Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-347880%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EFusion%20audio%20sync%20problem.%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-347880%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EThis%20is%20a%20problem%20that%20keeps%20happening.%20It%20doesn't%20matter%20at%20what%20resolution%20I%20render%20in%2C%20but%20after%20about%205-10%20minutes%20or%20so%2C%20the%20sound%20gets%20unsynchronized%20with%20the%20video.%20If%20I%20want%20to%20fix%20it%2C%20I%20have%20to%20manually%20go%20in%20Premiere%20and%20try%20to%20match%20the%20frame%20of%20video%20with%20the%20sound.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EMy%20camera%20and%20Fusion%20Studio%20have%20always%20been%20updated%20and%20this%20ALWAYS%20happens.%20Am%20I%20missing%20something%3F%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EPC%20specs%3A%20i7%207700%2C%2032gb%20Ram%2C%20GTX%201070%2C%20and%20all%20work%20is%20done%20off%20M.2%20SSD.%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-347880%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EFusion%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-349558%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Fusion%20audio%20sync%20problem.%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-349558%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F44165%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40robertof8635%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EWhat%20software%20version%20is%20your%20Fusion%20on%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EWhat%20version%20of%20Fusion%20Studio%20do%20you%20have%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EDo%20these%20videos%20have%20chaptered%20files%3F%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EEj%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-349561%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Fusion%20audio%20sync%20problem.%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-349561%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EI've%20always%20kept%20my%20camera%20updated%20along%20with%20Fusion%20Studio.%20I%20also%20have%20the%20beta%205.6k%20installed%20on%20the%20Fusion%2C%20but%20the%20sound%20problem%20was%20happening%20before%20that.%20Fusion%20Studio%20is%20at%201.4%20and%20Camera%20at%202.0.%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EThe%20files%20are%20chaptered.%20Should%20they%20not%20be%3F%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-352711%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Fusion%20audio%20sync%20problem.%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-352711%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHello%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F44165%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40robertof8635%3C%2FA%3E.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EFusion%20files%20are%20chaptered%20depending%20on%20the%20file%20size.%20There%20are%20details%20here%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fquestion_answer%2FGoPro-Camera-File-Chaptering-Information%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3EGoPro%20Camera%20File%20Chaptering%20Information%3C%2FA%3E%26nbsp%3Bthat%20you%20may%20refer%20to.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EIn%20your%20case%2C%20it%20would%20be%20best%20to%20get%20in%20touch%20with%20our%20Support%20team%20so%20they%20can%20assist%20you%20further%20and%20bring%26nbsp%3B%20the%20matter%20over%20to%20the%20Fusion%20team.%20It%20would%20be%20best%20if%20you%20have%20sample%20files%20showing%20the%20audio%20issue%20ready.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EYou%20may%20reach%20Support%20by%20phone%20or%20chat%20through%26nbsp%3B%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2FContactUs%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2FContactUs%3C%2FA%3E%26nbsp%3B.%20If%20possible%2C%20please%20keep%20this%20thread%20posted%20with%20progress%20on%20your%20case.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThanks%2C%26nbsp%3B%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20Marius%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-365529%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Fusion%20audio%20sync%20problem.%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-365529%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Ei'm%20experiencing%20similar%20audio%20sync%20drifting....%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Ethe%20videos%20were%20recorded%20at%205.2k%26nbsp%3B%40%2024%20fps%20(windows%20properties%20indicated%2023.98%20fps%20-%20which%20is%20NTSC%20drop%20frame%20-%20with%20128kbps%2048%20khz%20audio)...the%20camera%20version%20is%20FS1.04.02.00.00%20(it's%20the%20beta%20firmware%202.0)...