Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-310398%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EGoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-310398%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3ENot%20sure%20if%20this%20will%20be%20a%20possible%20workaround%20for%20Fusion%20Studio%20users%2C%20but%20I%20had%20trouble%20with%20rendering%20at%205.2k%20Cineform.%20What%20was%20happening%20for%20me%20was%20memory%20usage%20would%20skyrocket%20past%2090%25%20and%20would%20close%20the%20program%20without%20any%20warning%20to%20prevent%20the%20system%20from%20completely%20locking%20up%2Fcrashing.%20I%20did%20research%20on%20the%20forums%20and%20didn't%20find%20anything%20useful%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EMy%20system%20has%2016GB%20of%20RAM...%20saving%20with%20H.264%20I%20had%20no%20issues%2C%20ProRes%20was%20so-so%20for%20usage%2C%20but%20Cineform%20would%20use%20nearly%2060-75%25%20of%20total%20memory%20available%2C%20an%20absolute%20ridiculous%20amount.%20My%20main%20workaround%20was%20to%20close%20other%20programs%20to%20get%20my%20total%20memory%20usage%20to%20below%2030%25%20for%20my%20system%20BEFORE%20lauching%20Fusion%20Studio.%20Once%20I%20would%20begin%20the%20rendering%20process%20with%20Cineform%2C%20it%20would%20gradually%20climb%20to%20around%2080%25%20total%20usage%2C%20then%20it%20would%20finally%20level%20off%20and%20hang%20around%2080-90%25%20total%20usage%20and%20was%20successfully%20running%2C%20without%20crashing.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EMy%20advice%20for%20other%20users...%20try%20closing%20other%20programs%20that%20you're%20not%20currently%20using%20and%20monitor%20your%20memory%20usage%20with%20Task%20Manager.%20You%20could%20possibly%20adjust%20your%20Paging%20File%20Size%20(Advanced%20System%20Properties%20--%26gt%3B%20Performance%20Options%20--%26gt%3B%20Advanced%20--%26gt%3B%20Virtual%20Memory)%2C%20but%20I%20didn't%20do%20this%20step%20as%20with%20SSDs%20is%20not%20reccommended%20as%20will%20deteriorate%20number%20of%20writes%20more%20rapidly.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20don't%20know%20why%20something%20like%20this%20would%20be%20happening...%20poor%20software%20coding%20is%20all%20I%20can%20guess.%20That's%20all%20the%20advice%20I%20can%20give%20on%20this%20that%20worked%20for%20me%2C%20but%20good%20luck.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EMy%20system%20specs%3A%20Windows%2010%2C%20Intel%20Core%20i7%202600k%2C%20Nvidia%20GTX980%2C%2016%20GB%20RAM%2C%20SSDs%2C%20ASUS%20P67%20Sabertooth%20Mobo%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-310398%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EFusion%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-316232%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-316232%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EIt%20is%20a%20known%20bug%2C%20if%20you%20are%20keen%20to%20use%20cineform%20though%2C%20what%20I%20do%20is%20to%20keep%20task%20manager%20open%20and%20monitor%20the%20memory%20usage%2C%20if%20it%20gets%20above%2090%25%20I%20pause%20the%20current%20render%20in%20Fusion%20Studio%2C%20wait%20for%20memory%20to%20get%20below%2040%25%20and%20then%20resume.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EAnother%20work%20around%20is%20to%20swap%20from%20360%20audio%20to%20normal%20stereo%2C%20there%20won't%20be%20a%20memory%20leak%20this%20way%20but%20you%20will%20loose%20the%20directional%20audio%20which%20is%20a%20big%20no%20no%20for%20me%2C%20so%20I%20usually%20just%20use%20H.264%2C%20if%20it's%20CineForm%20for%20editing%20purposes%20then%20I%20have%20to%20babysit%20the%20process.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-340584%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-340584%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20am%20having%20this%20exact%20issue.