Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Hiker

Cannot Import HEVC to iPad Pro 12”

I’m new to GoPro and having a terrible first day.

ive setup protune and most of the basic settings. I then proceeded to do a test of each film mode, and then on to the transferring to iPad Pro.

First i attempted to use GoPro’s Quik app, but quickly found that the transfer is slow and only transfers a converted lower res file. Wtf? I’m about to go on holiday and need to offload the originals to my iPad for storage and edit/sharing. Why would they force you to downscale?

Anyway, that solution would not meet my requirements, so i next used the Apple lightning to SD reader (newer USB3 version) and the Sandisk MicroSD to SD adaptor that came with my microSD card. Finally this seemed promising as the Photos app popped open to the import page revealing the original files.

HOWEVER... i was disappointed to see that the files filmed in HEVC (4k60 and 1080p240) will not import. All other files filmed (4k30, 1080p30, 1080p60, and 1080p120) imported perfect;y. It is only the HEVC versions.

My iPad Pro 12” (2nd gen) is 100% capable of importimg/viewing/playing HEVC files, as i have done with HEVC files from my iPhone and my other camera. So why are these GoPro files not able to import?

GoPro

Re: Cannot Import HEVC to iPad Pro 12”

Hi @foggybeach18713

Here are some links that may come handy:

HEVC Explained

Supported Resolutions for Copy and Share in the GoPro App

To view/play HEVC files, the videos need to be downloaded to the device.

In addition to this, make sure that the camera, the app and the OS are all up to date.

Thanks!

Ej

Hiker

Thanks for your reply, but unfortunately I’ve already checked both of those links before posting.