Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Tourist

Baseball Game Recording Settings and Storage

[ New ]

Hi All,

I just got a GoPro to record my sons travel baseball games for which I am a coach. I have never owned a camera before. I am looking for advice on recording settings. We've had two games so far.

The first game I recorded and it worked perfectly. The file sizes were large but had no issues and looked great.

I kept those same settings for game two and now I don't think I can download the footage to my computer to edit before uploading to YouTube. I'm afraid that game will be lost or stuck on my memory card.

I was recording in with 2.7K and 60 Frames per second. This was the default activity setting. 

Any advice on what settings I should be using? Keep in mind I like to go frame by frame as much as possible and pull shots out to help coach our hitters. 

Also how do you store your footage? I am uploading as private videos on Youtube, but I would also like to store the games for myself somewhere since I can't control what Youtube takes down. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Accepted Solutions
Backpacker

Re: Baseball Game Recording Settings and Storage

[ New ]

Just buy an external hard drive, attach it to your PC via the USB cable.  

What I do then is create folders on the hard drive by date followed by a brief description.  Then copy my GoPro Footage into those folders.  That way everything stays nice and organized.  Remember, always "copy" your footage, don't "Cut".  This means if there's any errors or you get interrupted, the footage is still on the card and you can continue later.  If you "Cut" the footage and get interupted, you may lose data.

This is the hard drive that I use:

https://amzn.to/3gkp4xd