Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Highlighted
Tourist

Defective Camera - Customer Service Issue

I previously purchased a GoPro Hero 3+ Black with a lot of excitement as I’m a travel photographer, and was looking forward to the versatility and variety of unique shots the camera would add to my current setup.  However, quickly after purchase, the camera began experiencing major freezing issues where I regularly had to disengage the battery before I could take a photo or video.  The entire time I had the camera, I was only able to create five videos, as it was impossible to operate without consistent freezing issues.  The camera then stopped taking any photos or videos at all, with its functionality limited to turning on and freezing immediately thereafter.

I reached out to customer service a number of times and followed their instruction to manually update the firmware, while doing this several times on my own as well.  I tried using different computers, different new and approved SD cards, but nothing fixed the issue.  Customer service deemed the item defective and unrepairable and offered a 40% discount for a new GoPro, provided I send them my broken camera.

While the offer was nice, it would require me to spend another hundred dollars on a new camera.  I had already spent a few hundred on the model I was only able to use 5 times before it malfunctioned, and would now have the additional cost of purchasing a new one.  Nevertheless, I sent in my camera, and upon receipt, called the sales team to order the new Hero 6 model, as they advised.