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20had%20submitted%20this%20as%20a%20big%20to%20GoPro%20and%20it%20has%20not%20been%20corrected.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20have%20also%20tested%20the%20new%20Fusion%202.0%20beta%20software%20and%20the%20problem%20still%20exists.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20wish%20this%20would%20be%20corrected.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-340591%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-340591%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20just%20found%20a%20weird%20workaround.%20So%20it%20appears%20that%20our%20computers%20are%20running%20faster%20than%20the%20program%20is%20calculating%20for.%26nbsp%3B%20It%20we%20can%20slow%20down%20the%20speed%20at%20which%20it%20converts%2C%20it%20should%20be%20possible%20to%20keep%20the%20memory%20under%20control.%26nbsp%3B%20If%20not%2C%20it%20keeps%20increasing%20until%20it%20maxes%20out.%26nbsp%3B%20What%20I%20have%20done%20it%20limit%20the%20amount%20of%20cores%20it%20is%20using%20to%20slow%20down%20the%20conversion%20and%20keep%20the%20memory%20growth%20in%20check.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBefore%20starting%20the%20conversion%20process%2C%20open%20the%20task%20manager%20and%20do%20the%20following%20(Your%20fusion%20software%20must%20be%20open%20to%20do%20this)%3A%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E1.%20Find%20the%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Process%20on%20the%20Processes%20tab%20and%20right%20click%20on%20the%20process.%26nbsp%3B%20Click%20the%20go%20to%20details.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CIMG%20src%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fvcsem46788.i.lithium.com%2Ft5%2Fimage%2Fserverpage%2Fimage-id%2F6160i0048C1A0965ACDC5%2Fimage-size%2Foriginal%3Fv%3D1.0%26amp%3Bpx%3D-1%22%20border%3D%220%22%20alt%3D%22clip1.png%22%20title%3D%22clip1.png%22%20%2F%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E2.%26nbsp%3B%20Choosing%20this%20option%20will%20take%20you%20to%20the%20details%20tab%20where%20you%20you%20should%20see%20the%20program's%20.exe%20running.%26nbsp%3B%20You'll%20right%20click%20on%20this%20and%20choose%20set%20affinity%20to%20select%20how%20many%20processsors%20you%20want%20this%20program%20to%20use.%26nbsp%3B%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CIMG%20src%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fvcsem46788.i.lithium.com%2Ft5%2Fimage%2Fserverpage%2Fimage-id%2F6161i5C605A012CE03213%2Fimage-size%2Foriginal%3Fv%3D1.0%26amp%3Bpx%3D-1%22%20border%3D%220%22%20alt%3D%22clip2.png%22%20title%3D%22clip2.png%22%20%2F%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E3.%26nbsp%3B%26nbsp%3BI%20selected%202%20as%20any%20more%20makes%20my%20memory%20creep%20up%20too%20fast%20and%20crash%20the%20program.%26nbsp%3B%20It%20worked%20perfectly%20and%20videos%20converted%20just%20fine.%26nbsp%3B%20To%20be%20honest%2C%20I%20don't%20know%20why%20but%20I%20didn't%20notice%20the%20conversion%20process%20taking%20signifigantly%20longer.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CIMG%20src%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fvcsem46788.i.lithium.com%2Ft5%2Fimage%2Fserverpage%2Fimage-id%2F6162i911A45DCD730961E%2Fimage-size%2Foriginal%3Fv%3D1.0%26amp%3Bpx%3D-1%22%20border%3D%220%22%20alt%3D%22clip3.png%22%20title%3D%22clip3.png%22%20%2F%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EHope%20this%20works%20as%20well%20on%20your%20computers%20as%20it%20did%20on%20mine.%26nbsp%3B%20Keep%20adjusting%20how%20many%20CPUs%20to%20find%20the%20perfect%20mix.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESteve%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-342970%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-342970%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThis%20did%20it%20for%20me.