Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-318308%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3EBad%20picture%20quality%20with%20H7B%20(Image%20noise)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-318308%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3E%3CP%3EHey%20everyone%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ei%20bought%20a%20new%20GoPro%20H7B%20and%20as%20soon%20as%20i%20tried%20to%20make%20same%20test%20footage%2C%20i%20realized%20that%20the%20picture%20quality%20of%20any%20video%20is%20really%20bad.%20ISO%20or%20a%20bad%20resolution%2C%20so%20i%20tried%20to%20decrease%20the%20ISO%20limit%20by%20the%20protune%20function.%20But%20as%20before%2C%20the%20image%20noise%20did%20not%20vanished.%20So%20I%20tried%20to%20alter%20any%20other%20setting%20unsuccessfully.%204K%2C%20but%20in%20the%20lower%20area%20you%20can%20see%20the%20image%20noise.%20I%20used%20protune%20with%20an%20ISO%20limit%20of%20100%2C%20so%20normally%20there%20is%20no%20noise%20in%20my%20opinion.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIf%20I%20use%20the%20camera%20at%20the%20late%20afternoon%2C%20the%20videos%20are%20really%20unuseable%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EBest%20regards%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EDavid%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-318308%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EHERO7%20Black%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-318316%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Bad%20bild%20quality%20with%20H7B%20(Image%20noise)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-318316%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EISO%20min%20100%2C%20what%20was%20your%20Max%2C%20and%20Ev%20did%20you%20tone%20down%20the%20high%20sharpness%20to%20medium.%20and%20not%20face%26nbsp%3B%20towards%20the%20Sun%20that%20may%20be%20to%20the%20right%3F%26nbsp%3B%20%26nbsp%3BJust%20saying.%26nbsp%3B%20Pic%20looks%20presentable%20on%20line%20if%20asked.l%26nbsp%3B%20For%26nbsp%3B%20a%201%2F2.3rd%20sensor.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-318331%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3ERe%3A%20Bad%20picture%20quality%20with%20H7B%20(Image%20noise)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-318331%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3E%3CP%3EISO%20min%20and%20max%20are%20100%20and%20EV%20was%200.%20Sharpness%20was%20high%2C%20but%20i%20tried%20it%20too%20low%20or%20medium.%20Is%20not%20it%20possible%20to%20almost%20completely%20remove%20these%20image%20noise.%20I%20mean%2C%20this%20video%20is%20really%20acceptable%2C%20but%20if%20i%20make%20some%20footage%20which%20has%20some%20darker%20areas%2C%20there%20is%20always%20ugly%20image%20noise.%20So%20the%20area%20is%20not%20very%20bright%2C%20the%20quality%20is%20not%20really%20good.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-318437%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Bad%20bild%20quality%20with%20H7B%20(Image%20noise)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-318437%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F94949%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40loyalpeak13004%3C%2FA%3E%2C%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EThis%20appears%20normal%20for%20me.%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EGoPro%20cameras%20come%20with%20a%20fixed%20f%2F2.8%20lens.%20The%20HERO7%20Black%20has%2012MP%20with%20ISO%206400%20max%20limit%20%2F%20ISO%20100%20min.%20And%20setting%20up%20the%20camera%20to%20the%20minimum%20ISO%20limit%20will%20not%20completely%20eliminate%20the%20image%20noise.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%20I%20suggest%20that%20you%20can%20try%20to%20toggle%20EV%20while%20sticking%20with%20ISO%20100%20limit.%20The%20exposure%20compensation%20will%20affect%20the%20brightness%20of%20your%20video%20within%20the%20existing%20ISO%20limit.%20I%20usually%20use%20-0.5%2C%200%2C%20and%20%2B1%2C%20depending%20on%20the%20area's%20lighting%20state.%20You%20can%20also%20utilize%20the%20Auto%20Low%20Light%20mode%20to%20allow%20the%20camera%20to%20adjust%20the%20frame%20rate%20automatically%20according%20to%20light%20conditions.%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EIn%20addition%2C%20you%20also%20may%20try%20re-flashing%20the%20firmware%20update%20of%20your%20camera.%20Updating%20is%20highly%20encouraged%20since%20it%20is%20a%20great%20way%20to%20ensure%20that%20your%20camera%20has%20the%20latest%20features%2C%20as%20well%20as%20to%20help%20correct%20any%20errors%20with%20the%20current%20software%20installation.