Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Highlighted
Hiker
Accepted Solution

Bests set up for a 4k or 2.7k shoot of a concert

Hi,

Usding a Sony 4K video camera for a well lit stage concert and will use the Hero5 on a fixed stand to shoot he whole band and stage.

When HD editing in Video Pro X10, I want to be able to  zoom into some of the Hero shots.

I am new to Hero so what would the best settings be please?

Thanks

Also when I went to register the Hero as a Black 5 it said I must have reg number starting with C31.

I eventually registered it as a Hero 2018 with the C33 Reg start mine had.

Is there a diference in captute quality betweem 5 and 2018 or is 2018 still a 5 but a later model.

I attached it to the PC with Desktop Quick but no Update sign came,  so I figure it is up to date.

Would that be a correct assumption?

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Explorer

Re: Bests set up for a 4k or 2.7k shoot of a concert

The person you purchased it from sold you a HERO (2018) that they hacked and put HERO5 firmware on. If you paid more than $150, they ripped you off. The camera will work and have the functions of a HERO5, so if you are happy with it, then no big deal I guess. It's a shame though, this person is committing fraud.

As far as best settings:
4K/30fps (24 if it's very low light)
Shutter Auto
EV 0 (-0.5 in bright lighting)
ISO MIN 400 MAX 800
WB Auto is fine (manually set is better and Native is best for mixing video with other cameras. Requires ability to color grade. Native will not look good straight out of the camera)
Sharpness: Low (add sharpness back when editing as needed)
Color Fiat (again, you will need to color grade in post editing)

View solution in original post

All Replies
Highlighted
GoPro

Hello @ozstar