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20have%20a%20more%20than%20capable%20computer%2C%20overclocked%20i7-6700k%2C%2024GB%20of%20RAM%20and%20an%20RTX%202080%2C%20however%20when%20I%20tried%20to%20render%20video%20with%20the%20default%20settings%20(5.2k%2C%20Cinneform%20'422%20high'%20etc)%20It%20would%20keep%20consuming%20more%20and%20more%20memory%20and%20finaly%20crash%20around%2015-20%25.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20was%20already%20researching%20alternative%20cameras%20when%20I%20came%20across%20your%20post.%26nbsp%3B%20Setting%20the%20affinity%20to%203%20processors%20does%20the%20trick.%26nbsp%3B%20It%20never%20goes%20above%2011GB%20of%20Ram.%26nbsp%3B%20Granted%2C%20it's%20going%20to%20take%20a%20bit%20longer%2C%20but%20I%20guess%20I%20can%20live%20with%20that.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThank%20you!%20You've%20saved%20me%20returning%20this%20camera.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-342974%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-342974%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EWith%20some%20experimentation%2C%20I've%20realized%20That%20I%20can%20select%20all%207%20of%20my%20other%20processors%2C%20and%20just%20leave%20'CPU%200'%20unchecked%2C%20and%20it%20works%20just%20fine.%26nbsp%3B%20If%20I%20leave%20CPU%200%20checked%2C%20it%20crashes%20at%2015-17%25%20every%20time.%26nbsp%3B%20Strange.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-343180%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-343180%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI'm%20glad%20it%20worked%20for%20you!%26nbsp%3B%20That%20is%20definitely%20interesting%20that%20you%20can%20just%20uncheck%20CPU%200%20and%20you%20are%20good-to-go.%26nbsp%3B%20I'll%20have%20to%20try%20that%20myself.%26nbsp%3B%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-355245%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-355245%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EIm%20guessing%20GoPro%20never%20fixed%20this%3F%20I%20kept%20watching%20my%20RAM%20until%20it%20reached%2090%25%20and%20then%20paused%20the%20rendering%20until%20it%20went%20back%20down%20to%2010%25.%20I%20have%2032GB%20of%20RAM%20and%20I've%20never%20seen%20any%20other%20program%20use%20so%20much.%20Why%20hasn't%20GoPro%20even%20responded%20to%20this%3F%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-356273%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-356273%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ENot%20that%20I%20can%20tell.%20As%20far%20as%20I%20can%20tell%2C%20it's%20been%20an%20issue%20since%20release.%20Seems%20like%20GoPro%20has%20nixed%20the%20Fusion%20project.%20Maybe%20forever%2C%20or%20maybe%20until%20the%20Fusion%202%20comes%20out%3F%20I%20wouldn't%20count%20on%20a%20fix%20though.%20It's%20still%20a%20great%20camera%2C%20just%20super%20buggy%20software.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-356407%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-356407%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3ESee%20if%20the%20information%2F%20steps%20on%20this%20thread%20will%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2FGoPro-Apps-for-Desktop%2Fgopro-fusion-studio-1-3-uses-16gb-memory-then-crashes%2Ftd-p%2F262068%2Fpage%2F2%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3Ehelp%3C%2FA%3E.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EEj%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-356420%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20Crashing%20(High%20Memory%20Usage)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-356420%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EIm%20aware%20of%20those%20steps%2C%20I%20just%20wanted%20to%20know%20if%20GoPro%20actually%20made%20a%20fix.%20Its%20tedious%20having%20to%20pause%20the%20rendering%20process%20every%20time%20my%20RAM%20fills%20up%20to%20avoid%20the%20system%20crashing.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Sightseer
Posts: 1

GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 Crashing (High Memory Usage)

Not sure if this will be a possible workaround for Fusion Studio users, but I had trouble with rendering at 5.2k Cineform. What was happening for me was memory usage would skyrocket past 90% and would close the program without any warning to prevent the system from completely locking up/crashing. I did research on the forums and didn't find anything useful

 

My system has 16GB of RAM... saving with H.264 I had no issues, ProRes was so-so for usage, but Cineform would use nearly 60-75% of total memory available, an absolute ridiculous amount. My main workaround was to close other programs to get my total memory usage to below 30% for my system BEFORE lauching Fusion Studio. Once I would begin the rendering process with Cineform, it would gradually climb to around 80% total usage, then it would finally level off and hang around 80-90% total usage and was successfully running, without crashing.

 

My advice for other users... try closing other programs that you're not currently using and monitor your memory usage with Task Manager. You could possibly adjust your Paging File Size (Advanced System Properties --> Performance Options --> Advanced --> Virtual Memory), but I didn't do this step as with SSDs is not reccommended as will deteriorate number of writes more rapidly.

 

I don't know why something like this would be happening... poor software coding is all I can guess. That's all the advice I can give on this that worked for me, but good luck.

 

My system specs: Windows 10, Intel Core i7 2600k, Nvidia GTX980, 16 GB RAM, SSDs, ASUS P67 Sabertooth Mobo

Hiker
Posts: 11

Re: GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 Crashing (High Memory Usage)

It is a known bug, if you are keen to use cineform though, what I do is to keep task manager open and monitor the memory usage, if it gets above 90% I pause the current render in Fusion Studio, wait for memory to get below 40% and then resume.

Another work around is to swap from 360 audio to normal stereo, there won't be a memory leak this way but you will loose the directional audio which is a big no no for me, so I usually just use H.264, if it's CineForm for editing purposes then I have to babysit the process.
Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 Crashing (High Memory Usage)

I am having this exact issue.  I had submitted this as a big to GoPro and it has not been corrected.  I have also tested the new Fusion 2.0 beta software and the problem still exists.

 

I wish this would be corrected.

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 Crashing (High Memory Usage)

I just found a weird workaround. So it appears that our computers are running faster than the program is calculating for.  It we can slow down the speed at which it converts, it should be possible to keep the memory under control.  If not, it keeps increasing until it maxes out.  What I have done it limit the amount of cores it is using to slow down the conversion and keep the memory growth in check.

 

Before starting the conversion process, open the task manager and do the following (Your fusion software must be open to do this):

 

1. Find the GoPro Fusion Process on the Processes tab and right click on the process.  Click the go to details.

 

clip1.png

 

2.  Choosing this option will take you to the details tab where you you should see the program's .exe running.  You'll right click on this and choose set affinity to select how many processsors you want this program to use.  

clip2.png

 

3.  I selected 2 as any more makes my memory creep up too fast and crash the program.  It worked perfectly and videos converted just fine.  To be honest, I don't know why but I didn't notice the conversion process taking signifigantly longer.

clip3.png

 

Hope this works as well on your computers as it did on mine.  Keep adjusting how many CPUs to find the perfect mix.

 

Steve

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 Crashing (High Memory Usage)

This did it for me.  I have a more than capable computer, overclocked i7-6700k, 24GB of RAM and an RTX 2080, however when I tried to render video with the default settings (5.2k, Cinneform '422 high' etc) It would keep consuming more and more memory and finaly crash around 15-20%.  I was already researching alternative cameras when I came across your post.  Setting the affinity to 3 processors does the trick.  It never goes above 11GB of Ram.  Granted, it's going to take a bit longer, but I guess I can live with that. 

 

Thank you! You've saved me returning this camera. 

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 Crashing (High Memory Usage)

With some experimentation, I've realized That I can select all 7 of my other processors, and just leave 'CPU 0' unchecked, and it works just fine.  If I leave CPU 0 checked, it crashes at 15-17% every time.  Strange. 

Tourist
Posts: 3

Re: GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 Crashing (High Memory Usage)

I'm glad it worked for you!  That is definitely interesting that you can just uncheck CPU 0 and you are good-to-go.  I'll have to try that myself.  

Hiker
Posts: 9

Re: GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 Crashing (High Memory Usage)

Im guessing GoPro never fixed this? I kept watching my RAM until it reached 90% and then paused the rendering until it went back down to 10%. I have 32GB of RAM and I've never seen any other program use so much. Why hasn't GoPro even responded to this?