%20You%20can%20follow%20the%20manual%20update%20instructions%20specified%20on%20this%20article%3A%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fhow_to%2Fsoftware-update-instructions-for-hero7-cameras%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3ESoftware%20Update%20Instructions%20for%20HERO7%20Cameras%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EHopefully%20this%20helps!%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EAnn%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-318734%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3ERe%3A%20Bad%20picture%20quality%20with%20H7B%20(Image%20noise)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-318734%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F35373%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%20%40aenrique%3C%2FA%3Ez%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ei%20tried%20to%20use%20your%20suggestions%20to%20fix%20my%20problem%20today%2C%20but%20the%20image%20quality%20did%20not%20change.%20The%20image%20quality%20in%204K%20is%20not%20even%20close%20to%204k%20resolution.%20It%20looks%20like%20I'm%20filming%20in%201080p%20or%20less.%20If%20that's%20really%20the%20best%20quality%20i%20can%20get%20with%20the%20GoPro%2C%20i%20really%20regret%20the%20purchase.%20I%20mean%2C%20i%20shoot%20better%20videos%20with%20much%20older%20and%20cheaper%20action%20cams.%20I'm%20uploading%20a%20picture%20of%20one%20video%20today%2C%20but%20it's%20hard%20to%20see%20my%20problem.%20The%20picture%20is%20really%20darker%20than%20normal%2C%20which%20is%20okay%2C%20because%20I%20did%20not%20use%20much%20ISO%20or%20something%20else%2C%20which%20could%20lighten%20up%20the%20picture.%20But%20the%20resoultion%20did%20not%20really%20look%20like%204K%20with%20all%20these%20image%20noise.%20I%20used%204K%2060FPS%20with%20ISO%20100%20min%20%2F%20max%2C%200%20EV%2C%20low-light%20off%20(because%20videos%20in%20that%20mode%20are%20horrible)%20and%20sharpness%20medium.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EHopefully%2C%20that's%20just%20a%20problem%20with%20my%20camera.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ebest%20regards%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EDavid%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-319136%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Bad%20bild%20quality%20with%20H7B%20(Image%20noise)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-319136%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EThanks%20for%20the%20update%2C%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F94949%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40loyalpeak13004%3C%2FA%3E.%20You%20can%20try%20re-flashing%20the%20firmware%20update%20of%20the%20camera%20can%20help%20correct%20any%20errors%20with%20the%20current%20software%20installation.%26nbsp%3BFollow%20the%20manual%20update%20instructions%20specified%20on%20this%20article%3A%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fgopro.com%2Fhelp%2Farticles%2Fhow_to%2Fsoftware-update-instructions-for-hero7-cameras%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3ESoftware%20Update%20Instructions%20for%20HERO7%20Cameras%3C%2FA%3E%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%0A%0A%3CP%3EIf%20in%20case%20the%20problem%20persists%20after%20reinstalling%20the%20firmware%20of%20your%20camera%2C%20given%20that%20this%20is%20a%20recent%20purchase%20and%20out-of-the-box%20issue%2C%20kindly%20reach%20out%20to%20the%20retailer%20so%20they%20can%20help%20you%20with%20the%20next%20steps.%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-319277%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3ERe%3A%20Bad%20picture%20quality%20with%20H7B%20(Image%20noise)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-319277%22%20slang%3D%22de-DE%22%3E%3CP%3EHey%20%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fcommunity.gopro.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F35373%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%20%40aenriquez%20%3C%2FA%3E%20.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ethanks%20for%20you%20help.%20I%20reflashed%20the%20cam%20right%20before%20i%20took%20the%20videos%20of%20the%20previous%20post.%20So%2C%20unfortunately%20that%20did%20not%20helped.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20bought%20the%20GoPro%20right%20here%20on%20the%20website.%20I%20think%20i%20should%20contact%20the%20support%20next%20week%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ebest%20regards%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Reply
Tourist
Posts: 5

