Ask a Question
GoPro Support Hub Ask a question. Share an answer. Find a solution. Stay stoked.
Announcements
Is your GoPro gear up to date? Check to see If it is on our Update page.
Cameras
Highlighted
Hiker
Accepted Solution

7 GoPro Bugs That Are Killing My Productivity (Hero7 Black, Smart Remote, 3.5mm Audio Adapter)

Summary

GoPro has a number of bugs and compatibility issues that are killing my productivity.  I’m reporting these hoping that GoPro can tackle them and fix them.  My background?  I’m a former software engineer and technology executive for several big silicon valley companies who is simply trying to efficiently create content for a YouTube channel.

Use Case

I use the following GoPro equipment to capture 4K (2.7K, 24fps) kayak fishing videos for my channel.  I capture two simultaneous angles with the highest quality audio I possibly can.  I power my GoPros externally to avoid having to change batteries and mainly due to the fact that the back angle I shoot from is unreachable while I’m on the kayak.  And there aren’t always good places to stop to get off to change a battery.  Besides, who wants to do that every 20-45 minutes (2 cameras simultaneously running but the batteries run out at different times and it creates a nightmare in post production)!

GoPro Equipment

• GoPro Hero 7 Black - for front angle shots
  • GoPro Hero 7 Black - for back angle shots
  • GoPro Smart Remote - to start and stop both cameras simultaneously
  • GoPro 3.5mm audio jack dongle

Other Equipment

• Nocqua 10ah battery - powers the GoPros and a Garmin fish finder
  • Tascam DR-10L - used to capture audio but I’m trying to replace it with something that will integrate audio with the GoPros as it’s captured
  • Rode Wireless Go - used to integrate audio directly into the GoPros during capture in order to reduce post sync work
  • Rode Wireless Go Lav
  • DJI Mavic Mini

Issues/Bugs