Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Find a solution. Share a solution. Ask a question. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-279576%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EDavinci%20Resolve%2015%20-%20Hero%207%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-279576%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHey%20All%2C%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ESo%20I%20have%20been%20playing%20around%20with%20my%20new%20Hero7%20Black%2C%20and%20I%20cant%20seem%20to%20edit%20at%20all%20in%20Davinci%20Resolve%2C%20it%20just%20doesnt%20show%20a%20preview%20for%20the%20video%2C%20when%20i%20import%20it%20there%20is%20no%20playback..%20occasionally%20it%20shows%20a%20playback%2C%20but%20then%20I%20get%20error%2077.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Eanyone%20else%20using%20Davinci%20that%20could%20help%20%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-279576%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO7%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-305395%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Davinci%20Resolve%2015%20-%20Hero%207%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-305395%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20am%20having%20the%20same%20issue!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-305433%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Davinci%20Resolve%2015%20-%20Hero%207%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-305433%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EA%20lot%20of%20people%20have%20being%20having%20this%20issue%20with%20the%20latest%20version%20of%20DaVinci%20Resolve.%26nbsp%3B%20Here's%20some%20things%20you%20can%20try.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EAdjust%20the%20frame%20rate%20of%20your%20render.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%20class%3D%22s90z9tc-10%20fHRkcP%22%3ETry%20generating%20optimized%20media%20and%20then%20selecting%20optimized%20media%20when%20you%20render.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%20class%3D%22s90z9tc-10%20fHRkcP%22%3ESelect%20all%20the%20clips%20in%20the%20timeline%2C%20right%20click%2C%20select%20generate%20optimized%20media%2C%20let%20that%20render.%20Then%20select%20use%20optimized%20media%20when%20you%20render%20which%20is%20on%20the%20video%20tab%20on%20the%20delivery%20page.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%20class%3D%22s90z9tc-10%20fHRkcP%22%3EI%20hope%20that%20helps!%20Also%20check%20preferences%20for%20any%20GPU%20settings%20that%20Resolve%20may%20have%20regarding%20your%20card.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%20class%3D%22s90z9tc-10%20fHRkcP%22%3EMake%20sure%20you%20turn%26nbsp%3B%3CSPAN%3EForce%20Debayer%20to%20highest%20quality.%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%20class%3D%22s90z9tc-10%20fHRkcP%22%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%20class%3D%22s90z9tc-10%20fHRkcP%22%3E%3CSPAN%3EIf%20you're%20worried%20about%20quality%20loss%20when%20using%20optimized%20media%2C%20you%20can%20increase%20the%20bit%20rate%20to%20make%20up%20for%20any%20loss%20in%20quality.%3C%2FSPAN%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-305646%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Davinci%20Resolve%2015%20-%20Hero%207%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-305646%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EIf%20you're%20using%20the%20free%20version%20of%20Resolve%20then%20the%20issue%20is%20probably%20the%20lack%20of%20support%20for%20HEVC%20(h.265).%26nbsp%3B%20You%20have%20to%20pay%20for%20the%20Studio%20version%20of%20resolve%20to%20get%20HEVC%20support%3A%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fdocuments.blackmagicdesign.com%2FDaVinciResolve%2F20181116-71de82%2FDaVinci_Resolve_15_Feature_Comparison.pdf%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fdocuments.blackmagicdesign.com%2FDaVinciResolve%2F20181116-71de82%2FDaVinci_Resolve_15_Feature_Comparison.pdf%3C%2FA%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EYou'll%20have%20to%20use%20H.264%20in%20camera%20as%20much%20as%20you%20can.%26nbsp%3B%20Where%20HEVC%20is%20the%20only%20in%20camera%20option%2C%20you'll%20have%20to%20convert%20the%20footage%20to%20H.264%20using%20something%20like%20Handbrake%20after%20the%20fact.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-334409%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Davinci%20Resolve%2015%20-%20Hero%207%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-334409%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHey%20everyone...%20not%20sure%20if%20you%20guys%20solved%20this%20issue%20or%20not...%20I%20took%20a%20ski%20trip%20and%20filmed%20in%204k%20%40%2060%20FPS%20(HEVC%20only)%20only%20to%20be%20disappointed%20that%20DaVinci%20Resolve%20didn't%20want%20to%20let%20me%20edit%20it....%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBeing%20the%20nerd%20I%20am%2C%20I%20dug%20into%20things%20and%20found%20the%20easy%20solution.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20made%20a%20video%20on%20YouTube%20that%20describes%20the%20issue%20with%20H.265%20vs%20H.264%20and%20how%20to%20fix%20it.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EYou%20can%20record%20in%20HEVC%20and%20easily%20edit%20in%20Resolve%2015.%26nbsp%3B%20You%20just%20need%20the%20HEVC%20codec%20for%20Windows.%26nbsp%3B%20Also%2C%20an%20Intel%207th%20gen%20processer%20or%20newer%20(older%20ones%20may%20work%20but%20might%20be%20slowwwww).%26nbsp%3B%20For%20reference%2C%20I%20have%20a%207700K%20with%20an%20NVidia%20GTX%201080%20gpu....%20I%20generally%20can%20render%2010%20FPS.%26nbsp%3B%20It%20pegs%20my%20CPU%20at%2098%25%20and%20my%20GPU%20is%20only%20about%2010%25%20utilized...%20it's%20a%20BIG%20bottleneck%20on%20the%20CPU%20since%20it%20has%20to%20decode%20and%20reencode.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ELink%20to%20how%20to%20fix%20this%3A%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DBhqPd8bWdOY%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DBhqPd8bWdOY%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3ELink%20to%20the%20codec%20(FREE%20from%20Microsoft%20for%20Win10%20FTW)%20is%20in%20the%20video's%20description.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EHope%20it%20helps%20you%20guys%20out!%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-334448%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Davinci%20Resolve%2015%20-%20Hero%207%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-334448%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Eeasy%20way%3A%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E1.%20Install%20Handbrake%20(free)%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CSTRONG%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fhandbrake.fr%2F%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fhandbrake.fr%2F%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FSTRONG%3E%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E2.%20Convert%20orginal%20file%20using%20%22same%20as%20source%22%20settings%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E3.%20Import%20to%20DaVinci%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EPS%3A%20Buy%20Sony%20Vegas%20-%20always%20works%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EPS2%3A%20If%20I%20am%20not%20wrong%20-%20HEVC%20for%20WIN%20is%20paid%20%3A(%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Sightseer
Posts: 1

