20informations.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAngelo%20G.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-54812%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO5%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-54814%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%205%20Black%20stuck%20in%20night%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-54814%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EAlthough%20not%20strictly%20related%20to%20your%20issue%2C%20your%20settings%20are%20conflicting.%20When%20you%20take%20a%20night%20shot%20of%20say%2020sec%20shutter%20then%20the%20interval%20must%20be%20set%20to%2040%20secs%20min%20so%20the%20camera%20can%20perform%20a%20black%20space%20calibration.%20Basically%20double%20the%20shutter%20time.%20Again%20totally%20unrelated%20but%20for%20best%20results%20I%20would%20have%20ISO%20max%2Fmin%20to%20100.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAs%20for%20the%20issue%20your%20having%20I%20would%20perform%20a%20factory%20reset%20then%20from%20a%20computer%20format%20the%20sd%20card%20then%20perform%20a%20manual%20firmware%20update.%20Are%20you%20sure%20your%20SD%20card%20is%20from%20a%20reputable%20supplier%3F%20They%20are%20faked%20so%20much%20these%20days%20I%20would%20only%20trust%20a%20store%20or%20trusted%20retailer.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-54816%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%205%20Black%20stuck%20in%20night%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-54816%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Esounds%20like%20the%20camera%20is%20buffering.%20%26nbsp%3BDo%20a%20bench%20test%20of%20one%2030%20sec%20%26nbsp%3Bshutter%20night%20photo%2C%20%26nbsp%3Bnightlapse%20etc%20%2C%20and%20%26nbsp%3Bthen%20add%20%26nbsp%3B%20intervals%20to%20it%20see%20what%20happens%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-54820%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Hero%205%20Black%20stuck%20in%20night%20lapse%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-54820%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20bench%20test%20isn't%20really%20required%20except%20to%20prove%20or%20disprove%20my%20theory%2C%20in%20fact%20scratch%20the%20yeah%20do%20a%20bench%20test%20like%20%3Ca%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F897%22%3E%40fishycomics%3C%2Fa%3E%26nbsp%3Bsaid%26nbsp%3Band%20ensure%20your%20interval%20is%20at%20least%20double%20the%20shutter%20time%20and%20see%20what%20happens%2C%20let%20us%20know%20how%20you%20get%20on.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBut%20put%20the%20camera%20in%20a%20dark%20cupboard%20so%20you%20see%20the%20result%20and%20not%20a%20white%20picture.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Hiker
Posts: 7
Accepted Solution

GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

Hello everyone,
I bought a Hero 5 Black some days ago, very nice camera but I'm experiencing some issues.
Yesterday night I tried to record a night lapse but after some minutes the GoPro stopped taking photos and started to not respond to any command. If I press Mode button the GoPro says "Saving" on the small screen and there was no way to make it work. On the touchscreen I could see the normal icons but also the timer stopped counting and touching the screen gives no response.
I had to remove the battery and turn it on again.
The camera also becomes hot even after some minutes, I don't know if it's normal or not.
I thought it can be the settings of the night lapse that was too "heavy" for the GoPro to handle. I set 20 seconds interval, 15 seconds shutter, ProTune with 3000K WB and ISO max-min 800.
I also tried with 30 seconds interval and 20 seconds shutter and the GoPro continued for some minutes more, stopping after 45 photos instead of 5-10 photos.
I'm using a SanDisk Extreme Pro 32GB memory card, the one recommended on the GoPro website.
What do you think about this problems? Do I need to send the camera to GoPro or maybe it can be a problem with the SD card or GoPro software?
Of course I already reset the SD using the internal function and installed the latest firmware on the camera.
Thanks in advance for any help and if needed ask me for any further informations.

 

Angelo G.


Accepted Solutions
Nomad
Posts: 536

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

Although not strictly related to your issue, your settings are conflicting. When you take a night shot of say 20sec shutter then the interval must be set to 40 secs min so the camera can perform a black space calibration. Basically double the shutter time. Again totally unrelated but for best results I would have ISO max/min to 100.

 

As for the issue your having I would perform a factory reset then from a computer format the sd card then perform a manual firmware update. Are you sure your SD card is from a reputable supplier? They are faked so much these days I would only trust a store or trusted retailer.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Nomad
Posts: 536

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

Although not strictly related to your issue, your settings are conflicting. When you take a night shot of say 20sec shutter then the interval must be set to 40 secs min so the camera can perform a black space calibration. Basically double the shutter time. Again totally unrelated but for best results I would have ISO max/min to 100.

 

As for the issue your having I would perform a factory reset then from a computer format the sd card then perform a manual firmware update. Are you sure your SD card is from a reputable supplier? They are faked so much these days I would only trust a store or trusted retailer.

Adventurer
Posts: 8,943

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

sounds like the camera is buffering.  Do a bench test of one 30 sec  shutter night photo,  nightlapse etc , and  then add   intervals to it see what happens

Nomad
Posts: 536

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

I bench test isn't really required except to prove or disprove my theory, in fact scratch the yeah do a bench test like @fishycomics said and ensure your interval is at least double the shutter time and see what happens, let us know how you get on.

 

But put the camera in a dark cupboard so you see the result and not a white picture.

Hiker
Posts: 7

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

Thank you very much for your reply, I am new to time lapse and GoPro and this will help me a lot.
Do you think that the problem could be related to the shutter time and interval?
I hope that it could be the problem, so that means my GoPro is not faulty.

As for the SD Card I am sure it's original because I bought it from Amazon
Highlighted
Hiker
Posts: 7

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

What does it mean to make a bench test?
Hiker
Posts: 7

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

Yes I'll try to set the interval double than the shutter and see if that's the problem
Adventurer
Posts: 8,943

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Black stuck in night lapse

ttroiubleshoot your issues  at home  while you got time.  not in the field

 

Qhat is a field. you gonna ask

 

 

 bench test , test out troubleshoot  your issues

   in thefield where you shoot 

 

SMILES

 

FISH