Bad bild quality with H7B (Image noise)

Hey everyone,

 

i bought a new GoPro H7B and as soon as i tried to make same test footage, i realised that the bild quality of any video is really bad. Any video looks like the GoPro is using to much ISO or a bad resolution, so i tried to decrease the ISO limit by the protune function. But as before, the image noise didn't vanished. So i tried to alter any other setting unsuccessfully. I added a short video which has to be pretty good exposed and filmed in 4K, but in the lower area you can see the image noise. I used protune with an ISO limit of 100, so normally there shouldn't be image noise in my opinion.

 

If i use the camera at the late afternoon, the videos are really unuseable

 

Best regards,

David

Unbenannt.jpg
Adventurer
Posts: 9,265

Re: Bad bild quality with H7B (Image noise)

ISO min 100, what was your Max, and Ev did you tone down the high sharpness to medium. and not face  towards the Sun that may be to the right?   Just saying.  Pic looks presentable on line if asked.l  For  a 1/2.3rd sensor.

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: Bad bild quality with H7B (Image noise)

ISO min and max are 100 and EV was 0. Sharpness was high, but i also tried to set it to low or medium. Isn't it possible to almost completly remove these image noise. I mean, this video is really acceptable, but if i make some footage which has some darker areas, there always appears these ugly image noise. So if the area isn't very bright, the quality isn't really good. 

GoPro
Posts: 2,868

Re: Bad bild quality with H7B (Image noise)

Hi @loyalpeak13004,

 

This appears normal for me. 

 

GoPro cameras come with a fixed f/2.8 lens. The HERO7 Black has 12MP with ISO 6400 max limit / ISO 100 min. And setting up the camera to the minimum ISO limit will not completely eliminate the image noise.


I suggest that you can try to toggle EV while sticking with ISO 100 limit. The exposure compensation will affect the brightness of your video within the existing ISO limit. I usually use -0.5, 0, and +1, depending on the area's lighting state. You can also utilize the Auto Low Light mode to allow the camera to adjust the frame rate automatically according to light conditions.

 

In addition, you also may try re-flashing the firmware update of your camera. Updating is highly encouraged since it is a great way to ensure that your camera has the latest features, as well as to help correct any errors with the current software installation. You can follow the manual update instructions specified on this article: Software Update Instructions for HERO7 Cameras

 

Hopefully this helps!

 

Ann

 

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: Bad bild quality with H7B (Image noise)

Hi @aenriquez ,

 

i tried to use your suggestions to fix my problem today, but the image quality didn't changed. The image quality in 4K isn't even close to a good 4k resolution. It looks like i'm filming in 1080p or less. If that is really the best quality i can get with the GoPro, i really regret the purchase. I mean, i shoot better videos with much older and cheaper action cams. I uploaded a picture of one video today, but on this small resolution it's hard to see my problem. The picture is really much darker than normal, which is okay, because i didn't use much ISO or something else, which could lighten up the picture. But the resoultion didn't really looks like 4K with all these image noise. I used 4K 60FPS with ISO 100 min/max, 0 EV, Low-Light off (because videos in that mode are horrible) and sharpness medium.

 

Hopefully, that is just a problem with my camera.

 

Best regards

David

Unbenannt1.JPG
GoPro
Posts: 2,868

Re: Bad bild quality with H7B (Image noise)

Thanks for the update, @loyalpeak13004. You can try re-flashing the firmware update of the camera can help correct any errors with the current software installation. Follow the manual update instructions specified on this article: Software Update Instructions for HERO7 Cameras

 

If in case the problem persists after reinstalling the firmware of your camera, given that this is a recent purchase and out-of-the-box issue, kindly reach out to the retailer so they can help you with the next steps.

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: Bad bild quality with H7B (Image noise)

Hey @aenriquez ,

 

thanks for you help. I reflashed the cam right before i took the videos of the previous post. So, unfortunately that didn't helped.

I bought the GoPro right here on the website. I think, i should contact the support next week?

 

best regards

Tourist
Posts: 5

Re: Bad bild quality with H7B (Image noise)

I've done some more test footage today and slowly I'm getting more and more convinced that something is wrong with the camera. Some of the videos clearly didn't used the Hypersmooth stabilization although it has been activated. The camera didn't stabilize even the smallest vertical movements (i know, that the camera has some trouble to stabilize horizontal movements).

 

I updated the camera by going through the "manually update"-guide, but because i previously already updated the camera to the newest version and a factory reset didn't reset the firmware. I do not know if the update really reinstall the software or simply check if it's already installed.

 

Furthermore, i would like to know if it's possible to download or downgrade the camera to an older version, to check if these problems also appear in older firmwares.

 

Best regards,

David