Davinci Resolve 15 - Hero 7 Black

Hey All, 

 

So I have been playing around with my new Hero7 Black, and I cant seem to edit at all in Davinci Resolve, it just doesnt show a preview for the video, when i import it there is no playback.. occasionally it shows a playback, but then I get error 77. 

 

anyone else using Davinci that could help ?

Sightseer
Posts: 1

Re: Davinci Resolve 15 - Hero 7 Black

I am having the same issue!

Nomad
Posts: 385

Re: Davinci Resolve 15 - Hero 7 Black

A lot of people have being having this issue with the latest version of DaVinci Resolve.  Here's some things you can try.

 

Adjust the frame rate of your render.

 

Try generating optimized media and then selecting optimized media when you render.

Select all the clips in the timeline, right click, select generate optimized media, let that render. Then select use optimized media when you render which is on the video tab on the delivery page.

I hope that helps! Also check preferences for any GPU settings that Resolve may have regarding your card.

Make sure you turn Force Debayer to highest quality.

 

If you're worried about quality loss when using optimized media, you can increase the bit rate to make up for any loss in quality.

Hiker
Posts: 11

Re: Davinci Resolve 15 - Hero 7 Black

If you're using the free version of Resolve then the issue is probably the lack of support for HEVC (h.265).  You have to pay for the Studio version of resolve to get HEVC support:
https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/DaVinciResolve/20181116-71de82/DaVinci_Resolve_15_Feature_Com...

You'll have to use H.264 in camera as much as you can.  Where HEVC is the only in camera option, you'll have to convert the footage to H.264 using something like Handbrake after the fact.

Sightseer
Posts: 1

Re: Davinci Resolve 15 - Hero 7 Black

Hey everyone... not sure if you guys solved this issue or not... I took a ski trip and filmed in 4k @ 60 FPS (HEVC only) only to be disappointed that DaVinci Resolve didn't want to let me edit it....

 

Being the nerd I am, I dug into things and found the easy solution.  I made a video on YouTube that describes the issue with H.265 vs H.264 and how to fix it.

 

You can record in HEVC and easily edit in Resolve 15.  You just need the HEVC codec for Windows.  Also, an Intel 7th gen processer or newer (older ones may work but might be slowwwww).  For reference, I have a 7700K with an NVidia GTX 1080 gpu.... I generally can render 10 FPS.  It pegs my CPU at 98% and my GPU is only about 10% utilized... it's a BIG bottleneck on the CPU since it has to decode and reencode.

 

Link to how to fix this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BhqPd8bWdOY

 

Link to the codec (FREE from Microsoft for Win10 FTW) is in the video's description.

 

Hope it helps you guys out!

If this video helped you out, please like, share, and hit that notification bell to let me know! Don't forget to comment below as well!! New to my channel? Please subscribe via (CLICK THE LINK!!) and help me reach more viewers!! ...
Nomad
Posts: 226

Re: Davinci Resolve 15 - Hero 7 Black

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

easy way:

 

1. Install Handbrake (free)

https://handbrake.fr/

2. Convert orginal file using "same as source" settings

3. Import to DaVinci

 

PS: Buy Sony Vegas - always works

PS2: If I am not wrong - HEVC for WIN is paid :(