%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Eon%20my%20PC%2C%20using%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20desktop%20on%20Windows%2010...i9%203.3%20GHz%20system%20with%26nbsp%3B%26nbsp%3B32%20GB%20Ram%20and%20nvidia%20quadro%20P4000%20GPU...%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Ei%20recorded%20two%2020%20minute%20test%20sets%20of%20my%20live%20music%20performance...i%20first%20converted%20the%20full%202x20%20minute%20files%20into%20h264%20*.mp4%20from%20GoPro%20Fusion%20Studio%201.3%20and%20noted%20that%20the%20audio%2Fvideo%20sync%20kept%20creeping%20further%20and%20further%20away%20as%20time%20passed...%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Ei'm%20gessing%20that%20the%20video%20is%20lagging%20behind%20the%20audio%20as%20I%20didn't%20seem%20to%20notice%20any%20ptich%20shifting%20in%20the%20music...could%20it%20be%20that%20the%20frame%20rate%20is%20not%20being%20upconverted%20properly%20to%20interleave%2Fsync%20along%20with%20the%20sample%20rate%20of%20the%20audio%3F..just%20a%20guess...%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Eto%20experiment%2C%20i%20then%20exported%20each%20song%20seperately%20-%20there%20was%203%20in%20each%20session%20-%20by%20creating%20copies%20of%20each%2020%20minute%20video%20and%20trimming%20them%20in%20the%20timeline%20for%20each%20song%20in%20fusion%20studio%20with%20the%20orginal%20source%20material...i%20was%20hoping%20that%20this%20would%20minimize%20the%20ramping%20drift%20but%20the%20sync%20offset%20remained%20the%20same%20as%20if%20it%20was%20simply%20pulled%20from%20the%20full%2020%20minute%20exported%20h.264%20mp4%20video...%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Ein%20each%20case%2C%20the%20sync%20was%20perfect%20at%20the%20beginning%20but%20drifted%20by%20almost%20a%20second%20by%20the%20end%20of%20the%20video%20(6-8%20minutes%20long)...i%20thought%20about%20slicing%20the%20video%20up%20in%20many%20places%20in%20adobe%20premiere%20to%20compensate%20for%20the%20creep%2C%20but%20beleived%20it%20would%20prove%20difficult%20and%20time%20consumming%20to%20make%20it%20look%20right%20(time%20stretching%2C%20copying%20frame%20etc.)...%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Ei%20did%20notice%20tho%20that%20when%20i%20previewed%20the%20video%20in%20fusion%20studio%20itself%2C%20there%20seemed%20to%20be%20no%20audio%20sync%20issues%20so%20i%20imagined%20that%20it%20might%20be%20an%20encoding%20problem%20with%20the%20h.264%20format%20in%20fusion%20studio%3F..with%20that%20thought%2C%20i%20re-exported%20the%20videos%20to%20the%20CineForm%20codec%20and%20then%20brought%20those%20into%20adobe%20media%20encoder%20to%20covert%20down%20to%20h.264%20*.mp4%20format...this%20procedure%20solved%20the%20sync%20issues!..%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Eafter%20fussing%20with%20this%20for%20almost%20a%20day%2C%20i'm%20glad%20to%20have%20found%20some%20sort%20of%20work%20arround%20for%20this...however%20i%20must%20admit%20that%20i'm%20not%20overly%20enthussed%20about%20adding%20an%20intermediate%20encoding%20step%20--more%20rendering%20time--into%20my%20workflow%20and%20now%20having%20to%20rely%20on%20a%20third%20party%20software%20(that%20some%20user%20may%20not%20have%20access%20to)....but%20this%20seems%20to%20be%20a%20lot%20better%20then%20trying%20to%20get%20it%20all%20synced%20up%20in%20a%20video%20editing%20app%20%3B)%20....%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CFONT%20face%3D%22arial%2Chelvetica%2Csans-serif%22%3Ehope%20this%20work-around%20may%20be%20usefull%20to%20some%20of%20you%20and%20i%20sincerly%20hope%20that%20Gopro%20can%20look%20into%20this%20issue%20further%20to%20keep%20the%20h.264%20process%20all%20in-house...%3C%2FFONT%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-366020%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Fusion%20audio%20sync%20problem.%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-366020%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3Ehumm%2C%20just%20an%20update...still%20noticed%20some%20sync%20issues%20even%20with%20my%20%22work-around%22%20with%20a%20few%20of%20the%20files...%3A(%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ei%20tired%20using%20the%20the%20beta%20fusion%20studio%201.4%20but%20still%20no%20go...i%20wonder%20if%20this%20is%20only%20at%20the%205.6K...anyone%20else%20experiencing%20similar%20issue%20with%20the%20a%20recorded%20lower%20resolution%20but%20better%20frame%20rate%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Hiker
Posts: 9

