Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Hiker

Concerned New Gopro6 user

[ New ]

G'day all you Gopro'ers,

This is going to be long winded, so grab a drink and sit down....

So, I decided to upgrade my beloved and ever so faithful Gopro 3 that I have had since new (around 2013) to and brand new 2018 Gopro6. Every day was like christmas eve waiting postie to arrive, until it finally came in the mail, falling short of hugging him, I ran inside to play with my new $600 pruchase (as it stands I've had it for 2 weeks).

I unboxed it with the upmost of care, charged it, paired it to my phone (Samsung S8), automaticaly installed the latest firmware v02.01, set up Quik on my 2017 MBP and set out to capture the world on my new camera.

And thats where it started to fall apart. I am a musician, and I record all my gigs video (gopro footage) and audio (Logic Pro x on MBP) then  mix them together and use them for YouTube and other social media interfaces. My first ever experience; I started recording at the start of the show and about 1 1/2hrs in I notice it was not recording and there was an icon of a bandaid on the front LCD of the gopro6. Unaware of what this meant I tried to get the gopro6 to start recording again, I pressed a few buttons (infact all the buttons I could press) and it would not start recording again. 20mins later I tried the same process again (pressing as many buttons that I could find on the gopro6 and it once again started recording again, however, not for long. At this stage I have to include that I had the Gopro6 plugged into an external power supply with a generic USB to USB-C cable. The power supplys details are:

Input: 100V-240V AC 50/60Hz, 300mA

Output: 5.0V 2.1A (For USB x 4)

Off Load <0.5W