Fusion audio sync problem.

This is a problem that keeps happening. It doesn't matter at what resolution I render in, but after about 5-10 minutes or so, the sound gets unsynchronized with the video. If I want to fix it, I have to manually go in Premiere and try to match the frame of video with the sound.

My camera and Fusion Studio have always been updated and this ALWAYS happens. Am I missing something?

PC specs: i7 7700, 32gb Ram, GTX 1070, and all work is done off M.2 SSD.
GoPro
Posts: 10,603

Re: Fusion audio sync problem.

Hi @robertof8635

 

What software version is your Fusion on?

What version of Fusion Studio do you have?

Do these videos have chaptered files?

 

Thanks!

Ej

 

Hiker
Posts: 9

Re: Fusion audio sync problem.

I've always kept my camera updated along with Fusion Studio. I also have the beta 5.6k installed on the Fusion, but the sound problem was happening before that. Fusion Studio is at 1.4 and Camera at 2.0.

The files are chaptered. Should they not be?
GoPro
Posts: 8,294

Re: Fusion audio sync problem.

Hello @robertof8635

 

Fusion files are chaptered depending on the file size. There are details here GoPro Camera File Chaptering Information that you may refer to. 

In your case, it would be best to get in touch with our Support team so they can assist you further and bring  the matter over to the Fusion team. It would be best if you have sample files showing the audio issue ready. 

 

You may reach Support by phone or chat through https://gopro.com/help/ContactUs . If possible, please keep this thread posted with progress on your case. 

 

Thanks, 
Marius

 

Tourist
Posts: 2

Re: Fusion audio sync problem.

[ Edited ]

i'm experiencing similar audio sync drifting....

 

the videos were recorded at 5.2k @ 24 fps (windows properties indicated 23.98 fps - which is NTSC drop frame - with 128kbps 48 khz audio)...the camera version is FS1.04.02.00.00 (it's the beta firmware 2.0)...

 

on my PC, using GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 desktop on Windows 10...i9 3.3 GHz system with  32 GB Ram and nvidia quadro P4000 GPU...


i recorded two 20 minute test sets of my live music performance...i first converted the full 2x20 minute files into h264 *.mp4 from GoPro Fusion Studio 1.3 and noted that the audio/video sync kept creeping further and further away as time passed...

 

i'm gessing that the video is lagging behind the audio as I didn't seem to notice any ptich shifting in the music...could it be that the frame rate is not being upconverted properly to interleave/sync along with the sample rate of the audio?..just a guess...

 

to experiment, i then exported each song seperately - there was 3 in each session - by creating copies of each 20 minute video and trimming them in the timeline for each song in fusion studio with the orginal source material...i was hoping that this would minimize the ramping drift but the sync offset remained the same as if it was simply pulled from the full 20 minute exported h.264 mp4 video...

 

in each case, the sync was perfect at the beginning but drifted by almost a second by the end of the video (6-8 minutes long)...i thought about slicing the video up in many places in adobe premiere to compensate for the creep, but beleived it would prove difficult and time consumming to make it look right (time stretching, copying frame etc.)...

 

i did notice tho that when i previewed the video in fusion studio itself, there seemed to be no audio sync issues so i imagined that it might be an encoding problem with the h.264 format in fusion studio?..with that thought, i re-exported the videos to the CineForm codec and then brought those into adobe media encoder to covert down to h.264 *.mp4 format...this procedure solved the sync issues!..

 

after fussing with this for almost a day, i'm glad to have found some sort of work arround for this...however i must admit that i'm not overly enthussed about adding an intermediate encoding step --more rendering time--into my workflow and now having to rely on a third party software (that some user may not have access to)....but this seems to be a lot better then trying to get it all synced up in a video editing app ;) ....

 

hope this work-around may be usefull to some of you and i sincerly hope that Gopro can look into this issue further to keep the h.264 process all in-house...

Tourist
Posts: 2

Re: Fusion audio sync problem.

humm, just an update...still noticed some sync issues even with my "work-around" with a few of the files...:(

 

i tired using the the beta fusion studio 1.4 but still no go...i wonder if this is only at the 5.6K...anyone else experiencing similar issue with the a recorded lower resolution but better frame rate?

Highlighted
Hiker
Posts: 9

Re: Fusion audio sync problem.

When I manually sync the sound in Premiere, I don't notice any change in frame rate. When I record live bands ill use another microphone or a GoPro, I then autosync within Premiere with those other sound files to find where the audio goes wrong. I noticed the fraction of sound missing from the Fusion audio is overlapped by the rest of the Fusion audio audio.